Verizon iphone4 has no sim card tray? - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
12-02-2011, 19:21   #1
yawnstretch
Registered User
 
yawnstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 846
Verizon iphone4 has no sim card tray?

Just noticed something strange on a YouTube video about the new American verizon iPhone 4. It doesn't have a sim card tray...

I know that verizon phones don't usually have this but I'm surprised that the iPhone 4 also lost it's slot.

Could something like this come to Europe? Seems crappy to me because youd be physically locked by the hardware to one provider. You wouldn't be able to sell the device to someone on another network?
yawnstretch is offline  
Advertisement
12-02-2011, 19:28   #2
Jimdagym
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Balbriggan
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawnstretch View Post
Just noticed something strange on a YouTube video about the new American verizon iPhone 4. It doesn't have a sim card tray...

I know that verizon phones don't usually have this but I'm surprised that the iPhone 4 also lost it's slot.

Could something like this come to Europe? Seems crappy to me because youd be physically locked by the hardware to one provider. You wouldn't be able to sell the device to someone on another network?
Verizon uses different technology in America, so it's not suitable to a different network anyway, it's a completely different phone. ITs not like here when voda got the iPhone after o2 had the exclusive.
Jimdagym is offline  
12-02-2011, 21:13   #3
rivalius13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 879
Verizon use CDMA technology which doesn't require a SIM card, it's all baked into the phone. Like magic.
rivalius13 is offline  
Thanks from:
13-02-2011, 09:01   #4
Bigcheeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,471
Wonder when we'll have the first "bought iphone in US and won't work in ireland" thread.
Bigcheeze is offline  
(2) thanks from:
13-02-2011, 10:57   #5
Tom Dunne
Still hazy, after all these beers
 
Tom Dunne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In the desert
Posts: 23,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigcheeze View Post
Wonder when we'll have the first "bought iphone in US and won't work in ireland" thread.
It's only a matter of time.

I was reading something the other day (on Engadget, I think) about the iPhone 5 possibly being a hybrid CDMA/GSM phone, specifically with reference to the chipset that allowed this.

Essentially, instead of having two models like they do now, they would have one. So the new one would have a SIM tray.
Tom Dunne is offline  
Advertisement
13-02-2011, 13:37   #6
Creamy Goodness
Booooom, Blast & Ruin
 
Creamy Goodness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in my flippity floppity floop
Posts: 24,201
you won't get one i'd imagine for quite some time. verizon won't sell these without a contract for quite some time. even then they'll make you jump through hoops.
Creamy Goodness is offline  
13-02-2011, 15:08   #7
thomasj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hartstown, Clonsilla D15
Posts: 2,204
Will CDMA technology ever be developed outside of the US?
thomasj is offline  
13-02-2011, 15:21   #8
Johnmb
Registered User
 
Johnmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasj View Post
Will CDMA technology ever be developed outside of the US?
No. It's not as good as GSM for data, so nobody will change now, and it's out of date as far as new investment is concerned (as is GSM) due to the newer 4G technology that most are working on. Even Verizon's 4G technology is built on basic GSM technology as far as I know, not their CDMA. (Although, some other countries such as India do use it currently)
Johnmb is offline  
Thanks from:
13-02-2011, 16:49   #9
Bigcheeze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,471
It's also used in china. You can't roam with it anywhere in Europe which is a pretty big drawback if you're from a small country like ireland and likely to be abroad a couple of times a year.
Bigcheeze is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
13-02-2011, 22:32   #10
rivalius13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasj View Post
Will CDMA technology ever be developed outside of the US?
Yes.

And by that I mean it is in use in other countries. China, India and South Korea to name three. It has advantages over GSM, but for a smart phone I'll take GSM.
rivalius13 is offline  
Thanks from:
14-02-2011, 20:12   #11
bd250110
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427
Interestingly the CDMA iPhone4 does ship with a GSM capable chip. The chip also has GPS built-in too, as opposed to the separate chips on the GSM flavour.

Apple, for whatever reason decided not to provide a SIM tray and allow this function to be used.
There could be a number of reasons, but I suspect
1) The antenna was redesigned "for" the CDMA iPhone and is nothing to do with antennagate by not allowing GSM capabilities it is somewhat easier to deny the iPhone4 has antenna problems.
2) Apple wanted to keep "GSM" and "CDMA" flavours separate. "It's not new it's different
3) They wanted some real world data on how the hybrid chips work.
4) They had a contract with the GSM chip manufacturer which they will work through before converting to Qualcom for all requirements for the 5th gen.

I think four is most likely, there might be an element of one too.
bd250110 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet