Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Kildare GAA General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

We seem to have forgotten how to defend over the last three years. Pundits will still trot out the lazy cliches about Kildare lacking forwards but that is simply not the problem at the moment. Our forwards are capable of putting up a score against most defences. It's the consistently large totals we're leaking at the other end that is the big challenge facing Jason Ryan. We are missing a few of our first choice defenders but the ease at which we are turned and the complete panic that seems to set in when we are ran at is very concerning. Lots of work ahead before the summer.

Here's how I'd like to see us lining up against Louth/Westmeath:

1 Connolly
    2 McGrillen (toss up between himself and O'Grady, experience to win out)
    3 P Kelly
    4 Lyons
    5 Hyland
    6 E Doyle (F Conway if Doyle isn't fit)
    7 Bolton
    8 Dan Flynn
    9 Hurley
    10 N Kelly
    11 E O'Flaherty
    12 P Cribbin
    13 Brophy
    14 O'Connor (would like to see Fogarty given a run of games but he appears injury prone at the moment)
    15 Mulhall

Very disappointing result for the hurlers yesterday too. I arrived after Willie Greene was sent off so I can't possibly comment on that. No one seemed to know at half time what the straight red was for. The lads were always going to be up against it after that. The concession of a few soft goals did for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

The sooner we get the injured defenders back the better, all too easy for the opposing midfielders and forwards to waltz through our defense.Am not even sure if even that will solve our problems Reading on the paper where we have conceded the most scores in all four divisions. A total of 8-87 conceded. two scores more than the next worst.

Draw for the hurlers today in a crazy match. Gave Derry a 8 point head start before we got a point on the board. Dominated for the next 50 minutes or so before David Harney was sent off for a second yellow and Derry came back into it to snatch a draw. Team cannot seem to catch a break at the moment.

Kildare team v Derry:

1. Shane Connolly

2. Mick O’Grady

3. Michael Foley

4. David Hyland

5. Hugh McGrillen

6. Gary White

7. Keith Cribbin

8. Tommy Moolick

9. Hugh Lynch

10. Cathal McNally

11. Mikey Conway

12. Eoghan O’Flaherty

13. Paddy Brophy

14. Tomás O’Connor

15. Darroch Mulhall

Rumours of disciplinary issues concerning a few of the Johnstownbridge players which may explain their absence. Chalky worth a try at centre back. I'm not convinced Mikey Conway or Hugh Lynch still have the legs for county football but he has to try something different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I think you're being a little harsh on Mikey Conway. He has done pretty well this year when called upon, particularly against Dublin.

Seems like some lads went on tear. Not good vibes coming from the Kildare camp.

It's going to be a short Summer this year methinks.

Self implosion. We do that pretty well here in Kildare.

BNMC wrote: »
    I think you're being a little harsh on Mikey Conway. He has done pretty well this year when called upon, particularly against Dublin.

Seems like some lads went on tear. Not good vibes coming from the Kildare camp.

It's going to be a short Summer this year methinks.

Self implosion. We do that pretty well here in Kildare.

I like Mikey as a footballer. He has one of the best footballing brains on the Kildare panel. I just feel he struggles physically now after all his injuries which unfortunately seem to have taken their toll on him. I'd be more than happy to be proved wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Back to the bad old days.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭grouchyman

Whitewash! Kildare seem to be all at sea. It's looking like it could be a short year. 10points down.

We were very poor. There needs to be some serious surgery before the Leinster Championship.

- Mick Foley has not played well in a long time now. A terrific servant over the last ten years but I would fear for him in Croke Park on a hot summer's day. Fitzpatrick or Campbell are surely worth a try at least.
    - Keith Cribbin is not a half back. He does a lot of positive things going forward but struggles greatly when he is put on the back foot.
    - Midfield battled manfully but lack pace and mobility.
    - Full forward line was left far too isolated again. O'Connor was surrounded by a sea of Derry jerseys anytime the ball went near him. Brophy was dropped too deep and I don't see why Mulhall was hauled off first. There were a few more established names who should have gone ahead of him.
    - Chalky is not the solution at centre back.
    - The kickout strategy is suicidal at times. Connolly does not possess a Cluxton like kickout so there is no point in asking him to do something that he simply cannot do. It's putting him and the defence under pressure time and time again.

I always try to find the positives in a performance but it's tough to find any crumbs of comfort today. O'Grady, Cribbin and Moolick stuck at it for the duration and it was good to see JD, Leper and the two Kellys off the bench. I expect nearly all of those players returning will be straight into contention for the championship team along with Eoin Doyle, Lyons and the two Flynns because there are some players there at the moment who look like they are playing themselves out of a spot on the team.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Brownie1

Murnaghan not given a chance. He's a half back but has been put in all positions except the one he's best in. Left on bench tomorrow against Westmeath. He is full of running at end of game, doesn't give away stupid balls. He deserves his place.

We will probably get away with Foley at 3, Chalky at 6 and a midfield of Lynch and Moolick against Westmeath in Newbridge but it's almost inevitable that the defence will get burned for speed down the middle in the summer if that's how we set up.

