Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good form, bad form & everything in between?

• 10-09-2011 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I'm not sure if it's been done on this forum, but these threads seem popular enough and a good way to encourage a sense of community within the walls of our fine gentlemen's club :)

Generally speaking, we as men aren't great talking about "feelings" or anything that gets more complicated than happy, sad or p¡ssed off but this could work. So maybe give it a shot?

I will kick it off by saying I'm in good form, first 2 days of my new undergrad went without a hitch. Seems like a nice bunch in my class and looking forward to the new challenges that I'll face. Also have 2 businessy meetings during the week, bit nervous about one somewhat but again bit of preparation and should go fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I'm planning on quitting the aul' smokes and today has been day one without them, it's been easy. What have I learned?
    Who the hell would smoke when you can have eCigarettes, I bought an eGo XL and it is amazing!
    They're strong as hell and tasty. Really don't see why I'd smoke real cigarettes again (though I probably will on a night out)!

And... after two years of laziness with a slightly messed up back, I'm finally back in the gym.
    I'm ridiculously in love with squats and deadlifts again, my back is feeling fine too!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Currently, I'm bricking it waiting on my results from repeat exams. I actually feel worried about not being able to go back to college :( I'm usually pretty happy and content, but I have even avoided nights out in the past 2 weeks as it would make me feel worse!

I'll be over the bloody moon if I pass, can sort out a house to live in and my student grant once that happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The problem with these type of threads, where people express something about themselves is that no people listen to what others are say. Everyone just posts something about themselves and take a selfish approach to wanting to talk about themselves.

Moot point. Ever heard of giving a thread time to develop, and let people freely interact as they so choose?

I'm not gonna get going on this, the thread deserves a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Currently, I'm bricking it waiting on my results from repeat exams. I actually feel worried about not being able to go back to college :( I'm usually pretty happy and content, but I have even avoided nights out in the past 2 weeks as it would make me feel worse!

I'll be over the bloody moon if I pass, can sort out a house to live in and my student grant once that happens.
    In the same boat as yourself, waiting on results from two repeats.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I wish ya the best of luck man! Its not a nice feeling with all the waiting...two repeats here also.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Moot point. Ever heard of giving a thread time to develop, and let people freely interact as they so choose?

I'm not gonna get going on this, the thread deserves a chance.
    You're probably right.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Nice idea for the thread imo

Best of luck with the results lads, repeats suck balls, I should know from doing enough of them :pac:

I'm in good enough form atm, moved into a very nice new house with my best friends and waiting to hear if I got into a course that I really want to do part time so hopefully I'll get the green light Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

What are you on about?

Im open to correction but I reckon Will started this thread so members can have a mini rant if they want or if something good is happening then they can share,nothing selfish about that.

Anyway,Im in pretty good form myself.My local team are playing in the county final today.The majority of the team Ive known for 15 plus years,went to school with alot of them and regularly socialise with alot of them.We are going in as under dogs which I much prefer but hopefully we will do the business.Im off work til Thursday too so if we win it will be an immense couple of days boozing.

On the work front the job is going really well and my bosses are very happy with me.My team (myself and one other person) have made target for July and August and are well ahead for meeting target for this month too.We are being brought for Fire for dinner and drinks Friday night as a reward by my boss and they are also re-structuring our commission to increase it so all in all,life is pretty damn enjoyable at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

I'd repeats every year so can empathise. Very nerve racking and stressful. Hope it all goes in your favour!

Will wrote: »
    I'd repeats every year so can empathise. Very nerve racking and stressful. Hope it all goes in your favour!
    Cheers man, appreciate it!

And best of luck with Your own little adventure over the next few years...should be fun hehe :)

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

im in good form lads,last two years were hard on me but i seem to be geting back on track:).
    im starting kickboxing tomorrow.this time last year i was 15stone 5 im 10stone 1 now and feel good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭jenny111111

Terrible form, seem to have absolutely everything going wrong at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Terrible form, seem to have absolutely everything going wrong at the moment.
    When it rains it pours, hopefully better times ahead for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭ Seth Broad Cup

I'm in good enough old form.

Personally things are going well, must organise some quiet pints on the high stools with the lads this week. Things are going pretty well in the love department too.

Professionally my job is okay, could be better, not sure if it's quite me any more. However the harsh reality of my first cousin emigrating to Oz on Wednesday really puts that into perspective.

The only negative thing is that I'm beginning to get to know too many divorced guys. I feel so, so sorry for them. One guy had a great time when things were good. Nice house, wife, family, making lots of money as a tiler. Now both his marriage and career have fell apart and at 48 it's almost like he's starting over again. I wish him the best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Funny form. Had some awful years in a row there, really awful. I feel like I'm wading out of the mud but slowly. I'm still pushing against it but it's wearing me down and I'm getting tired (figuratively and literally - I find myself taking to bed at increasingly earlier hours...maybe I'm getting old!:pac:). One things gives me hope...had a great heart to heart with my OH last night. I don't know how it happened but I can safely say we haven't talked like that in years. He listened to me...and he spoke too. I mean he opened up and it makes me feel like we can get there together. I sympathise with you jenny111111. I think PaulieC is right unfortunately but keep the chin up and push on. The rain has to stop some time.

Otis, nice to hear that things are going well for someone. This country is so doom and gloom right now. Really good to hear a positive story!

Thanks OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭ Seth Broad Cup

Funny form...

Hard to beat a good heart to heart alright. That's what I love about my current relationship, for better or for worse she'll speak her mind, just like I do. My ex used to frustrate me as she kept so much to herself

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Constant worries and concerns leaving me tired and stressed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

FunkZ wrote: »
    I'm planning on quitting the aul' smokes and today has been day one without them, it's been easy. What have I learned?
    Who the hell would smoke when you can have eCigarettes, I bought an eGo XL and it is amazing!
    They're strong as hell and tasty. Really don't see why I'd smoke real cigarettes again (though I probably will on a night out)!

Best of luck with that one, give it a year and you'll really notice the difference, especially if you're playing sport.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Azureus

Good enough form-work is going well, home life is better than ever, but health-wise been feeling crap for going on three weeks now-prob time to get it checked out but cant help putting it off and off...:s money worries too but then who doesnt!
    On a positive note-hoping to get all debts/bills sorted by next month and maybe looking towards a small trip away once Im on top of everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Best of luck with that one, give it a year and you'll really notice the difference, especially if you're playing sport.
    This is very true. I have the utmost respect for anyone who gives up the fags. It must be one of the toughest things to do.

Sounds nice about the trip Azureus. No doubt it'll do you good. Do get on to the doctor if you're not well though. Your health is your wealth and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Checked my euromillions ticket for last friday's draw this morning.

Won €218

Nice way to cheer you up on a Monday. :D

obama-not-bad.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

FunkZ wrote: »

And... after two years of laziness with a slightly messed up back, I'm finally back in the gym.
    I'm ridiculously in love with squats and deadlifts again, my back is feeling fine too!
    That's great, hope you can stay off the smokes:)

And good news about your back as well!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Was meant to be goin on the lash with my new college buddies, stomach decided to act up and as a result I'm now home and hoppin into the leaba soon. Shame but plenty more nights to act the eejit and go drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I wish ya the best of luck man! Its not a nice feeling with all the waiting...two repeats here also.
    Cheers! Best of luck to you too, I will find out tomorrow how I got on

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Good form - I have been off the drink for 3 weeks and I get to go drinking tomorrow along with seeing my favourite singer (Frank Turner) In Kilkenny tomorrow, Cork Wednesday and Dublin on Sunday. So chuffed all round for that.

Bad form - not sure, but may have fcuked my chances with a girl and while usually I'm a plenty more fish in the sea guy. She is so awesome that it sucks. That said, it's only a "may have" I am sure when I get back on the beer and start back running next week that I'll change that to definitely gonna get her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Colonel Panic

I'm in pretty bad form at the moment.

I have quit drinking because I can't handle hangovers and I want to get back into shape. It seems drastic to go teetotal but I have trouble just having one or two.

That coupled with the stress of trying to sort out relationship issues and having problems in work that I can't resolve which I suspect have had a direct impact on my health over the past 12 months. It all makes for a very fed up Colonel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

I have to say I'm genuinely in good form right now.

All of the following happened in the past few days:
    - I was offered a promotion in work yesterday; still on ****e money but slightly less ****e than before.
    - I've been offered a place on a postgrad course which I hope to defer until next year.
    - I just fulfilled a lifelong ambition by purchasing my first motorbike.
    - I'm finally about to move out of the homestead into a new place with cheap rent.
    - My car had a problem yesterday morning and my mechanic ended up fixing it for free yesterday evening.
    - And to top it all off I met the most beautiful French girl the other day, got her number, and asked her out on a date for tomorrow; she said yes but has yet to get back to me since yesterday. Weather or not she dose get back to me, it's been a good week.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I'm in fairly good form lately.
    • Work is going well, feel in a better mood going in each morning and achieving more each day too.
    • Personal life aint too bad either ;)
    • Could do with a few quid as I find the end of each month is getting a little too tight for comfort moneywise so working on that.
      So hopefully things will improve over the next few months and I can build up my savings a little more too

Apart from that, can't really complain about to much. No one would listen anyway :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I have food in my belly and a roof over my head. I'm grand.