Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Duties & Powers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 TheBigLt

TylerIE wrote: »
    Munsters on the ball :)

Assaulting a Peace Officer is an offence under S19(1) of the Criminal Justice (Public Order Act), 1994. It is made an arrestable offence under S19(2), and its subsequent amendments. Mere obstruction is not an arrestable offence.

While it seems to be rarely utilised its worth noting that S185 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006 also expands upon the definition of Peace Officer to include Ambulance Personnel and members of the Fire Brigade, and also makes it an offence to assault a person providing medical services at a hospital or someone assisting such a person. Medical services includes a number of professions.

Edit: I see the above was since asked and answered by the asker, but I think its useful to know...

I'm pretty sure obstructing a peace officer from carrying out his/her duties or those assisting him/her is an arrestable offence. Well thats what i gather from this >
    Assault or obstruction of a peace officer

Section 19 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 defines a “Peace Officer” means a member of the Garda Siochana, a Prison Officer or a member of the Defence Forces. Section 185 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006 (pdf) has extended this definition to ambulance personnel and fire brigade personnel. The offence replaces the old offence of assaulting or obstructing a peace officer which was contained in section 38 of the Offences against the Person Act, 1861. The important elements of this offence are as follows:
    • That the assault was on a peace officer acting in the execution of their duty, or
    • That the assault was on any other person who was aiding or assisting the peace officer, or
    • That the assault on any other person was to prevent the lawful arrest or detention of himself or of any other person for any offence.
    Similarly, a person will be guilty of the offence if they wilfully obstruct a peace officer acting in the course of their duty or obstructs any person who is assisting or helping the peace office in the course of their duty. The most interesting aspect to the punishment for assault is that the accused person is given a choice as to whether or not to have their case dealt with in the District Court or to have the case dealt with in the Circuit Criminal Court before a jury.

Incorrect- relating to trainee Garda

Ok not months but a hell of a lot more time than Reserves do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

TheBigLt wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure obstructing a peace officer from carrying out his/her duties or those assisting him/her is an arrestable offence. Well thats what i gather from this >

19.3 of the 1994 act related to Obstruction as opposed to assault. The 2006 act just increased the fine, the sentence from 1994 for 19.3 (obstruction) was the fine or imprisonment for 6 months or both.

If the imprisonment is only for 6 months its not an arrestable offence under Section 4(3) of the Criminal Law Act 1997...

Therefore assault of a peace officer (or a person assisting a peace officer) is arrestable. Mere obstruction is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭munster4868

Ok not months but a hell of a lot more time than Reserves do.

No trainee gardas have NO powers !

Ok relax with the whole powers thing,the point i'm making is they don't go on IP but they get a lot of experience on foot patrol so they have the experience for when they graduate. Thats the point i'm trying to make. After thirty something weeks gardai have certain powers so i was told,may be incorrect but thats what i was told.

I am relaxed... Just correcting your incorrect posts... That's all..
    Oh, your wrong on this post also!

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Dan1994

chill lads we're all friends here :):):)

TylerIE wrote: »
    We agree on the latter, and I have little doubt we have similar views on the wisdom of the GRA.

No what I am saying is that is their argument .... I don't agree with it as as I see it IP for reserves would free up a full time member to do other work (investigations specialist units etc)... Also, I believe most admin work (files etc) should be done by cilvil servants those freeing up the force for more policing... But I feel sometimes that people can't or won't think outside the box..

So trainee gardai don't go on foot patrol when assigned to a station? Anyway gone off the point,i can't see Ip for the reserves because as it stands they haven't enough powers to control a situation so they wouldn't be equiped to handle a situation if two reserves were together on patrol. So unless they are given greater power they will remain patrolling with a full time member.

