Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin songwriter nights

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

marlowe wrote: »
    I've just updated the my list of song writer nights in Dublin.

Open mic nights in Dublin

If you know of any others, let me know and I'll add them to the list.

For anyone who's interested, I'm also putting together links to open mic nights in London and Paris:

Open mic nights in London

Open mic nights in Paris

Nice one! I'll sticky this and others can add to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

Thanks for the link Marlowe. Im just wondering has anyone played all these nights , if so could they recommend any ? Or alternatively are any of them a waste of time?

• Registered Users Posts: 43 marlowe

RAIN wrote: »
    Thanks for the link Marlowe. Im just wondering has anyone played all these nights , if so could they recommend any ? Or alternatively are any of them a waste of time?

Thanks Rain! Check out Open Mic Tuesday in Cassidy's. It's sign up and play. They just had a re-launch there last week and it's got a PA system.

Also on Tuesday Dave Murphy in the Bankers. Completely acoustic. You could here a pin drop. Again sign up and play on the night.

They're all good in their own way. I'd reccomend going to a few different ones so you get a feel of what's out there. Turn up early to get a slot and you can always split if you're not enjoying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 maveyb

what a great idea..... does anyone know any bar/mic nite with a piano? I know one in Cork, not open mic, but a really nice wine bar called Meades 126, has a nice upright. People laugh at me when I say 'do they have a piano'...well ,,,,you never know. Still have a few weeks before goin back to college fulltime, wouldn't mind travellin around to do a few open-mics, even if it's just me and my keyboard...

meadhbh b

http://www.myspace.com/meadhbhboyd

I've updated the original open mic night list.

It's now split in two. The original list is for open mic nights where you can turn up and play. That's still here:

http://www.aidanmurphy.info/links/open_mic_nights_in_dublin/

The other list is for singer songwriter nights where you have to contact in advance to book a place (i've made the distinction by calling them "songwriter showcase nights"). They are listed here:

http://aidanmurphy.info/links/songwriter_showcase_nights_dublin/

Not sure if this is the best way to categorise them. If anyone has any ideas, let me know.

If anyone knows of any more nights, or if details have changed, again let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 katelawrence

As far as I know Coffee Sessions is an organise in advance thing - they are meant to now have two: one in the Starbucks at the top of Harcourt St and also in Ranelagh.

Peanut Club is organise in advance too.

For the showcase section, Dublin Underground and Club F.E.A.R. have a lot of gigs and are amenable to giving a slot.

There's one out in Walktinstown too - can't remember the name of it.

In my myspace wandering I have also found the following:
    Hefty Horse
    Live in Her Living Room
    Jack of Diamond Sessions

Kate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 amoeba_girl

Hey just saw this thread and thought maybe it'd be worth mentioning, Night Stew, Open Mic night in the Bernard Shaw every Tuesday night from 9, it's usually a nice crowd and you're welcome to perform any kind of music just bring your own equipment, if you've a band, they sometimes give them half hour sets at the end of a night, it's definitely worth checking out for anyone that's into music, or songwriting, or just open mic nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Wise-one

Hey!!Just wondering if anyone knows what the standard is like at these open mic gigs for example the one in starbucks....

I would love to play one or two songs but my guitar playing wouldnt be the best dont want to make a fool of myself!!!Thanks a mill!

♪♫♪♫♪♫ Music = Life ♪♫♪♫♪♫

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭iMADEtheBBC

Wise-one wrote: »
    Hey!!Just wondering if anyone knows what the standard is like at these open mic gigs for example the one in starbucks....

I would love to play one or two songs but my guitar playing wouldnt be the best dont want to make a fool of myself!!!Thanks a mill!

I can't speak to the Starbucks gig because I've not had a chance to play it but I can give you some pointers on the others.

The session in the International Bar on monday nights is unamplified, small and has a broad range of abilities and experience. I've seen people get up here and play when they had only barely started to learn guitar and knew 2 cover versions. They were encouraged and welcomed. A good way to start. Go down some night and ask Jacqueline for a slot in the next couple of weeks, often though she can squeeze you into the line up for that night because she gets cancellations. Bring a couple of friends.

The session in Cassidy's on Tuesday nights has a small PA but it's not overwhelming. The size of the crowd varies. The two lads who run it are Fiach and Ro. They are really sound and encouraging. I've seen some really experienced people there and I've seen people doing their first gigs there. Everyone gets a fair crack of the whip and gets encouragement. It's a great way to get used to singing through a PA system. You can just turn up and put your name down. Bring a couple of friends to help fill the room a bit.

