Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phantom deleted from my radio presets.

• 24-02-2011 2:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭

From "number 1" to gone!

...like a fat jaded ol' Fianna Fail TD.

Maybe I'll tune back in a few years, see how Vogue is getting on....

But for now....Good Night and Good Luck. :(

2005_good_night_and_good_luck_009.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

At this stage I hope they do re-name the station. At least that way we can hopefully remember Phanton with some sense of fondness.

It's hard for me to listen to any Phantom at all these days.

Never voted Fianna Fail though, don't think I ever will :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

dceire wrote: »
    Never voted Fianna Fail though, don't think I ever will :cool:

Neither have I, ever ever EVER, I was just drawin' parallels. :pac:

I remeber returning from London in '99 and tuning into 91.6 and thinking "brilliant, this is deadly, pity its a pirate, why can't things like this be legal..:confused:?"

That's shut me up so!!! :o

Shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭Shanannigan

I agree..

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Vic_Mackey

dceire wrote: »
    At this stage I hope they do re-name the station. At least that way we can hopefully remember Phanton with some sense of fondness.

I hope they call it "SpIndie"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

I thought it was just me ! I now know I'm not alone but I'm heartbroken that Phantom has under gone this radical change.

It so sad to hear 'Dublin's Indie Rock' sharing its playlist with FM104, Spin 103, Today FM and 98fm. I can't actually tell what station I'm listening to anymore cos they all sound the same :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 wobblyheadedbob

Must say I'm very disappointed by the turn of events and the general quality of music on the station, I have turned off altogether. There is also a huge amount of repetition of very poor songs like that dreadful Noah and the Whale, which makes my ears bleed. There is definitely a turn to middle of the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,904 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Stopped listening a few months ago, changed over to Nova, wonder how many listeners they've lost to Nova

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 95 ✭✭RichieMc

There is also a huge amount of repetition of very poor songs like that dreadful Noah and the Whale, which makes my ears bleed. There is definitely a turn to middle of the road.

Here ye go, given the nature of the thread, this may be of some use to ye.

Cheers

Richie

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/SW5M3DB

On the strength of Glasto I went looking for these Lads.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/radio/bbc_6music/listenlive

Absolute fukcing QUALITY :)

Can't get it in the motor :( but makes my day in work a lot better.:D

**take note Phantom**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Sad to say i've also turned it off for good. I don't particularly blame any of the DJ's or staff. It seems to be the new management :( In the same Nova is Q102 but slightly more rock. Phantom is Today FM but slightly more "Indie"

Richie, i'm going to do that survey once i get home from work.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭windowcleaner

Just as a matter of interest - what do people EXPECT from Phantom?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but it's supposed to be an alternative station playing a mixture of brand new indie/alt music and old stuff. I tune in and this is what I get.

Now, the daytime stuff is not really for me. I want brand new music which is why I tune into Icon for the Irish stuff and The Far Side for new stuff which I know everyone will be playing in six months time (Today FM and 2fm are banging on now about The Naked & Famous and Foster the People but Jim Carroll was playing them on Phantom a year ago). But when I tune into Phantom during the day, I hear "new" and "old" stuff.

Is it the case that people want different "old" stuff and are too old to enjoy the new stuff? Personally, I've largely given up on radio and only tune into a few shows (and usually only at night). My iPod is better than any daytime show.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

RichieMc wrote: »
    Here ye go, given the nature of the thread, this may be of some use to ye.

Cheers

Richie

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/SW5M3DB

Phantom is bleeding obsessed with surveys these days. Old phantom didn't use surveys! The djs should just be playing a mix of music they think people will like and music they know people will like.

Top marks on both of your posts Howard.

The above and the other

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056212313&page=6

On the money my friend. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Anto McC wrote: »
    Sad to say i've also turned it off for good. I don't particularly blame any of the DJ's or staff. It seems to be the new management :( In the same Nova is Q102 but slightly more rock. Phantom is Today FM but slightly more "Indie"

Richie, i'm going to do that survey once i get home from work.

i'd agree that it seems like the management that are mainly to blame.
    i was talking to one of the weekday djs a few weeks ago, and they pretty much admitted that they hate a lot of the stuff they have to play, and wish they could play a lot more leftfield stuff.
    obviously they can't play a show full of Sonic Youth or tUnE-yArDs etc., but they should have a lot more freedom in what they play.
    there's only so many times you can hear KoL, Two Door Cinema Club or Ham Sandwich during the day, every day.

i think the playlist is a lot at fault too. there's some good stuff on there, some rubbish IMO, but the main problem is that things stick around on it too long, and are overplayed. you can hear some of the playisted songs 5 or 6 times from 9am - 5pm.
    it doesn't help that a lot of them are generic bland indie-pop like The Vaccines or The Wombats.

i very rarely listen to Phantom during the day anymore. i listen to the Dublin City FM drivetime show which is on from 4-7 (which plays a lot of indie stuff that only gets played on the nighttime/specialist Phantom shows) , or Newstalk or mp3s/cds before that depending on where I am.

not even going to start on the B.S. chat nonsense in the afternoon.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

i'd agree that it seems like the management that are mainly to blame.
    i was talking to one of the weekday djs a few weeks ago, and they pretty much admitted that they hate a lot of the stuff they have to play, and wish they could play a lot more leftfield stuff.
    obviously they can't play a show full of Sonic Youth or tUnE-yArDs etc., but they should have a lot more freedom in what they play.
    there's only so many times you can hear KoL, Two Door Cinema Club or Ham Sandwich during the day, every day.