Trainee gardas do go on patrol among other things they undergo as part of their training... What I was saying is that trainee (student) gardas have no powers - zero (you brought up this subject not I). As far as IP goes for reserves I do believe that nobody suggested that reserves wanted to go on IP before their limited powers were adressed first (a bit silly to go on IP when you really can't do much in the line of powers), so yes until their powers are addressed first IP will be a distant dream! I speek as a reserve for 4.5 years. What experience in the reserves do you have?

Personally as of yet none,but with a number of close relations being full time members i get enough info here and there. Would it be possible for IP for reserves as it stands,I know they wouldn't have enough powers but presence and more boots on the ground in a wider area could be a benefit,quicker response in some situations maybe

Nope.. not in current set up

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The reason reserves have no powers beyond road traffic ones.( I.e. demanding to see driver licences. Insurance demands. Tax etc.. we can drive siesed cars.. done it. We can restrain prisoners.). is that the govt hasn't given us more power's.
    Not the reserve's fault or AGS s fault
    And whether some (and i mean its only some) full-timers don't like it, we're sworn in members of AGS..they've trained us in the use of the ASP,pepper spray,handcuffs, we're expected to use them in the appropriate situation. So ya we're authorised to use them.. we're expected to maintain the same standards as fulltimers.
    IP would be a big help to the Guards..more manpower.. but on a Friday or Saturday night, you always have two person beats,regardless of full-time or part-time...
    Public order power would be an Asset, as from what i have seen in Court, the two times i have been there, i could be wrong, the prosecuting guard doesn't have to be there that arrested the Guy for Public Order offences, when the guy is appearing in Court..
    So we can still be in work, while the case is heard... i stand to correction...

Thanks westcoastboy for this informative reply.

I'm asking everyone now though to please take a breather & small step back from this topic.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭A.G.S

With Garda numbers low and reserve gardai being utilised more. Could reserve garda's be given independent patrol status when on the beat like the specials? would love to see powers expand within reason of course. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭ZoneAlarm

No wont happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 1rishguy

donvito99 wrote: »
    Ive heard that Garda Reservists can only arrest under the Criminal Law Act 1997. Is that alot of arrestable offences?

And do Reservists carry batons/ASPs?

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Garda%20Reserve.pdf/Files/Garda%20Reserve.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

1rishguy wrote: »

Good booklet, that middle picture on page 3 is :D..

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

1rishguy wrote: »

That post you quoted was from 2008 when the Garda Reserves was a fairly new concept.

Although, it still is a fairly new concept to some people, even in 2012 so cheers for posting that link :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Well girls and boys , the new powers are on the way. No doubt that it will make us all more productive and able to assist our full time colleagues. Its good to hear that we are appreciated and that all our our hard work has not been in vain.

(Minister, Department of Justice, Equality and Defence; Dublin South, Fine Gael) Link to this
    I have been informed by the Garda authorities that as of 31 May 2012, the latest date for which figures are readily available, the strength of the Garda Reserve was 918, with a further 225 in training. The moratorium on public service recruitment does not apply to members of the Garda Reserve as they are volunteers and recruitment to the reserve is ongoing.
    The target strength of the Garda Reserve is 10% of the full-time force and I would like to assure the House that the Government is fully committed to its continued development. Members of the Garda Reserve make a hugely valuable contribution to policing. They are drawn from a variety of backgrounds and professions and currently include representatives of 27 different countries.
    The Garda Reserve has a wide range of duties which include foot patrols, road traffic checkpoint duties, community-neighbourhood policing and station duty, other than the care and custody of prisoners. They assist in the policing of public events and also at the scenes of accidents, fires and major emergencies.
    The Garda Commissioner has carried out a review of the role and functions of the Garda Reserve and arising from that, is introducing new measures to enhance the operation of the reserve. These include the extension of the functions of the Garda Reserve to the exercise of powers under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Acts and section 41 of the Road Traffic Acts in relation to the seizure of vehicles.
    Training on these and other matters, such as dealing with domestic violence, child protection and conflict resolution, is being organised for serving and recruit members of the Garda Reserve and will commence later this year. Garda Reserve members will also be issued with TETRA radios when going on duty.
    I would like to place on record my appreciation of the members of the reserve who give of their time on a voluntary basis and for their ongoing commitment to the Garda Síochána.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

Raider190 wrote: »
    Well girls and boys , the new powers are on the way. No doubt that it will make us all more productive and able to assist our full time colleagues. Its good to hear that we are appreciated and that all our our hard work has not been in vain.