The sessions run by Dave Murphy in the Bankers on a Tuesday are very small. I reckon that room can barely hold a dozen people :D
    No PA and very intimate. Dave is very welcoming and the regular crew aren't a clique - they will encourage and talk to you. I wouldn't go there for my first gig though because there tends to be some really good players and it might put you off if you go on a night where you're the first noob.

I've been to the Zodiac Sessions but to be completely honest I was very put off because I couldn't get to talk with any of the regulars and the guy running it didn't seem to be interested in newcomers. Now that could just have been an off-night. We all have them. Though I got the impression from a few others that it's hard to get 'into' that particular circle.

The Pure Sessions (listed as being in Slatterys) are run by a very nice bloke. The night I played there I was probably the oldest in the room :D and the bar management were giving him a hard time. Nice PA but a very chatty room so you'll need to be reasonably confident in what you're doing.

One of the first gigs I did was the King Kong Club in Pravda. The guy running it (Kieron) is sound and encouraging. A chance to use a bigger PA but not one for a first gig because it's a large enough venue and there are often 2 or more bands playing. It's technically a competition but in my experience they didn't mind a solo artist going on early in the night.

I guess what most people are afraid of is that some idiot will shout something or say something. I've never experienced that happening. Ever. I have seen the odd drunk stumble into the gig and talk loudly but they get quickly escorted out again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Wise-one

Thank you so much! Thats really helpful good to know....

Im gonna bite the bullet and give one of them a try after the new year!!

The gig in Cassidy's is no more.

Fortunately it has resurfaced in The Bleeding Horse on Camden Street on Sunday nights. http://www.myspace.com/thebleedinghorsesessions
    A small PA and a good appreciative audience - the guys from the pub are also encouraging this. I've played there the past couple of weeks and it was great craic.

Thanks for that iMADEtheBBC. I've been relying on your information a lot lately!

I've updated the list

Open Mic Song Writer Nights in Dublin

The Peanut Club is returning this Friday 17th in the Hard Rock Cafe

• Registered Users Posts: 14 StephenB

I thought I'd add one here. There's a fairly new night in Peadar Kearney's on Dame Street run by a girl named Tamela. I personally feel it's perfect for someone starting out as there is a huge variety of artists that play. the myspace is http://www.myspace.com/musicmediumlive and they are always eager to get new artists playing. Defintiely worth a look into

StephenB wrote: »
    I thought I'd add one here. There's a fairly new night in Peadar Kearney's on Dame Street run by a girl named Tamela. I personally feel it's perfect for someone starting out as there is a huge variety of artists that play. the myspace is http://www.myspace.com/musicmediumlive and they are always eager to get new artists playing. Defintiely worth a look into

Yes - it's a good night. Tamala runs a good night there and they have the venue for other nights of the week so as you progress you can get a slot on a wednesday or thursday night.

On Tuesday nights there is a new open mic at O'Donoghues on Suffolk Street (used to be called the Thing Moate ?). There's a separate thread somewhere about it. I played there last week and it was well run with a nice PA. The crowd are there to drink & talk so if you're new to this it can be a bit off putting so be prepared - that said, a lot of places are like that so it's something you need to get used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 agb

alri im a fairly new singer song writer done abit of gigin in captain americas when dey used to do acoustic night now im free for d summer lukin to do alot more gigin any one want to help me sort it out ??

der is a few of me tunes on dis link der really ruff recordins i wud really like to hear sum feed bac http://www.bebo.com/antounpluged

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Slagroom

I play classical guitar and I was wondering if it would go down well at an open mic night?

Slagroom wrote: »
    I play classical guitar and I was wondering if it would go down well at an open mic night?

It really depends on the venue.

Some open mics are 'loud' - folk out drinking & talking. You won't be heard.
    Other open mics are 'listening rooms' - people are asked to keep it quiet.

The Bankers on Tuesday nights is a listening room. Check it out.

There is a new open mic night on Thursdays in The Mullingar House in Chapelizod, Dublin. If you're on Facebook look for the 'Thirsty Thursday' group. It's quite a loud audience - they listen alright but they like a few pints and a chat so be ready for that :-) It's run by a chap called Mark who brings in a nice PA system. Kicks off around 9:30-10:00pm and runs till late.

I've moved my listings of open mic nights to a new website (the one's on aidanmurphy.info aren't being updated any more):

Open Mic Nights in Dublin

Songwriter Showcase Nights in Dublin

Open Mic nights around the world:

Open Mic Nights in London

Open Mic Nights in Paris

Open Mic Nights in Toronto

Open Mic Nights in Sydney

• Registered Users Posts: 20 sarah_anne

great to have that cheers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 'G'

Hi
    Know this is bout venues in Dublin but just thought i'd put my 2 cents in...
    I run an open mic in Wicklow little village called Rathdrum.. The venue is called The Coffin Shed.... its small great acoustics and good PA.. Its a new venture so hopefully it'll do well..
    If anyone interested in playing just pm me and i'll get back to you...
    Cheers

G wrote:
    Hi
    Know this is bout venues in Dublin but just thought i'd put my 2 cents in...
    I run an open mic in Wicklow little village called Rathdrum.. The venue is called The Coffin Shed.... its small great acoustics and good PA.. Its a new venture so hopefully it'll do well..
    If anyone interested in playing just pm me and i'll get back to you...
    Cheers

Thanks for the info.

Is this a turn-up-and-play night or do you line-up a few performers in advance ? How much time does each performer usually get ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 'G'

Thanks for the info.

Is this a turn-up-and-play night or do you line-up a few performers in advance ? How much time does each performer usually get ?

I try and line up a few acts for the night and sometimes peops just turn up also!!! Usually bout 30 mins but if you have less thats fine too.. If you want to play just pm me and i'll give you a buzz... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Mulan

Hi guys

I'm interested in starting a Singer/Songwriter Showcase night in Cork. Can you give me a few tips and ideas for this.
    Thanks a mil.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Mick Hilliard

Big thanks to Marlowe/Aidan for a great job maintaining that list. I was looking for a list like this (everything in one place) for a long time. The only night i've done is Naked Lunch. It's a really good night - there were about 30 people there the night i was on giving these an airing. They do a mixture of poetry and music and usually close with a band.

I'm wondering where to do next...O' Donoghues i think to avoid a huge crowd (keep the nerves at bay:P )

Cheers,
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 snedzer88

Hi just thought I'd post a link to this new singer songwriter night in Howth, all you have to do is e-mail unpluggedatthepier@live.com to book a slot.

Check them out on myspace www.myspace.com/unpluggedthepier

• Registered Users Posts: 20 cocorocks

Hi All :D

I'm new to this site so not sure where to post my music question

I would love if someone could give me chords for the following songs...I've already tried chordie.com and ultimate-guitar.com but not successful...THANKS :rolleyes:

I'm loving learning the guitar especially when doing it via choosing songs and learning it on a per song basis :D

1. The Voyage - Christie Moore
    2. The First Time Ever I saw Your Face - Christie Moore
    3. Smile - Michael Jackon
    4. Heal The World - Michael Jackson
    5. She's out of my life - Michael Jackson

Mega mega big thanks
    :cool::P:):o:p;):D:cool::P

• Registered Users Posts: 18 headstar23

does anyone know a good open mic night specific to rap and hip hop and rnb?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

cocorocks wrote: »
    Hi All :D

I'm new to this site so not sure where to post my music question

I would love if someone could give me chords for the following songs...I've already tried chordie.com and ultimate-guitar.com but not successful...THANKS :rolleyes:

I'm loving learning the guitar especially when doing it via choosing songs and learning it on a per song basis :D

1. The Voyage - Christie Moore
    2. The First Time Ever I saw Your Face - Christie Moore
    3. Smile - Michael Jackon
    4. Heal The World - Michael Jackson
    5. She's out of my life - Michael Jackson

Mega mega big thanks
    :cool::P:):o:p;):D:cool::P

Wrong forum, but I pm'ed you the chords for the first one anyway.
    It's in 3/4, so each chord lasts for 3 beats.
    I only wrote for the first half of it, I assume the rest is the same ...

Have fun...

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭Caught

I dont know how yous could go into these little places and play, knowing everyone could hate you. :O

I'd easily go out if I knew they were people would thought I was good, but playing in front of complete strangers? :O

Like, its not like I've never done anything in front of a crowd. Sure nuff, I've danced in the Helix and wasn't nervous beforehand at all. But knowing that this crowd could be like "oh, I don't like her" and booing me and stuff and like might think I'm awful is terrible to think of!

You never know who might be there either. D:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭raindog.promo

Caught wrote: »
    I dont know how yous could go into these little places and play, knowing everyone could hate you. :O

I'd easily go out if I knew they were people would thought I was good, but playing in front of complete strangers? :O

Like, its not like I've never done anything in front of a crowd. Sure nuff, I've danced in the Helix and wasn't nervous beforehand at all. But knowing that this crowd could be like "oh, I don't like her" and booing me and stuff and like might think I'm awful is terrible to think of!

You never know who might be there either. D:

I don't think people would boo you off as much as just start talking over you.
    I've never seen anyone booed off except a stand up who's material consisted purely of telling everyone to f*ck off.