i think the playlist is a lot at fault too. there's some good stuff on there, some rubbish IMO, but the main problem is that things stick around on it too long, and are overplayed. you can hear some of the playisted songs 5 or 6 times from 9am - 5pm.
    it doesn't help that a lot of them are generic bland indie-pop like The Vaccines or The Wombats.

i very rarely listen to Phantom during the day anymore. i listen to the Dublin City FM drivetime show which is on from 4-7 (which plays a lot of indie stuff that only gets played on the nighttime/specialist Phantom shows) , or Newstalk or mp3s/cds before that depending on where I am.not even going to start on the B.S. chat nonsense in the afternoon.

for dub radio that's where it's at. Give DubCity a text in and John Neary will normally play what you're looking for. They also give away 3 hours of parking to pretty much everyone so it's another plus point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

lordgoat wrote: »
    for dub radio that's where it's at. Give DubCity a text in and John Neary will normally play what you're looking for. They also give away 3 hours of parking to pretty much everyone so it's another plus point
    Are you serious? Do people actually do this? Why not just put the song you want to hear on on your iPod?

does your ipod give away free parking? !!

i don't load my ipod with every song i have, normally a few new albums and one or two old playlists. Sometimes you want to hear something not on it, sometimes you want to text in and say 'good music, thanks, nice listening, etc'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

lordgoat wrote: »
    does your ipod give away free parking? !!

i don't load my ipod with every song i have, normally a few new albums and one or two old playlists. Sometimes you want to hear something not on it, sometimes you want to text in and say 'good music, thanks, nice listening, etc'

Are you John Neary? !!

Live Drive can be good and I like the quiz on fridays especially when my wife is in the car - drive her mad with my "Yusss!", "Get in!", "'Ave it!", "Back a da net!" and occasional "Jurassic Park!" for some reason. Never text in though. Must start.

Down side of Dub City is the sound quality. In my car, at least, it's pretty bad. He does play some good stuff though and not as repeaty as phantom. And listening to endless traffic reports can be more interesting than the filler stuff on phantom too.

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    Are you John Neary? !!

Live Drive can be good and I like the quiz on fridays especially when my wife is in the car - drive her mad with my "Yusss!", "Get in!", "'Ave it!", "Back a da net!" and occasional "Jurassic Park!" for some reason. Never text in though. Must start.

Down side of Dub City is the sound quality. In my car, at least, it's pretty bad. He does play some good stuff though and not as repeaty as phantom. And listening to endless traffic reports can be more interesting than the filler stuff on phantom too.

I wish!

You should also work in a 'side pocket' and 'in off the red' into your routine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Musicman2006

I too have tuned out phantom. Radio nova for me for the last year...i just couldnt take any more crap high stringed repetitive riffing over fast paced high hat beats....YAWN!

• Registered Users Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

I still listen to Phantom in the morning and early evenings. I find though that the pure morning team are becoming more pretentious and have private jokes on air. It's like having to overhear a conversation between two chums in the office who think they are the bomb rather than engaging with their audience. Which is very sad as this time last year their show was much more enjoyable.

I can't stand Muireann O' Connell I really don't see her fitting with the phantom brand of airplay at all. As soon as I hear her I turn over to something else as I know within minutes I will be bored beyond belief.

And Richie Ryan is now barely heard on regular radio hours which I am very sad about as I would view him as one of the better d.j.'s

I have been an avid fan of phantom for years ever since myself and my then teenage friend struggled to tune in to a signal in her kitchen many many years ago before the station was licensed. I am sad because I can see that the changes are leading to a more generic radio station and may net a larger listening base but it will loose it's core identity.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

CiaranC wrote: »
    Are you serious? Do people actually do this? Why not just put the song you want to hear on on your iPod?

In that case why have music radio at all?

There's nothing better than sharing a quality song with fellow listeners.

Oh and I agree Phantom is for the birds. Too obsessed with having female presenters who speak with a funny accent

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Ultimate Ultan

Yer one Muireann, the new afternoon presenter has no personality. She should just play music. She just can't engage with the listeners.

Phantom FM, RIP I'm afraid. I used to love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,206 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Yer one Muireann, the new afternoon presenter has no personality. She should just play music. She just can't engage with the listeners.

Phantom FM, RIP I'm afraid. I used to love it.

The way she says 'How are ya?' is really annoying!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

I stopped listening years ago, diabolical station. Jaysus it was great back in the day though, a real life saver.

Now it’s just like every other station yapping about mediocre nonsense and funny little antidotes whilst playing garbage tunes. Nova or the guy pod.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I have Phantom as the very last station on the presets now. I'll only tune into it as a last resort.

Another vote for BBC6 Music, it's what internet radios were built for. Such a shame I can't get it in the car. Their Sunday line-up is particularly impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ladermoon

Same thing happened to my friend, sry to hear that!

http://wickedguitartuner.com

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

"Phantom deleted from my radio presets"

Me too, me too. Along with FM104, 98FM, SPIN and 2FM

For Dublin poeple.... 106.4 is quite good. They play some random stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

My car stereo stopped plaing Phantom about a month ago. The display went from showing 'Phantom' to showing 'PHANTOM'. After that, if it does manage to find the station, it goes silent after about 10 seconds. All the other crappy stations are fine.

Anyone know what the story is?

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭noideaforaname

McGaggs wrote: »
    My car stereo stopped plaing Phantom about a month ago. The display went from showing 'Phantom' to showing 'PHANTOM'. After that, if it does manage to find the station, it goes silent after about 10 seconds. All the other crappy stations are fine.

Anyone know what the story is?

Mine also started doing that, I used to always listen to the radio on the RDS setting and now I've had to start using the BAND setting, see how that works for you. Fine for me :D