(Minister, Department of Justice, Equality and Defence; Dublin South, Fine Gael) Link to this
    I have been informed by the Garda authorities that as of 31 May 2012, the latest date for which figures are readily available, the strength of the Garda Reserve was 918, with a further 225 in training. The moratorium on public service recruitment does not apply to members of the Garda Reserve as they are volunteers and recruitment to the reserve is ongoing.
    The target strength of the Garda Reserve is 10% of the full-time force and I would like to assure the House that the Government is fully committed to its continued development. Members of the Garda Reserve make a hugely valuable contribution to policing. They are drawn from a variety of backgrounds and professions and currently include representatives of 27 different countries.
    The Garda Reserve has a wide range of duties which include foot patrols, road traffic checkpoint duties, community-neighbourhood policing and station duty, other than the care and custody of prisoners. They assist in the policing of public events and also at the scenes of accidents, fires and major emergencies.
    The Garda Commissioner has carried out a review of the role and functions of the Garda Reserve and arising from that, is introducing new measures to enhance the operation of the reserve. These include the extension of the functions of the Garda Reserve to the exercise of powers under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Acts and section 41 of the Road Traffic Acts in relation to the seizure of vehicles.
    Training on these and other matters, such as dealing with domestic violence, child protection and conflict resolution, is being organised for serving and recruit members of the Garda Reserve and will commence later this year. Garda Reserve members will also be issued with TETRA radios when going on duty.
    I would like to place on record my appreciation of the members of the reserve who give of their time on a voluntary basis and for their ongoing commitment to the Garda Síochána.

Now lets see how long it will be for the training to commence, they might have announced the new powers, sure it could take another year for the training even to start, you and me both know how slow the wheels in AGS turn, and they are at a snail pace, it only took them 6yrs to get the reserve rank up on their website :D

When the training begins that is when we all know its truly happening, until then its all talk, and pure PR we all know they love to talk in the Dail.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

bluetop wrote: »
    Now lets see how long it will be for the training to commence, they might have announced the new powers, sure it could take another year for the training even to start, you and me both know how slow the wheels in AGS turn, and they are at a snail pace, it only took them 6yrs to get the reserve rank up on their website :D

When the training begins that is when we all know its truly happening, until then its all talk, and pure PR we all know they love to talk in the Dail.

Training has already begun for these new powers mate

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭blueforce

What kind of training has begun? Trainers or Reserves?

Since when have they commenced, is it in the collage or local training, how come nobody has been notified about it. ?

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

Since when have they commenced, is it in the collage or local training, how come nobody has been notified about it. ?

I think anyone on Phase 2 in Templemore for the two weeks are getting trained in the new powers at present.

I wonder will the training be in local Division CPD schools or will we all have to go to templemore for a few days.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

It's two months since it was announced that we are getting new powers . Anyone had any word on what happening with training or any info at all.............:rolleyes:

Looks like the training never got off the ground for this one !!

Raider190 wrote: »

Looks like i was right in what i said the wheels turn slowly, they have not turned at all in the last 2 months, looks like this was a PR stunt to either keep the punters happy or the Reserves, my guess it was the reserves as there are a lot quitting due to lack of utilisation and lack of training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

there are a lot quitting due to lack of utilisation and lack of training.

amen to that

• Registered Users Posts: 30 1rishguy

Does anyone know if you go over the 40 Hrs between College and Attestation in the reserve, will these go towards the 208 required. Yes this is a different thread I realise.