Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

08-04-2010, 22:38   #106
cyrusdvirus
Closed Account

1. What is the significance of U-505?
First sub captured by the USN

2. What date did the Japanese task force that attacked Pearl Harbour set sail?
26-11-41

3. Where was the first Japanese attack, outside of China?
Kota Bharu

4. What was the first capital ship lost to enemy action?
HMS Courageous

5. During WW2, where was the headquarters for the Imperial Japanese Army in SE Asia located?
Saigon

6. What was Operation Mercury
German Invasion of Crete

7. How did Erwin Rommel overcome the Gazala Line?
He went around it’s southern flank

8. What nation was the only democratic power in the Axis in WWII?
Finland

9. Who commanded the squadron involved in Operation Vengence?
Major John W Mitchell (Operation to kill Yamamoto)#

10. I declare these proceeding closed. Who said it?
McArthur, aboard the Missouri, in Tokyo Bay at the surrender.

Looks like bealbocht has it
15-04-2010, 20:56   #107
bealbocht

Thanks for the photos of the bombings in Dublin. Pretty cool (in a photographic and historical sense)

Is it me again for the questions, did I see somewhere Hangovers was coming up with interesting questions ??
17-04-2010, 22:29   #108
cyrusdvirus
Closed Account

nope, it's all you Bealbocht
01-05-2010, 20:38   #109
bealbocht

right, grand , ok so. grand yes, em .. right..no.. I've started already, been out to the folks gaff, and got the big book (its quite genaral but its just happens to be quite large) , and have two questions sorted , will get another few soon, I'm aiming for tuesday
23-02-2013, 22:10   #110
Busted Flat.

How many Irish pilots died in the Battle of Britain. According to the film, just on tonight on channel 5 USA the Battle of Britain, no Irish were involved, as depicted in the credits.

Typical propaganda, I expect no better.

Irish contribution

Ireland 10

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...uFejkefkk2E7Ug

Paddy Finucane
Among the about 15 Irishmen who played key roles in the Battle[25] was Dubliner Brendan "Paddy" Finucane,[26] an air ace who went on to claim a total of 32 enemy aircraft before being shot down and killed in 1942. He became operational in July 1940 and shot down his first Bf 109 on 12 August, getting a second Bf 109 the following day. In a 51-day period in 1941, Finucane claimed 16 Messerschmitt Bf 109 fighters shot down, while flying with an Australian squadron. "Paddy" Finucane went on to become the youngest wing commander in the RAF, an appointment he received at the age of 21. He was killed on 15 July 1942.[27][28]
[edit]See also

Someone should correct the credits in that propaganda film, just for historical and fair play reasons. The brits did not do it on their own as claimed.

Last edited by Busted Flat.; 23-02-2013 at 22:13.
26-02-2013, 14:19   #111
Manic Moran

Go watch the movie again. Look after "Southern Rhodesian" and above "American"

You have also missed the point of this thread. You pose questions, other people answer them. This is not a thread for answering your own question with a diatribe caused by your own lack of observation.

[Mod]Please use a little more caution in future posts, and note that posts which give the impression of having been made because they are anti-British are not welcome to begin with.[/Mod]
(2) thanks from:

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion