Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dental Phobia Support

• Registered Users Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

SingItOut wrote: »
    I've never had any good experiences with any dentist, The first major dental procedure I needed was at age 10 when I broke my front tooth in half. The female dentist said to let her know if the pain was too much and she would stop immediately. Well, as she was shoving the needle into the gum just above my tooth I was blinded with the pain so held up my hand to let her know it was too painful. She ignored me completely, she took out the needle then re-inserted it again. I tried to push her away and her male assistant held me down as she finished inserting the needle (which took her 3 attempts in total!). Aside from feeling helpless I was terrified and not one of them spoke to me throughout the whole thing.

I was told today by my GP that I need to have my gum "sliced open" and "antibiotics shoved in" for a really painful infected wisdom tooth. I've been on the verge of tears all evening just thinking about it :(

Sorry to hear you're in trouble.
    If it's a minor infected gum around the wisdom tooth, salty water rinses and corsodyl may suffice
    If ye infection is worse, oral antibiotics may be necessary.
    If very severe, some patients require a hospital stay with iv antibiotics...

Ultimately, most patients require removal of the wisdom tooth...

Sounds to me like you need to be on some antibiotics pain killers and organize to see if the tooth needs removal. If treatment is needed, iv sedation would be very nice and comfortable for you.

All the best,
    Os

• Registered Users Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I have never been a fan of the dentist, especially after getting a painful filling once. I haven't been in years, and although I haven't had a pain that has made me need to go, I know I should get a check up and a cleaning.

My problem now is in the years since my last visit I had an eating disorder, and while it hasn't been confirmed by a dentist I am sure it has done some damage to my teeth. I think my fear to go now is that I'm not yet ready to face the consequences. I also know how bad my behaviours are on health, and I guess I just don't want judgement and a lecture from the dentist. I remember the lectures I got when I was younger, I'm old enough now to know what I do and don't do to make my teeth bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 HEFC

I went to a dentist in Portlaoise after having terrible trouble with teeth after several very 'vomitty' pregnancies. He said the acid had caused the enamel on my teeth to erode and decay had set in on some teeth. He did my work under IV sedation , as I'm not great in the chair! It was brilliant ,never looked back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭flutegirl

Thought I would chip in with my two cents worth. I knew 3 years back that I would have to have one of my wisdom teeth out but as it wasn't giving me any real pain I just left it. My dentist warned me not to let it go so that I ended up in real agony. Had a bit of pain last summer and dentist referred me to a place in Sligo. Soon as pain was gone thought no more about the referral and forgot about it...until about 3 weeks back when I was in, yep, real agony.

Serous sharp pain late one Friday night (always the way ;) ) thought my head was going to fall off, awake all night, lessened a bit over the weekend but couldn't chew on that side of the mouth or mega pain returned. Finally had to admit defeat and make the appointment to get it removed.

So, had it done middle of last week. Was s@*~*ing it big time as I hadn't had a tooth out in yonks. Got into the chair and I don't know what I was freaking out about. Didn't feel a thing, the dentist explained everything as they were going along, took about 10 minutes to come out, a few stiches and bob's your uncle.

Got home and when the injection wore off I had NO PAIN whatsoever!!! Didn't need to take one painkiller at all, ever! Felt a bit rubbish that evening and the next day, but I think that was due to the worry of having it done and I was just worn out. Face was a tiny bit swollen a couple of days after and I have a small bruise which I'm quite proud of, but nothing major. Had after op check-up today and feel brilliant.

So, the moral here lads is, when you first get told you need to have a wisdom tooth out, just go and get it done, don't put it off. ;)

Oh yeah, and I used to be scared of ever going anywhere near the dentist, even for a check-up, until I found a really nice, understanding one in my town, and you know what? I actually quite like going in now...sick in the head or what!!!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭KittyMcM

Firstly, I can't believe how many appointments I've cancelled over the years! A simple filling came out nearly 5 years ago, I ignored it and I have now half a tooth left in my mouth next to a gap belonged to another tooth that broke which I also ignored.
    I decided to go for a clean last week and had so many sleepless nights beforehand but so glad I did. I knew my teeth were a disaster but the dentist was fab! She didn't lecture me and stopped after every second tooth to ask was I ok! After an x-ray she wrote out everything that had to be done with the costing and explained we could go as fast or as slow as I wanted and I could have a sedative if I needed it. She also encouraged me to bring my iPod on the next visit and if anytime I wanted it to stop I could just ask and I could come back another day if I thought it was too much, unbelieveable!
    Things really aren't as bad as we make them to be in the dentist. I havn't been for YEARS and it turns out that 5-7 visits will see them perfect. I actually felt silly for spending years dreading something that dosn't have to be so traumatic with the right dentist. We all have bad experiences, especially from childhood, but there are so many advances in dentistry. I would encourage anyone who has fears to just go for a check-up, you will be so proud of yourself when you do!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Just back from the dentist. I hadn't been for a check up in years. I had bad experiences when I was younger and had built the whole experience up to be absolutely terrifying.

It wasn't. I need two fillings - one of which I got today and I might possibly need to get three wisdom teeth out. It sounds horrible but my dentist said they can just put me under sedation and take all three out at once. I'm sure it won't be the most pleasant experience but if I need it done then it's for the best.

The filling wasn't painful at all, the injection to numb stung only a little bit and I'm still numb but honestly I didn't feel any pain. The noise of the drill was actually the most unpleasant bit!

Moral of the story - please go for a check up,I thought I would need root canals, extractions and implants. I don't (apart from wisdom teeth!) and the longer you leave it, the worse it will be! It's better to get a check up and know what the problems are than to build it up in your head while your problems worsen.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭triona1

Firstly my fear was always the injection,I have four kids and never needed pain relief during labor,But the dentist was just a terrifying idea for me.
    Not helping at one time when my husband came back from his dentist with a mouth full of stitches and agony for week's after this really scared be life out of me.

So my wedding day was nearing and wanted to get my teeth cleaned really bad so i made the call i cried after that appointment was made right up to walking in the surgery door.I sat on the chair and the dentist said let me have a look,I could not open my mouth i was that tense and stuck to the chair with pure fear.
    He realised this and asked me my worries so i told him the injection and the stitches my husband had received,He replied ill have a look and if i think any work is going to be distressing ill tell you,I said great and ill go and get knocked out and all work done he said great no bother,sure you will be grand.
    He was so right done the xray's and needed an extraction.Had to go back for more fillings went no bother at all.
    Did have some pain from the extraction so i went back and he checked it out for me and took out a tiny piece of a sandwich that was stuck in the hole,He actually said now there's the sandwich you were short for your picnic was very funny,This was in 2007.
    To this day i swear it was the trust i had in that dentist,It really helps a lot.He had also advised to have check ups every 6months so i don't get myself in a state again.

So last week i said id ring and have them checked had a cracked back tooth thought i needed a filling low and behold my dentist was gone.I asked where and everything,was very funny,He went to oz.

So i was there anyhow no choice i said feck it i'm here now.I sat in the chair told the dentist it was a check up and think i need a filling,He said grand ill have a look.I took a fit of the giggles and could not stop all through the surgery,But the more i laughed so did the dentist and then the nurse we were all in convulsion's and the dentist still working away.
    I needed an xray and turned out i could go with rc or extraction he advised specialist for rc,I said just take it out.Every bit of work done in those 20 mins was done through hysterical laughter.He said he had never done a surgery like it that it was brilliant,Normally people cry,run,scream,shake.
    He was really brilliant.The injection didn't hurt one bit.
    But i will say i hate the bit when you can see the injection right in front of your eye's so i just close them still.(I did go in with the same fear and had to explain all my fear to the new dentist).
    The receptionist had remembered me from last time and asked me what in the hell had i got done they could all here the laughter in the waiting room,I replied extraction and all the people waiting faces lit up.I will now go every 6 months as the extracted tooth could have easily been saved a few months ago.

