Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you spend on a night out?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Dave! wrote: »
    Spent my bollox this weekend! Collosus Casino cleaned me out :(

Usually spend about €80 I'd say
    I was there too. :) I'm there most weekends pissing away my monies.

I'd usually spend around €100. Sometimes more, sometimes less.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 ennisweed

meself and the girlfriend wen t out sundat about 2 for few pints ended up speding 250 between drinks food and few bets... was fairly sick next day cause havent got a penny for rest off the week:(:(:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Usually...

Roasting ****: €0.00 (non-maggo)
    Staring at myself in the mirror: €0.00
    Explosive, rabid dump: €0.00
    Lying on the floor: €0.00
    Crustier style of a ****: €0.00 (maggo)
    Burnt toast, stale milk (stolen) €0.00
    Bed: €0.00

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

a fat guy wrote: »
    He won't accept my money because my Dad does work for him.

Do you honestly think he'd let me get away with not paying if he would actually accept the money?

You don't have to impose yourself on his generosity, particularly as the time he is wasting driving you home he could be earning money during, presumably, his peak earning hours.

Unless there's only one taxi driver in your town you are being a bit stingy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Usually...

Roasting ****: €0.00 (non-maggo)

Whoever said the best things in life are free wasn't lying:D

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

More than I'd care to admit.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

Beefy78 wrote: »
    You don't have to impose yourself on his generosity, particularly as the time he is wasting driving you home he could be earning money during, presumably, his peak earning hours.

Unless there's only one taxi driver in your town you are being a bit stingy.

It's not like I rely on him every single time I head out. And my Dad always makes sure that I call him, not any other taxi service, before I head out.

Probably because they're best friends and he trusts him to not screw around like the other taxi drivers in town.

When someone is more than happy to help you, then is it really so bad to accept their help?

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Formation

I was there too. :) I'm there most weekends pissing away my monies. I'd usually spend around ?100. Sometimes more, sometimes less.
    used to do that in the same ****hole. E100 doesnt last long.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

It's not like I rely on him every single time I head out. And my Dad always makes sure that I call him, not any other taxi service, before I head out.

Probably because they're best friends and he trusts him to not screw around like the other taxi drivers in town.

When someone is more than happy to help you, then is it really so bad to accept their help?

Not at all, and I'm sure we've all taken advantage of people's generosity at one time or other. But it is a bit stingy which is the point being made.

To the point at hand - at least €100. Often more. I try not to think about it. Got some lads here this weekend for three nights. I dread to think how much I'll spend.

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭cup of tea

College night out(strictly only for student nights): 2 x nagan of smirnoff = 10e
    4 x can of Karpachki = 5e
    2 x taxi = 6e
    food(optional) = 5e
    _____
    fed and watered 26e

Bring the second nagan in the jocks into the nightclub, to give an extra kick later in the night. Just sneak a mixer off the bar and pour into a pint glass(don't even have to buy a mineral :p )

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Formation

taxi drivers dont make much these days with people using taxis less and more competition.

one of the very few busy periods is weekend nights.

instead of earning money for himself and his family he feels obliged to drive his mates kid home for free.

you dont see how you are taking advantage of him?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'm in Oz and not gullible in the slightest. There are cheaper places for a pint but average a pint is $9.50. Sometimes less and a lot of places more. I earn twice as much here for the same job in Ireland and I'm not on great money so it's all relative. The euro doesn't go far here but once you're working a lot of things are comparatively cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Drive into town with my friends = -€5
    4 pints of MiWadi in pub = Free
    Nightclub before 12 = free
    Drive friends home = free

So on the whole I make a profit out of the night. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

About 15-30 euro depending if I drink, average would be about 20

Dart in-2.50(or sometimes free)
    Club(5-10 euro)
    Taxi Home(5-10 euro)

I don't drink inside clubs and I don't drink all the time when going out

Formation wrote: »
    taxi drivers dont make much these days with people using taxis less and more competition.

instead of earning money for himself and his family he feels obliged to drive his mates kid home for free.