Kildare 1-22 Westmeath 0-9

Mulhall (0-7, 4fs), N Kelly (0-5), McNally (1-2), Hurley (0-3), O’Neill (0-2), Conway (0-1), Dowling (0-1), Callaghan (0-1).

Better from Kildare but the performance has to be put into context. Westmeath were abysmal. The two Athy forwards looked very lively and will pose problems for defences on a fast sod in the summer. It's the big concern I would have over our own defence and midfield where we have a severe lack of pace in the central positions. Peter Kelly did do quite well before his black card and hopefully Ollie Lyons will be ready for June.

On today's evidence it will be Louth we will be facing rather than Westmeath. They are a team who have never made life easy for Kildare down the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

What an abysmal turnout although it was to be expected considering the two teams were relegated already

SHC draw:

Celbridge get a bye into winners group.

1st round:
    Confey v Ardclough
    Maynooth v Naas
    Clane v Leixlip
    Coill Dubh v Eire Óg Corra Choill

JFC Draw:

Group 1: Castlemitchell, Ballykelly, Cappagh, Grangenolvan and Rathcoffey.

Group 2: Straffan, Milltown, Rheban and Kilcullen.

IFC draw:

Nurney v Robertstown
    Sallins v Eadestown
    Ellistown v Suncroft
    Castledermot v Raheens
    Kill v Round Towers
    Kilcock v Ballyteague
    Two Mile House v Clogherinkoe
    Caragh v Rathangan

SFC draw:

Clane v Moorefield
    Johnstownbridge v Confey
    St Laurences v Ballymore
    Leixlip v Sarsfields
    St Kevins v Carbury
    Naas v Celbridge
    Maynooth v Athy
    Monasterevin v Allenwood

Johnny Doyle has hung up the boots. Every Kildare supporter owes him a debt of gratitude for his 15 years of distinguished service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

My all time sporting hero. What a player and a gentleman.

Thank you Johnny.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

He has played in every single championship match Kildare have played in since he made his debut - 65 consecutive matches. He has probably scored in 90% of them too. Will be sad to see him go, hopefully they have a testimonial game for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Johnny Doyle has hung up the boots. Every Kildare supporter owes him a debt of gratitude for his 15 years of distinguished service.

Any idea why he's not hanging round for this year? Seems a strange time to announce it after the new season has started and the league is over.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Any idea why he's not hanging round for this year? Seems a strange time to announce it after the new season has started.

He was reluctant to come back at all this year. His wife gave birth to twins around Christmas time and they have another young daughter together too.

I had heard he hasn't been able to make all the training recently and typical of Johnny, he wouldn't be a man for half measures. He probably just held out until today to say goodbye to the faithful in Newbridge.

His retirement following on from Dermot Earley's last year leaves a serious void in the Kildare ranks. Young teams need leaders and we don't have them at the moment.

Minor hurlers take on Westmeath in the first round of the Leinster Championship tomorrow at 3pm. High expectations about this team so hopefully they can provide Kildare hurling with a timely boost after a rough few months for the seniors.

Leinster MHC:

Kildare 3-11 Westmeath 1-13

Great result for the lads. I wasn't at it but by the sounds of things they were well worth the win.

Kildare team (v Westmeath, Leinster MFC 19/4/14):

1. Tadhg Foley -Athy
    2. Sean Healy - Moorefield
    3. Mark Hyland - Athy
    4. Cian McConnell - Sarsfields
    5. Jamie Flynn - Round Towers
    6. Paul Mescal - Maynooth
    7. Conor Earley - Raheens
    8. Rory Feely - Athy
    9. Matthew Bursey - Raheens
    10. Evan Flynn - Round Towers
    11. Conor Hartley - Sarsfields
    12. Stefan Lawlor - Rathangan
    13. Ben McCormack - Sarsfields
    14. Aaron McConville - Round Towers
    15. Ethan O Donoghue - Clane

Won by 4 points. Not sure if this team is as good as last year's but with a bit of luck they could have a good run.

Minor hurlers beaten by 4 points by Carlow. They were ahead by 3 at half time but Carlow the better team in the second half. Talented bunch of players will be disappointed but they should be able to give the B Championship a good go this year.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Minor hurlers beaten by 4 points by Carlow. They were ahead by 3 at half time but Carlow the better team in the second half. Talented bunch of players will be disappointed but they should be able to give the B Championship a good go this year.[/quote

Fair play to you Klairondavis thanks for all the updates.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Was at the two games at Hawkfield tonight in the IFC. Robertstown and Nurney played out an decent enough draw. Nurney played the tidier football but Robertstown were a bit more direct and got a couple of soft enough goals. Replay Wednesday night,

The weather deteriorated rapidly for the second game and aided a little bit of an upset in the second game with Suncroft hammering Ellistown 3-8 to 5 points. It came at a big cost as Fionn Dowling looked like he did his cruciate late on however while John Brown also went off injured too. Their corner back also got a straight red card in the closing stages. Ellistown were atrocious and didn't score in the second half. Despite their impressive league form it looks like old age has caught up on them as a youthful Suncroft side were quicker all over the field.

Kevin Feely was apparently named on the bench for Athy this evening, he is out of contract with Charlton Athletic at the end of next month and has yet to play a game for them. Although it is rather selfish as a Kildare fan to hope he returns full time here.