Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do so many Dubs pronounce it "Holloween"??

• 30-10-2011 12:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭

This is something which has been getting on my goat over the past few years. It seems to me that more and more people (especially Dubs) seem to call it "Holloween" instead of Halloween. I've been listening to the radio a lot over the past few days and I've heard 5 separate people say "Holloween", 4 of them being Dubs. I wonder if this is the Jedwardisation of the Irish accent, where not only do Dubs (in particular) pronounce their words in a ridiculous American-style twang but now they can't even say HALLOWEEN properly! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Yeah, I've had so many sleepless nights over the little things. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭indioblack

My aunt in Cork calls it Holloween, too.
    Never thought to ask why.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

hmmm maybe halloween is the culchie sound, you know like the way western paks talk? Maybe just easier for them dubs to sound holloween than halloween?

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

it sounds the same to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I have been saying Holloween way before Jedward were around.

Also does yore ma get on your goat too?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Nevermind that, what I wanna know is, how come Americans seem to be unable to pronounce Las Vegas correctly? They say "Los Vegas". Whereas the English are able to say "Las Vegas."

I think that's a bit odd, as Las Vegas is in America, you'd think they'd be able to pronounce the name of a city better than people from many miles away in the UK.

Nevermind that, what I wanna know is, how come Americans seem to be unable to pronounce Las Vegas correctly? They say "Los Vegas". Whereas the English are able to say "Las Vegas."

I think that's a bit odd, as Las Vegas is in America, you'd think they'd be able to pronounce the name of a city better than people from many miles away in the UK.

hmmm they say new orlins. We say new orleans. They're right I guess?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I have been calling it Holloween for years it seems to be a new thing for Dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Getting on your goat?? :confused: Like for a ride around the farm?

To answer your question: as we Dubs are sophisticated folk, we are offended by the ongoing gradual commercialisation of traditional festivals, such as Hallowe'en. By way of wittily voicing our scorn at this erosion of cultural value, we have begun to refer to the crass modern practice, devoid (or 'hollow', if you will) of traditional meaning as "hollowe'en".

Chin_grin: you should never underestimate the emotional distress someone from Cark can be subjected to due to the actions or words of someone from Dublin. It may seem trivial to you or me, but this could be a source of the most serious mental anguish indeed for our esteemed OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

How do you pronounce hallway down in Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭chickenbutt

Samich wrote: »

It's "Nawlins".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Because Dubs are really English people.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Cos dubs are muppets.

Fact.

Limerick is king. Suck it bitches.

Yup, i said, come up from around me ye gowlbags.

Are you sure it's not the D4 accent you're thinking of? Since they say Dort rather than Dart it probably is. That doesn't represent the Dublin population as a whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Samich wrote: »

I'm sorry but I don't understand? Who is right, the Americans?

They're not right if they pronounce Las Vegas as Los Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭indioblack

Bajingo wrote: »
    How do you pronounce hallway down in Cork?
    That's the bit after the front door before you bump into the stairs!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Simple, Its because dubliners dont have a soul:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

John Doe1 wrote: »

I can vouch for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Its to get back at the culchies for pronouncing every other word wrong.

I'm sorry but I don't understand? Who is right, the Americans?

They're not right if they pronounce Las Vegas as Los Vegas.

They're right as they're the ones who know it better and live in these places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭RichieC

Ve hickle...fk off youse haven't a leg to stand on.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

RichieC wrote: »
    Ve hickle...fk off youse haven't a leg to stand on.

Ve hickle is pronounced by big thick Guards from the midlands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

FruitLover wrote: »
    as we Dubs are sophisticated folk

*Chuckle*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

because it is holloween

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

John Doe1 wrote: »

You've obviously never seen The Commitments.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,507 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

This is something which has been getting on my goat over the past few years. It seems to me that more and more people (especially Dubs) seem to call it "Holloween" instead of Halloween. I've been listening to the radio a lot over the past few days and I've heard 5 separate people say "Holloween", 4 of them being Dubs. I wonder if this is the Jedwardisation of the Irish accent, where not only do Dubs (in particular) pronounce their words in a ridiculous American-style twang but now they can't even say HALLOWEEN properly! :mad:

Ye staarrtin'???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

I don't think it's a jedward or american thing.

holloween is quicker to say, us dub's don't have all day to be standing around talking & worrying about our how we sound...

In dublin a trip to the shop is an ordeal, not the highlight of your day :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

OP, I think you should join this thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056410535

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭RichieC

Ve hickle is pronounced by big thick Guards from the midlands.

Oh right, well since you were generalising all dubs I thought I'd generalise all boggers.