Moral of my long post is one bad dentist can ruin everything and nothing worse than awful teeth i'd rather now just get it done and over with and never have tooth pain again.
    I have to go back for 4 more fillings and i don't mind at all.I found two great dentist in the one surgery so please don't let that childhood/Adult years dentist fear take over.There are great dentist out there still.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

not over my fears:

firstly - extractions,other phobias i have are needles,tools and tooth scrapers.i have two extractions looming over me,ive been told my two back wisdom teeth are side impacted and they are decaying and i would need to get them removed,now i have another two looming over me,i have dull aches in my tooth which is not severe pain but im told that it does progress to bigger pain as there would be an abcess occuring.im dreading it completely.ive heard people can die from extractions,one woman bled to death,another guy got a flesh eating bug,and another died during anaethetic,a boxer died from a fever after the extraction a few hours later.im dreading the whole thing completley.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

'Painless' was the last visit so i had to ask him how he did it i even wondered if he did anything ? Cocaine gum rub and a surface injection followed by another .Very thin needles .It was a filling .They have improved .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭anothernight

I'm feeling so proud of myself that I had to post it here!
    After a few years of being terrified of dentists, I decided that it was time to lose my fear. I asked around for recommendations and got the number of a dentist that was meant to be very good with nervous people (PM if you'd like details. She's great!). I couldn't sleep the night before my appointment, I was so scared! I came very close to crying a few times as I walked into the surgery.

In the end there was nothing to worry about! The dentist seemed to know exactly what to do to put me at ease, and I had to get a lot less work done than I thought, so it wasn't quite as bad as I expected. The cleaning was a little uncomfortable, but I was waiting for her to start putting in the fillings and she'd already finished! She was incredibly encouraging at every step and didn't lecture me at all, which is one of the things that always put me off about dentists.

I'm definitely going back more regularly from now on. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

there are some good dentists out there,absolutely!ive been to one recently and all i needed was a cleaning but i was told either a filling or extraction is needed for my back teeth and they would give me trouble anyway(ie abcesses,im prone to leaving things to when it gets crucial but im thinking maybe i will nip this in the bud instead of waiting for abcesses and blood poisioning ugh) so im thinking maybe extraction if not filling first,im going back again,the dentist had a good manner and not easy with me i can definately attest to that i know how i must come across!its worth looking around for a good dentist as we will need them in our lifetime and thank goodness there there,ive been to a few in the past but this one recently ive been to is going to be my permanent dentist definately,and its worth sticking to a local enough dentist,as in emergencies you will be looking local anway,the times my dentist does is even saturdays when i saw that i was impressed by the timetable,as most dentist are closed on saturdays..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,409 Mod ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

I wasn't sure whether to post here or start a new thread...

I've severe dental phobia and would rather not go into the specifics right now. I'm getting a crown done for the first time in a few weeks and I was hoping people could tell me what to expect? It'll be the first of 2 appointments so they mentioned getting a temporary crown first and then coming back to get the 'real' one. I'm just worried about drilling in particular... I can't stand the feel of little bits of teeth in my mouth and the sound/vibrations of the drill. Does anyone know if there is much involved? I read somewhere they have to 'file' down around the edge of the tooth to put the crown on; what do they use?

I already have a good dentist (up north; uses gas!), but would prefer to know the details of what to expect on the day so I don't end up having a panic attack when they tell me there and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭abceire

woodchuck wrote: »
    I wasn't sure whether to post here or start a new thread...

I've severe dental phobia and would rather not go into the specifics right now. I'm getting a crown done for the first time in a few weeks and I was hoping people could tell me what to expect? It'll be the first of 2 appointments so they mentioned getting a temporary crown first and then coming back to get the 'real' one. I'm just worried about drilling in particular... I can't stand the feel of little bits of teeth in my mouth and the sound/vibrations of the drill. Does anyone know if there is much involved? I read somewhere they have to 'file' down around the edge of the tooth to put the crown on; what do they use?