Not when my dad does free work for him and he wants to give me a lift, no.

As I've said before, it's not like I'm asking him for lifts the whole time.

Sometimes I'll stay in town with a friend, sometimes I'll get a lift with someone with a family member and it's not like I head out every single weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭shancoduff

If it was me I'd drop a tenner on the seat (front passenger) and say goodbye and close the door, the taxi driver can't feel too bad if he has no choice in the matter!

shancoduff wrote: »
    If it was me I'd drop a tenner on the seat (front passenger) and say goodbye and close the door, the taxi driver can't feel too bad if he has no choice in the matter!

He'll just give it back to my dad in the morning, who'll give it back to me later on.

Trust me, I've tried to reason with him, but he's absolutely set on not taking any money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Something I used to do and its seriously a scummy thing to do is do leggers from taxis. Its not cool and I regret it, especially since I live in outer suburbs.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭shancoduff

He'll just give it back to my dad in the morning, who'll give it back to me later on.

Trust me, I've tried to reason with him, but he's absolutely set on not taking any money.

Sounds like a gent. :)

Just seen your post saying father does free work for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Elvis_Presley

During the week, hit the union, five pints with change from tenner.
    Weekend, head to a decent pub, maybe 7-8 pints at £3 ish a pop so £25-30 on the night.

Don't go clubbing and walk or cycle everywhere. Food at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

On a proper night out whats the damage?

10 cans of beer e10
    5 pints in pub e25
    packet of smokes e9.10
    nightclub door charge e10
    pack of condoms €3 probably won't need them but just in case
    couple of stolen drinks for random bird that will probably not shag you anyways e0
    chipper e8
    taxi e10

total e75.10

fyp op your not doing it right

Not when my dad does free work for him and he wants to give me a lift, no.

As I've said before, it's not like I'm asking him for lifts the whole time.

Sometimes I'll stay in town with a friend, sometimes I'll get a lift with someone with a family member and it's not like I head out every single weekend.

walk home more often and you might not be a fat guy for much longer

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭ha ha hello

Cans or half litre capt. morgans before heading out = about €8 to €13

€10 average entry fee/ or free if early
    €20 drinks
    €12 for taxi home

= about €45/ €55 ... sometimes get a burger and chips, so another €7 or so..

wouldn't go out more than once a month...

I think €70 is as much as I could stomach spending on a night out... it's so **** seeing your wallet missing 20 or 30 quid you didn't know you spent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Night out?? What is this you speak of?

I can't even afford to stay in :-(

Night out?? What is this you speak of?

I can't even afford to stay in :-(

is it because your broke after buying shampoo to wash all that hair? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Last Saturday I went to the local at 12.30pm with €40 in me pocket, was about to go home at 4.45pm to watch the FA Cup final when a mate came in and asked me to stay so I did. Took out another €40, woke up the next morn with a fiver and a load of change in me pocket, taxi home prob cost a tenner (I have a habit of telling them to keep the change when drunk!!!) so by my reckoning that was 13 pints consumed. Cheap enough day out tbh cos if you go into town you can prob double the expenditure for some reason :confused:

walk home more often and you might not be a fat guy for much longer

Yeah, I'd be a dead guy instead...

I live out in the countryside, four miles away from the main road which is itself considerably far away from the pub.

I have been thinking of cycling into town just for the craic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

I have been thinking of cycling into town just for the craic though.

If having your bike stolen constitutes craic, then by all means...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

NothingMan wrote: »
    I'm in Oz and not gullible in the slightest. There are cheaper places for a pint but average a pint is $9.50. Sometimes less and a lot of places more. I earn twice as much here for the same job in Ireland and I'm not on great money so it's all relative. The euro doesn't go far here but once you're working a lot of things are comparatively cheaper.

Is that stout?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

4 pints @ 3.50
    pack of smokes @ 7.80
    bag of crisps @ 0.80

Nice night for €22.60 :)