Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,259 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

liam7831 wrote: »
    Ye usually go weak at the knees at the sight of green and gold in dublin....

I'd love to play Kerry again this year.

Thrilling win for Cork today - semi-final of the all Ireland, fúcking delighted.:D

I was confident of a win beforehand. We really should have scored more goals in the first half. The subs Cork brought on were hugely impressive I thought.

To come from 3 down and win like that is great for a team that are so inexperienced. In the last 10 mins it could have went either way, but it didn't:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Great to see ye beat the blaaas, Waterford have nothing on the bench, should make a good semi final to young teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Great win.Deserved.Lehane was not missed as much as I thought and subs were excellent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,259 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

yomtea98 wrote: »
    Great win.Deserved.Lehane was not missed as much as I thought and subs were excellent.

Well his replacement did well enough:)

Lehane is the kind of player who could really use the size of Croker to his advantage.

Delighted Seán Óg did well yesterday. I was genuinely thrilled when he drilled over his point. Some people were probably waiting for him to be crap so they could roll out the too old, slow etc line. He might not get his game the next day, but I hope he plays in croker again at some stage this year.

McDonnell did quite well at full back I thought and will probably get the nod for the semi. This is a problem position for us but he was far more assured than what we've had there in previous games.

Our full forward line are so dangerous in posession, all we need to do is work out how to get the ball to them:D - if only that was easy!

Kildare on Sunday will be an interesting game. A few cobwebs will surely have some effect on Cork but over 70 odd mins - we really should be winning this one. In 2 minds about going, pub is a tempting option. A win would mean travelling for both the hurling and football semis, but having the second game aswell might just mean rounding up a car load for Sunday morning.
    Decisions, decisions:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    A win would mean travelling for both the hurling and football semis, but having the second game aswell might just mean rounding up a car load for Sunday morning.
    Decisions, decisions:D

Its a terrible affliction being a rebel and having such difficult decisions to make. :D

SeaFields wrote: »
    Its a terrible affliction being a rebel and having such difficult decisions to make. :D

True, wouldn't have it any other way...good job City play half their games at home:D

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭sheao

The strengh in depth which the Cork squad had got us over the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 cuttothechase

Who got man of the match in the Waterford game lads? I was on a stag at the weekend so hadn't the clearest of heads for the Cork game.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Who got man of the match in the Waterford game lads? I was on a stag at the weekend so hadn't the clearest of heads for the Cork game.

Molumphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Will there be trains for Sundays game

Cork team is as follows.............

1. Alan Quirke

2. Ray Carey 3. Michael Shields 4. Eoin Cadogan

5. Paudie Kissane 6. Graham Canty 7. Noel O'Leary

8. Alan O'Connor 9. Aidan Walsh

10. Fintan Goold 11. Ciaran Sheehan 12. Paul Kerrigan

13. Colm O'Neill 14. Donncha O'Connor 15. Nicholas Murphy

Good to see Canty back, that forward line will surely do damage.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I predict about three changes to that line up before the game!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

hows Goulding shaping up, could he be in contention for a starting place, maybe instead of Nicholas Murphy?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

If Cork win this one and Kerry lose the following the game, it will round off a beautiful day at Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

liam7831 wrote: »
    Ye usually go weak at the knees at the sight of green and gold in dublin....

That's not going to last for ever. The last 3 games since 2008 have been very close.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    hows Goulding shaping up, could he be in contention for a starting place, maybe instead of Nicholas Murphy?

Will be lucky to remain on the panel from what i've heard! Have either Kerrigan or Pa Kelly been considered at wing back? We now have an abundance of young forwards and to be fair to our current half back line their best days are behind them

• Registered Users Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I predict about three changes to that line up before the game!

Indeed, you'd want to be out of your mind not to start Paddy Kelly. The guy is the most underrated player in the country, such a complete footballer.

Also don't know quite how Fintan Gould is keeping his place ahead of some of the players on the bench if that team is correct.

Will be lucky to remain on the panel from what i've heard! Have either Kerrigan or Pa Kelly been considered at wing back? We now have an abundance of young forwards and to be fair to our current half back line their best days are behind them

I could not see either as a defender really. They both need a bit of freedom to play their game, not sure they would be any good as defenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

What is that about?? Goulding??

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Great to see ye beat the blaaas, Waterford have nothing on the bench, should make a good semi final to young teams

a Tipp man suuporting Cork! Jaysus!

comeraghs wrote: »
    a Tipp man suuporting Cork! Jaysus!

He had a choice of supporting Cork or Waterford - he picked the winner;)

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

closeline wrote: »

How u mean he is lucky to be on the panel ?

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

keane2097 wrote: »
    Indeed, you'd want to be out of your mind not to start Paddy Kelly. The guy is the most underrated player in the country, such a complete footballer.

Also don't know quite how Fintan Gould is keeping his place ahead of some of the players on the bench if that team is correct.

Paddy Kelly was injured, hamstring I think, depends on how well he reecovered from it - met him about three weeks ago and he was limping badly.

TopOfTheRight, what the hell are you on about with regard Goulding???

Who? Keeping in mind Kelly is injured.

Orizio wrote: »
    Who? Keeping in mind Kelly is injured.

Oh deary me it's a slight misspelling! Thank god you had nothing better to do than point it out or it might have gone entirely unnoticed.

...the ****? :confused:

As an aside, lot of people stating that Ciaran Sheehan may be moved back to 6 in the coming years. Think it'll have to happen if Damien Cahalane sticks to the hurling only.

Orizio wrote: »
    ...the ****? :confused:

My bad, I thought the "Who?" was a jibe at misspelling Goold!

FWIW I'd suggest Kelly and Goulding are both much better than him although if Kelly is injured the argument isn't really worth having.

My bad, I thought the "Who?" was a jibe at misspelling Goold!

FWIW I'd suggest Kelly and Goulding are both much better than him although if Kelly is injured the argument isn't really worth having.

No, I spell it Gould as well, don't know if that is right or wrong really. With Kelly out, the only other options are Collins or Pearse O'Neill for half-forward, I'd start Gould personally, nice footballer, nice finisher and great under the dropping ball although he does slow the game down too much at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

closeline wrote: »

Word from the camp is he's been very poor in training, contributes very little from play, obvious still one of the best dead ball specialists in the country