I already have a good dentist (up north; uses gas!), but would prefer to know the details of what to expect on the day so I don't end up having a panic attack when they tell me there and then.

Explain what you have said here,ask your dentist or a dental nurse to explain what they'll be doing, maybe you could ask them to ring you back when they not busy to explain. I bring my music player with me to dentist, I have the ear bud head phones and I turn it up very loud so I can't hear the drill.

abceire wrote: »
    Explain what you have said here,ask your dentist or a dental nurse to explain what they'll be doing, maybe you could ask them to ring you back when they not busy to explain. I bring my music player with me to dentist, I have the ear bud head phones and I turn it up very loud so I can't hear the drill.

Thanks for the reply! I think it was just a receptionist (or maybe dental nurse) I was talking to when I made the appointment, but she just told me the basics. Unfortunately they're only open 9-5 and it's difficult for me to talk in work even if I get them to ring me back... I often just break down in tears (I'm finally at the point where I can make an appointment without crying at least!).

I just want to know all the nitty gritty from people who have been through it themselves.

Oh and I always bring headphones, definitely recommend this to others too! It more for the distraction though, I still find the drill loud and obviously doesn't stop the vibrations. The gas helps too... the last time I was there it was a godsent, but a previous time it had almost no effect. They said it can be less effective if I've a lot of adrenaline pumping around. So I don't want to get a fright hearing about what to expect on the day :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭abceire

My dentist in Canada gave me adavan some kind of valium type drug, just took the edge off a bit, also while I am 34, I still had my girlfriend come with me, she was great, hell so great even after we split up she came to my last appointment with me! Oh and she made my appointments and then just told me the day before.
    I am not sure if the nitty gritty will help, or just give you more to worry about. Could try some counselling to find out were the phobia came from.
    I managed 3 visits, and you do feel pretty great if you can kinda over come your phobia and get what you need done done.
    Also a nice thing to do for dentist, I gave them a big fruit bowl thing that I picked up in the supermarket next to the dentist, just to say thank you, we are a little more trouble to work on, so nice to say thank you.

My dentist in Canada gave me adavan some kind of valium type drug, just took the edge off a bit, also while I am 34, I still had my girlfriend come with me, she was great, hell so great even after we split up she came to my last appointment with me! Oh and she made my appointments and then just told me the day before.
    I am not sure if the nitty gritty will help, or just give you more to worry about. Could try some counselling to find out were the phobia came from.
    I managed 3 visits, and you do feel pretty great if you can kinda over come your phobia and get what you need done done.
    Also a nice thing to do for dentist, I gave them a big fruit bowl thing that I picked up in the supermarket next to the dentist, just to say thank you, we are a little more trouble to work on, so nice to say thank you.

Thanks abceire :)

I think the nitty gritty will make me worry more initially, but I just don't want any surprises on the day itself.

I've gone to dentists a good bit in the last couple of years so I'm not as bad as I used to be, but still afraid, particularly when I'm having something new done (the crown is a first for me!). The dentist I was seeing in Dublin did prescribe me valium or something like that before, but since I'm going up north I don't think I'll be able to get something ahead of time. But definitely opting for the gas again!! (Even with the valium I found it a bit hit and miss in terms of how effective it was to be honest. The gas was definitely better than the valium when they both worked at their best.)

