Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

28-09-2007, 11:16   #16
Gaspode
Crudelis in Moderatio.

I'm lucky I guess. Great wife, great kids, good friends and family I can rely on if needed, healthy, reasonably well off.
I was seriously ill a few years ago but survived it and am now healthier than I ever was.
Life is good.
28-09-2007, 11:18   #17
GerryRyan
Banned

Always putting on jackets / jeans and finding money I forgot about in the pockets, usually notes ... and always at the most convenient times.

Lucky or extremely forgetful? You decide

The only really lucky thing (so far) was winning myself and the gf a holiday from a Cadburys' wrapper. Was about to toss it in the bin before someone pointed out to check it.
28-09-2007, 11:18   #18
ROCKMAN

I just want to be lucky once
just ONCE

tonight Euro lotto 130 million pleassssse just once
28-09-2007, 11:19   #19
moco

Quote:
Originally Posted by miles teg
I'm always finding tenners etc. on the street. Comes in handy at times.
Also, found a diamond ring just yesterday... quite a good one at that.
Unlucky in a sense as I just bought an engagement ring for herself last week ... I would have (and still did) hand it into lost and found though.
I saw a poster up looking for a lost diamond ring last week on South Frederick Street!
28-09-2007, 11:19   #20
Pompey Magnus

Quote:
Originally Posted by L31mr0d
There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life. I remember talking to him and he had worked out that with the money he was going to receive from all his rich relatives when they passed on he would be set for life. A year later his parents gave him their huge house for free because they wanted something smaller. So he now pays the mortgage on their 2 bed bungalow while he lives for free in their 4 bed mansion. Actually he doesn't pay anything, he was left a house in Wexford by his Aunt so he uses the rent off that to pay for his parents mortgage.

He's not very social so I always thought "well he never goes out enough to meet any girls so maybe he'll always be single". Well there was a friend of a friend who had someone over from America in Sept '01, the 9/11 thing happened and her flight was grounded so his parents offered to put her up until she could go home. She ended up living with him for a month, they are now married with 2 kids.

He is also one of the few people who managed to get a job a week after he finished college, and he was far from top of his class. The job he works in allows him to show up anytime up till 10am and is only a 5 minute bike ride down the road from his mansion.
I don't know this guy, but I now hate him.
28-09-2007, 11:38   #21
justsomebloke

Quote:
There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life. I remember talking to him and he had worked out that with the money he was going to receive from all his rich relatives when they passed on he would be set for life. A year later his parents gave him their huge house for free because they wanted something smaller. So he now pays the mortgage on their 2 bed bungalow while he lives for free in their 4 bed mansion. Actually he doesn't pay anything, he was left a house in Wexford by his Aunt so he uses the rent off that to pay for his parents mortgage.

He's not very social so I always thought "well he never goes out enough to meet any girls so maybe he'll always be single". Well there was a friend of a friend who had someone over from America in Sept '01, the 9/11 thing happened and her flight was grounded so his parents offered to put her up until she could go home. She ended up living with him for a month, they are now married with 2 kids.

He is also one of the few people who managed to get a job a week after he finished college, and he was far from top of his class. The job he works in allows him to show up anytime up till 10am and is only a 5 minute bike ride down the road from his mansion.
I know a girl who would be in a similar sort of position and I have to say she quibbles over stupid things, acts spoiled and in life generally isn't as happy as you think she would be and I wouldn't want to be her (well the male equivalent).

It doesn't matter how lucky you are you are going to have your own problems so I just go and enjoy my lot and don't worry about how lucky I think other people are.
28-09-2007, 12:27   #22
Setun

My friend is constantly getting something for nothing. His brother in law gave him a minolta camera, really nice one too, and the following week later someone randomly offered him darkroom equipment for free. I asked him, but sure how are you going to use that? Apparently his uncle used to do photography and he's going to sort out a darkroom for him, set it up et al. Just one example out of a thousand. Lucky bastid.

EDIT funnily enough I was given darkroom equipment the other week after giving out about my friend's good luck. Random.
28-09-2007, 12:31   #23
cjt156

Quote:
There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life...
I hope he's kind to children and small animals, gives buckets of cash to worthy causes & thanks his lucky stars every day.

Cos if he's an obnoxious fecker karma is gonna give him an excruciating case of festering gonads for yin and yang's sake.
28-09-2007, 12:38   #24
Andy Carroll
Unplayable

fúck all you lucky shower of bástards.
28-09-2007, 12:47   #25
yomchi

I'm alive and happy... has to be me!
28-09-2007, 12:56   #26
Setun

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon
I'm alive and happy... has to be me!
Yeah well my mate is alive and happy.
And he's got darkroom equipment and a camera.
28-09-2007, 13:02   #27
Black Swan
Category Moderator

Have a cousin who plays the horses and wins more often than he loses.
28-09-2007, 13:13   #28
stcatherine

Me !

Just had the worst 2 years of my life but still here to tell the tale with a wonderful Husband, beautiful little boy and a new start in life here in Kilkenny.

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion