Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭greenasgrass

My brothers Orbea road bike (6 months old) was nicked from DIT Kevin Street last night. Has been reported to the guards.

http://www.orbea.com/gb-en/bicis/modelos/aqua_ttg/#presentacion

Similar colour scheme to the one above. He has the serial number and all so if it is spotted for sale should be relatively easy to prove it's his.

It's an relatively unsual road bike to see around so if anyone spots one for sale on the web or in a shop please PM me.

greenasgrass

• Registered Users Posts: 22,198 ✭✭✭✭endacl

My brothers Orbea road bike (6 months old) was nicked from DIT Kevin Street last night. Has been reported to the guards.

http://www.orbea.com/gb-en/bicis/modelos/aqua_ttg/#presentacion

Similar colour scheme to the one above. He has the serial number and all so if it is spotted for sale should be relatively easy to prove it's his.

It's an relatively unsual road bike to see around so if anyone spots one for sale on the web or in a shop please PM me.

greenasgrass
    Sorry to hear about the loss greenasgass. Unfortunately, the serial number may not prove any ownership unless its registered somewhere. Whoever nicked the bike also has the number. Might be an idea to register it with the Bridewell, even after the fact, just to get this on record? May also help the guards reunite bike with biker in the event it is recovered.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Smaidd

This was locked and out of site in my back yard in Phibsborough in Dublin 7.

I always thought it was far too distinctive to even consider stealing.

1QtIa.jpg

qDuQo.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That's a beauty Smaidd, sorry to hear it was taken.

No bike is too distinct/too cheap/too wrecked to be stolen. Scumbags will steal absolutley anything that's not bolted down in the hope that someone will give them a couple of euro for it.

The distinctiveness will help though if you search for it, it'll stand out a mile in any group of bikes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

My mountain bike I use to commute on was stolen last night from Ballinteer Rd in Dundrum.

Its a rusty black Townsend mountain bike with a shiny chrome saddle tube. Front brake doesn't work. I don't have pictures of it but pretty much it was a piece of crap I thought I could lock up anywhere without worrying about it being stolen. :( As Smaid said above, lowlifes will rob anything.

Its depressing how busy this thread. Is it worth reporting a bike stolen in Dublin?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 74,777 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

AIR-AUSSIE wrote: »
    Is it worth reporting a bike stolen in Dublin?
    It's worth reporting on the off chance of it being recovered.

In addition, the more that gets reported the more likely something may be done about it, be it more secure bike locking facilities, more resource devoted to deaing with such crime, or a wider awareness within the community to keep their eyes out and report such criminal activity

• Registered Users Posts: 22,198 ✭✭✭✭endacl

AIR-AUSSIE wrote: »
    My mountain bike I use to commute on was stolen last night from Ballinteer Rd in Dundrum.

Its a rusty black Townsend mountain bike with a shiny chrome saddle tube. Front brake doesn't work. I don't have pictures of it but pretty much it was a piece of crap I thought I could lock up anywhere without worrying about it being stolen. :( As Smaid said above, lowlifes will rob anything.

Its depressing how busy this thread. Is it worth reporting a bike stolen in Dublin?
    If its not reported and the bike is recovered, it'll be sold in a auction. If it has been reported, it'll be handed back to you. So, small chance of getting it back versus no chance. Also, the higher the official figures for theft, the more likely something may be done about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

Beasty wrote: »
    It's worth reporting on the off chance of it being recovered.

In addition, the more that gets reported the more likely something may be done about it, be it more secure bike locking facilities, more resource devoted to deaing with such crime, or a wider awareness within the community to keep their eyes out and report such criminal activity

Totally disagree. I "reported" my bike stolen to a Guard that happened to walk pass me as I discovered mine was gone. He "wrote" it in his book, took all my details and told me I'd receive a report in the post. Nothing arrived, so I went to a Guarda station to see if it was on the system yet and surprise surprise it wasn't. I also rang the guards to report a bike theft I witnessed, gave a full description of the thief and was told to expect a call which never came.
    I think this clip sums up the Guards attitude to bike thefts.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6Q4IRg73AI

• Registered Users Posts: 24 LeinsterLegend

Lads,
    My Felt 75 (2006) was stolen last night from my apartment complex in Rathfarnham.
    Beautiful bike and I had it locked with 2 locks ABUS Sinus 46 + Phantom 185
    If you see or hear of it being advertised please let me know. I cant afford to replace - absolutle gutted

Thanks LL

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭diegroblers

I had my bike stolen today from the Luas in Dundrum. To the person who stole it: My your arse itch and may your fingers grow claws! I have to admit, I did have a piddly lock on it. I think I'll go with a medium sized lock, insurance and a security kit.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Ddinneny

It is a black and red Specialised Secteur
    It was stolen from Dublin 11
    It had shimano 105 groupsets and brakes specialized pro lite carbon forks.
    Has any one seen or been offered this bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

sorry to hear that you just can't be to careful.
    you should post a photo of the bike and maybe photo from where it was stolen.
    hope you get it back :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Guards/Bike shops have you told them? How was it locked?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 sam.boles

My bike was stolen from the bike stand outside AIB Westmoreland Street, Dublin at some stage between Saturday 25th Feb at 21:00 and Monday 16:00. A blue Oxford U-lock was used. Here is a highly sophisticated photo-fit of the bike in question. Please note the rasta handle-bar tape.

430048_10150638561317010_649772009_9004398_1959926174_n.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150638561317010&set=o.153042051397648&type=1&ref=nf

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Ddinneny

Ddinneny wrote: »
    It is a black and red Specialised Secteur
    It was stolen from Dublin 11
    It had shimano 105 groupsets and brakes specialized pro lite carbon forks.
    Has any one seen or been offered this bike.

attached are pictures of the bike & forks, there is red tape on my bike not black & a differed saddle to the one in the photo

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Owen101

Giant rapid 3 stolen last night from tramyard apts inchicore.

Same as this plus mud guards, rear carrier and front basket.

http://www.thebikeshopderby.co.uk/wp-content/themes/shopperpress/thumbs/Rapid_3_triple.jpg

Bike was locked to floor rack with 2 locks (1 abus) and another old abandoned bike.Thief unbolted rack from concrete and made off with rack, old bike and my Giant.

Anyone see or hear of sale offers please forward

thanks,

• Registered Users Posts: 20 streacy

2 Kona bikes stolen Friday night in Rosedale Apts Inchicore. Just round the corner from the Tramyards, Owen, and they were stolen the same way (stands unbolted/bolts drilled from the floor) so maybe the same people?

1st bike was my girlfriend's a bright green Kona Dr Dew like this one:
    g23102.jpg
    There were some non-standard parts namely saddle, stem and mudguards.

2nd bike (mine) a Kona Kula mountain bike 2009 model like this:
    mf8726_kula.jpg

Non-standard grips on this one...

Both were locked with a Krytonite New York and the Kula also had an Abus Granit on the front. That's over €200 worth of locks never mind the bikes. All counts for naught if the builders don't install the stands properly so they can't be detached from the floor :(

It's been reported to Kilmainham Garda already and hopefully CCTV will shed some light for them. They do follow it up as they recently tracked down a couple of guys who stole a saddle from a bike in the same location. Maybe Tramyards CCTV might help too?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JH_raheny

anyone reckon they are stolen to order when they go through the effort of smashing quite strong and expensive locks ?
    Just got my MTB a few weeks ago and had hoped to use it for commuting as well but are not really happy leaving it out of sight anywhere, got it through the bike2work scheme and would just hate to be paing for something that I didn't own anymore -

• Registered Users Posts: 20 streacy

I can understand the reluctance... both of the bikes above were bought on the Cycle-to-work scheme at Christmas so will be paying for them until the end of the year.
    I don't know if they would have been stolen to order or not but the thieves seem to me to have been a bit more organised than your average passerby. They had to get into a locked car park for a start, presumably with a van, and they obviously had some tools with them. Maybe they had scoped the place out before and knew there were some decent bikes there. In this case the main problem was that the stands weren't up to scratch not that the locks were forced. Bikes, locks, stands the lot were just missing the next day....

• Registered Users Posts: 3 smileypeter

My bicycle was also stolen from the underground carpark in Rosedale Apartments last Friday 2nd March.
    Thieves were very well organized, as above had a kryptonite lock, but useless against the bike stand itself being just unscrewed/leveraged from the ground.
    Picture of it new below, mine has mudguards and a back carrier though.
    ridgeback-velocity-mens-2005-hybrid-bike.jpg

Peter

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Owen101

smileypeter, streacy, sorry to hear that I would say definitely then the same gang who did Tramyard also paid Rosedale a visit last Friday (2nd March). There was no evidence of cutting or dragging so looks like the whole lot went straight into the back of a van.

I reported it in Kilmainham Saturday so will follow up during week for cctv. Will PM if hear anything.

At least the locks were solid. Shame as much couldnt be said for the darned bike rack/post.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

My bike taken outside Xtravision Swords at 6.30 thus evening. Blue frame with Pinerallo stickers, aksium wheels, race blades. Reported to Swords Garda station.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,074 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Hi, posting this for a friend. I think it happened today. They were in the Ilac/Dominick St. area. Not sure what time of day it was. It was a Cube racer, same as this one:

421242_10151393839775503_593130502_23519967_1472286850_n.jpg

It's especially sickening since they were supposed to be using to cycle across the UK this monday for charity. Thanks folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 aglo99

Hi, Have any of ye got your bike back? My Giant Expression DX (xs, with black basket on front) was stolen last night from Malahide. I had it locked to the railing across from Siam Thai / Starbucks next to the phone boot. Only my bike was stolen. It was stolen between 10pm and 1am, the lock cut clean off. Devastated. Please keep an eye out and contact me if you see it around.

Thanks Olga.

Expression_DX_W.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭docentore

My everyday bike was stolen last night.
    Old Trek Hybrid, dark blue. Only what was left was front wheel.

Funny thing is that few days ago rear hub broke down and I couldn't pedal. Thief had to push the bike all the way to his hideout. Gards where involved.

East wall btw

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭foret

Seems to have been a spate of bikes taken from D8 in last few weeks.

Add mine to list . Only managed to find exact date some time later from CCTV...

Date 5/3/2012. Time 4.45am. Place: Kilmainham.

Bike; Blue Trek 7.1 (?) . XL ,25inch frame.

1 pannier and distintive bang mark on crossbar.

Have footage of the gurrier on 3 seperate cctv angles but no face shot..

Any inspiration let me know?

PS this thread is extraordinary..Is Dublin the bike crime capital of the world? Talk about impunity of these criminals?

How hard would it be to set up several stings of nice bikes locked in public with good camera coverage..it seems that bike crime is so pervasive that the guards would have a list of bike thieves in one night.

fast track / process / kangeroo court these criminals?!!

And apologies to all right-minded civil libertarians.
    Getting tired of soft touch policing and society's general
    acceptance of criminal behaviour in Ireland. I can't post how i would treat these f*&kers...!

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

foret wrote: »
    Seems to have been a spate of bikes taken from D8 in last few weeks.

Add mine to list . Only managed to find exact date some time later from CCTV...

Date 5/3/2012. Time 4.45am. Place: Kilmainham.

Bike; Blue Trek 7.1 (?) . XL ,25inch frame.

1 pannier and distintive bang mark on crossbar.

Have footage of the gurrier on 3 seperate cctv angles but no face shot..

Any inspiration let me know?

PS this thread is extraordinary..Is Dublin the bike crime capital of the world? Talk about impunity of these criminals?

How hard would it be to set up several stings of nice bikes locked in public with good camera coverage..it seems that bike crime is so pervasive that the guards would have a list of bike thieves in one night.

fast track / process / kangeroo court these criminals?!!

And apologies to all right-minded civil libertarians.
    Getting tired of soft touch policing and society's general
    acceptance of criminal behaviour in Ireland. I can't post how i would treat these f*&kers...!

Sorry to hear that. Was your bike robbed from you apartment block like the rest above?

Seems a bit strange that these professional thieves can get access to "secured" car parks on so many occasions!!

I live in the area so I'll keep an eye out for it. Would you have a picture by any chance?

Also, there was a mention of a Dublin market that these bikes tend to end up in, can't remember where it is but I'm sure someone can fill in the blanks.

DOC

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭mtdelany

Bike Stolen from Front garden in Lansdowne Village, D4.
    Similar to the below, except I had my name written on frame downtube, chainstay, front forks, wheel rims, handlebars, and my phone no on the underside. the annoying thing is it is a €200 bike that looks a lot more expensive than it is. Taken overnight on Wed 14th

485019_10150738991277387_672682386_11989509_646465575_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

streacy wrote: »
    I can understand the reluctance... both of the bikes above were bought on the Cycle-to-work scheme at Christmas so will be paying for them until the end of the year.
    I don't know if they would have been stolen to order or not but the thieves seem to me to have been a bit more organised than your average passerby. They had to get into a locked car park for a start, presumably with a van, and they obviously had some tools with them. Maybe they had scoped the place out before and knew there were some decent bikes there. In this case the main problem was that the stands weren't up to scratch not that the locks were forced. Bikes, locks, stands the lot were just missing the next day....

No lock is going to stand up to an organised group with a van and time on their hands. Not even the most expensive lock.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Lads keep an eye on adverts and gumtree... few suspicious sellers of bikes.