Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battery charge time for MP5 electric

• 29-06-2007 6:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

Bullets here popping over from the shooting board looking
    for a bit of help. I know nothing at all about Airsoft sports.

Got a H&K MP5 electric BB fireing replica airsoft/BB gun today in Cork.
    Purely because it looked cool and I love all things gun related including
    replicas or non-firearms that look like the real thing.
    Yer man in the shop said it was under one Joule so I am guessing
    I wont have any trouble Legal wise.

The manual is very badly written and does not mention anything at all
    about charging the battery pack that comes with the gun.

The Manual mentioned Ni-Cad but the battery pack itself
    is Ni-MH 7x2 3A31100 Mah 8.4 volts.
    The charger plugs directly into the battery pack and does not
    have any lights or any indication to let you know when the pack is
    charged. This is worrying and its one of those cheap made in China jobs
    and dont want to leave it un-attended in case it goes on fire etc.

Does anyone Know how long I should charge the pack for ?

I'm not an airsofter as I have my own real rifle and enjoy casual target
    shooting but I was in Cork today and wandered into the Mmmmmad shop
    where I saw a stunning array of BB/airsoft??? guns that looked well impressive. I was drooling as these looked like replicas and looked like the real thing from a distance. Metal Replicas are 3-400 but these were all
    under 200 Euros which was great.

I bought a glock look alike which is pretty crap and
    is only for decoration and an electric H&K MP5
    Just because they looked nice and also I had got the bus down to cork
    from limerick and could not carry anything bigger.
    I would love to get an FN-FAL replica or BB fireing one.

After fireing it on full auto a while ago and its FANTASTIC "fun" !!
    something you can let loose with without having to worry
    about the serious-ness of fireing real live rounds.
    I now want to buy MORE than one.

~B

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

cant say you'll get many pleasant comments about mmmad to be honest, they're not well liked around here, not exactly the kind of retailer we like selling airsoft stuff... but that's a topic for another day. the mp5 you got is most likely a cyma mp5... not a bad little aeg (have one myself), but unfortunately mmmad's prices are a bit ott...

however, to figure out the battery charge time, you need the mah rating from the battery (1100 for the one that comes with cyma mp5 i think) and the mah from the charger (again approx 100mah from what i remember), there's a nice little equation that works it out, but i cant remember off the top of my head, you can use the calculator program here to work it out for you though

Edit: just lookin at this page it appears to be [battery mah]/[charger mah] + 20%, so 1100/100 = 11 + (11*0.2) = 13.2 hours
    the 20% allows for energy loss/inefficiency and can vary depending on charger/battery etc..

Edit Again: also, welcome to the forum, if you love the mp5 that much already, you should come along to a skirmish and try it out, great craic all together

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Without knowing anything about your charger the best advice I could give would be to wait until you are going to be in the house all day then plug it in in the morning and let it do its magic. Check on it every once in a while to make sure its not running hot and if it is obviously unplug it. That said if you are going to be buying more AEGs it would probably be in your best interest to invest in a good smart charger and some extra batteries as the ones that are shipped with clones tend not to be the best. (MMMMAD are selling clones right?)

Blooming KDouglas I'll just bet he camps out at spawn points too :D

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    Blooming KDouglas I'll just bet he camps out at spawn points too :D

i dont get ya?
    N.O.I.P. wrote:
    (MMMMAD are selling clones right?)

yup, the mp5 i saw on their website is the same as the clone mp5 i have, cyma cm027

Edit: actually, now that i look, they have the cm023 and cm027, cm023 is rubbish in comparison to most decent clones, cm027 is known as a fairly good clone, on a similar level to the cyma ak47 (cm028 i think??)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Thanks guys,

Thats great info,
    I must say its got me pretty interested.
    A bit plastic for my tastes but almost realistic I reckon
    some of those Airsoft stuff is a happy inbetween for those
    who likes the Looks of guns and the cheapness of being able to
    afford somthing that looks like the real thing.

I love the sound of the motor going and fireing out those little plastic
    beads.

~B

• Registered Users Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

bullets wrote:
    A bit plastic for my tastes
    ~B

Methinks you just need to see some higher end guns and not clones ;)

kdouglas wrote:
    i dont get ya?

You are well quick with the replies, it just reminded me of spawn campers, those guys you meet in FPS games online who hang around by regen spots and off people as soon as they appear. I just pictured you sitting infront of your PC hammering away at the F5 key waiting to swoop in on a new post :D

Master of the Universe

You like Fals? Then get one of these. Made by King Arms. Full Metal. $400.

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/8607/falm2jg1.jpg

Although, Don't get one before me. I'll be well pissed ;)

Jeez Oisin first it was the paintballers now its the shooters is there anyone you won't try and convert :D

o1s1n wrote:
    You like Fals? Then get one of these. Made by King Arms. Full Metal. $400.

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/8607/falm2jg1.jpg

Although, Don't get one before me. I'll be well pissed ;)

Sweet almost perfect for me. If I could just get a flash eliminator that
    is the exact same as my days in the FCA I would be happy.
    would prefer to be able to go someplace and buy one though
    rather than have to try buy one online and have to hope and pray
    that customs dont stop it from coming through the post.

I was actually going to try in the future of picking myself up a fully
    working FAL converted to 22LR and legallay being able to fire it
    in Ireland but thats a long way off yet.

~B

Master of the Universe

Customs aren't going to seize it. It's perfectly legal. The only problem With importing is the 21% vat you might have to pay. But you'd still get your gun though!

Master of the Universe

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    Jeez Oisin first it was the paintballers now its the shooters is there anyone you won't try and convert :D

Next in line are the Christians. I'll have them picking up guns before you know it ;)

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    You are well quick with the replies, it just reminded me of spawn campers, those guys you meet in FPS games online who hang around by regen spots and off people as soon as they appear. I just pictured you sitting infront of your PC hammering away at the F5 key waiting to swoop in on a new post :D

yea.. gotcha, brain wasnt working first time...

ironically i was just back after being out for a while and popped on to check if there was anything new...

o1s1n wrote:
    Next in line are the Christians. I'll have them picking up guns before you know it ;)

now THAT i would pay to see! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

I just pictured you sitting infront of your PC hammering away at the F5 key waiting to swoop in on a new post
    lol yea hes pounced on many a new post seconds before i could :rolleyes:

just to clarify something... I dont actually do that... just seem to have good timing with new posts!

This is the model I got:
    http://www.airsoftretreat.com/reviews/showproduct.php?product=90

My charger is 150mA output and not 250 like on the above review.
    Also mine is all black, ie the flash elimantor thats orange on the review
    is black on mine.

I must educate myself on all this airsoft sport.
    Must check out some of the sites. I know there was one online store
    in Ireland that was going to start selling them but cant remember the
    link and dunno if the website ever was kept alive. It may have been
    the Viper place.

Would prefer a walk in shop thought where I could look/feel/buy.
    But living in Limerick that likely meand having to travel
    to Cork/Dublin or someplace MILES away.

As I dont partisipate in the sport I dont know whats a good quality AEG
    and whats a crap. Dont know what a clone and non clone is.

Here in Limerick we dont have a MMmad shop. There was one.
    But the locals I think got it closed down or objected to it being open.
    As it sold drug related stuff like pipes and bongs etc.
    I personally never had a problem with the place as often you could
    get cool gadgets and toys that you would normally only ever see
    on online gadget stores etc. One neg about the place is that
    they will sell anything to anyone so Like with Target shooting and
    your trying to portray a good image to joe-soap it could be tarnished
    by having someplace sell to children/scumbags or any other gob-sh*te
    (like me) that just wonders in off the street and buys on impulse.

Still glad the shop was there. I actually went to Cork to get a
    Replica AK47 as a wall hanger that was in Harpers across the street
    but when I looked at it it was not as good as I remembered
    and it was not full scale. (A wee bit smaller than the real thing)
    (Plus the price I reckon would have been 400+ but I dit not ask)
    I only went into MMad just to see if they had anything cool to but
    and was presented with a Wall of Guns that made me drool!!!

I defo want another one. The FN looks nice but tis 400 USD?
    I could but another Real .22 rifle for that price that or throw
    another couple of hundered may even get a real FN converted down
    to .22 but's thats going a little off topic for this forum.

I am very tempted by King Arms - FN FAL Tactical Carbine
    http://airsoft-war4.com/w4_aeg.php?b=King%20Arms
    But would like to be able to buy it here in Ireland and
    not have the hasle with tax etc.

~B

Master of the Universe

The reason we buy from such far away places is it's much cheaper.
    If you want to buy a FAL here or the Uk, it's going to cost you about 450 EURO for the gun alone. And that won't even come with a battery or charger.

In the end it would probably cost about €550+

Buy from China and you should get it for over 100 cheaper.

The reason they're so expensive is because they're quality made.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,161 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Paul said it was also due to the trademarks that the "higher end" ones are so expensive compared to clones. THe clones just use them enyway but dont pay royalties. And sweatshops...:eek:

Master of the Universe

Paul said it was also due to the trademarks that the "higher end" ones are so expensive compared to clones. THe clones just use them enyway but dont pay royalties. And sweatshops...:eek:

That's one me and Paul will just have to disagree on. There's more to it than just trades. Compare a Classic Army armalite with a clone one and you'll see what I mean. They're good but they just don't have the finish the higher end ones have.

Now, to avoid having to beat my computer to pieces with my keyboard, this is going to go back on topic and AWAY from the clone debate :)

OK I have decided.

I am gonna try and see what prices and hassle it
    would be to get a real FN chambered in 22LR (I know they exist)
    If its too expensive or too much hassle I am going to go the
    airsoft route and buy the:
    KA-AEG-AG-02C Kingarms FAL Carbine AEG
    from www.fire-support.co.uk
    (Battery pack suggestions welcome)
    I can feel my credit card burning in my pocket as I type!!!

Where's the nearest place to Limerick where I can try out Airsoft
    activities ? (I know there are Paintball places but I can do that any ol time)
    My issue is that I dont drive so I lack transport so have to get
    public transport like the bus/train.

I am thinking if your running round the place and having fun
    its a light hearted way to keep fit and have fun and try
    out real tactics So I may give it a try being an ex FCA member in my
    teens and loving all that type of stuff.

Feck*n too many hobbys at this stage with Shooting/Fencing/Model Painting
    and not enough time. Why not add one more!!

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Buy it from a HK retailer and save around €100.
    From Firesupport it'll cost you around €440
    From UNcompany it'll cost you around €250
    (Had the actual prices but I deleted the post! However those prices are within €5 of the actual prices.)
    Even if you get killed by customs and delivery you'll still save at least €90.