The OH has been great and is coming with me again for this next appointment. I used to get him to make the appointments for me, but I'm finally able to do that bit myself at least. I don't think I could handle it being sprung on me at the last minute though!! I need time to mentally prepare myself :)

That's a good suggestion, thanks :) I was thinking of doing something nice for what I hope will be my last visit alright... but for some reason I didn't think they'd appreciate a box of chocolates :P I'll keep the basket of fruit in mind :)

Oh and in terms of the counselling, while I agree it's a good idea I know of a couple of incidents from my childhood that are probably at least somewhat responsible for the phobia. (Not to mention a general attitude from my parents towards dentists growing up that definitely didn't help matters...). Doing my best to try and face my fears... won't resort to counselling just yet :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 simpleminded

thats great:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6 ashleycoldham

Here is an interesting link to a dedicated dental phobia website, it also has a discussion forum.:)

http://www.dentalfearcentral.org/
    http://www.prosthodonticsociety.ie/

This link is great. this website is really nice and have a very large network. I have another dental website to discuss every thing regarding health
    www.golivewire.com
    www.forums.studentdoctor.net

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Newonhere

I hadn't been to the dentist in over forty years following a very bad experience at the "school dentist" when I was about 9 years old. I had been left with a complete terror of anything related to the dentist. I had done everything posible to avoid dentists. My partner managed to persuade me to visit a dentist in the village to see how things had changed.
    I was very nervous waiting to go in to see the dentist and when I did get into see him I said to him that before he started to do anything that I needed to talk to him first.
    The dentist took the time to listen to my fears and my previous experience.
    I was amazed at his patience and the way that he dealt with my concerns
    After checking my teeth the dentist explained that I had been pretty lucky and that I needed just two fillings and one extraction, he arranged an appointment for me two weeks later where he carried out the required work.
    I am now completely without fear when visiting the dentist and am embarrassed about how I avoided the dentist for so long.
    I now visit every 6 months for my regular check up.
    I hope that this serves as an encouragement for others to try to face up to their phobia concerning dentists.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭countrynosebag

How did you manage to have the treatment? Did he put you out?
    You were exceptionally brave but i am shaking writing this.....not good eh!

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭crazyginlady

Starting my dental treatments tomorrow it's going to be a long road. I needed Valium just to get me through the check up and now I'm facing fillings , a wisdom teeth extraction and an appointment with a peredondist .

I opted to start with the wisdom teeth as the pain is horrific and I'm assuming the healing will take time . I've opted for sedation but I've no idea how they will do it . I'm literally up all night worrying about it . Would it be worth binging my music with me or will I even be aware of it under sedation ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I've had other non dental procedures done under IV and i had no awareness.

You'll get the injection of sedative, start counting and then you'll be out for the count. Honestly try not to worry!

Thanks for that. I cant honesty understand why I'm so frightened it's silly I've had children ,surgery in my eye while awake and yet this is terrifying me . I think for a while it was also shame about the absolute state of my teeth and imagining the lectures but so far everyone's been understanding and kind about it and reassured me its not as bad as I think .

I find that hard to believe but it's lovely to hear all the same .

• Registered Users Posts: 7 HEFC

Hi, I work in a dental practice that carries out sedation, we provide a leaflet to our patients that are undergoing sedation. All surgeries that operate sedation should do so.
    If you would like me to send you a copy, just private message me your email, so I can send PDf to you.

That's so kind of you . I would really appreciate that thank you

helimachopter
    where did you get the iv please?
    I really appreciate good teeth but so much as a child in various institutions has wrecked me in this department for life - unless I get gas or iv I am sunk!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

helimachopter
    where did you get the iv please?
    I really appreciate good teeth but so much as a child in various institutions has wrecked me in this department for life - unless I get gas or iv I am sunk!

It wasnt for any dental work, it was for something else :eek::eek::eek:

I can recommend a place if you want?

HEFC
    I am not tekkie and I have no idea how to private message you mr email for leaflet....if you wrote it something like
    1. press this or write this and you will see
    2. press blah and see this
    awfully sorry for nuisance but no lessons - so just muddle through here on my first computer ever.....many pensioners are the same position I think so please be patient.
    thank you

helimachopter
    thank you so much
    all the info is welcome and I would love to go asap but without knowledge of horrors!

What treatment do you need country?