Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

tk123 wrote: »
    Thats normally - tomorrow he'll look like a skeleton and all the do-gooders will point out he's too skinny! :rolleyes::pac:

He's all fluff so that might hide it a bit. :D

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

reallyrose wrote: »
    Spent €200 on cat stuff on Zooplus last night. :eek:

I decided to list what we got so I can be enabled...

Cat tunnel for hiding in
    Several feather-onna-sticks
    Squeaky mouse
    Fancy litter tray
    Cat Hammock
    Huuuuge scratching post
    Then some fancy elk food for the Large one and fancy Poultry and Fish food for the Little one.

They're going to love it when their new cardboard boxes arrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I was working at a pet show from Friday-Sunday, which was 2.5 hours away, hence 5 hours driving each day, then talking to people all day. I've still not recovered, am exhausted and my voice is just beginning to come back. A sign of old age I think, I need to realise I'm not in my 20s anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

reallyrose wrote: »
    I decided to list what we got so I can be enabled...

Cat tunnel for hiding in
    Important to have hiding places

Several feather-onna-sticks
    Saves your hands from attack, always keep toys far from fingers

Squeaky mouse
    Practice for bringing you gifts

Fancy litter tray
    Saves smells and litter getting everywhere

Cat Hammock
    Errrrm, mines in the cupboard as they only used it once, but looks pretty

Huuuuge scratching post
    Saves your furniture, great investment, no more jumping on your head while you're watching TV!

Then some fancy elk food for the Large one and fancy Poultry and Fish food for the Little one.
    Investment in your kitties health, good food is essential.

They're going to love it when their new cardboard boxes arrive.

Will you adopt me too reallyrose?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

I am so happy.
    Since we lost our two elderly dogs late last year, we have been down to one dog who is a bit intellectually-challenged (or maybe our other dogs were super smart!) and anxious and freaks out when another dog comes into our house.
    We usually have house sitters come to feed the animals twice/day and walk the dogs, when we go away. Since we only have 1 anxious-ish dog, this has not been possible. So today, I took him to a doggie daycare session at a nearby kennel, that has been recommended to me, to see how he got on. We are going away for the weekend, and I want to find a solution for leaving him in a kennel/whatever.
    Anyway, dropped him off to a lovely lady, there were about 10-12 other dogs there - all loose in a massive well fenced garden, her house doors all open for access. So off my poor chap went - delighted with the other dogs - no growling/messing/posing etc. They were all the same size dogs - so cute - picked him up later & he was so relaxed and good and happy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,016 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Two little sh1ts in St Anne's this morning egging each other on to kick their football at Bailey and Lucy :mad: Mummy and Daddy smiling over at their little darlings until I told the kids what would happen to them and their ball if they kicked it near the dogs! Slacker parents!!! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

I'm dangerously close to entering failed fosterer territory! Have to hand Freya back on Tuesday and I'm already feeling like I'm handing back one of my own. Going on holidays at the end of the week so she has to go someplace anyways but it's going to feel strange coming home to only 1 cat again! And herself and Jesse get on so well together.

Somebody talk some sense into me!! I can't fail at the first foster kitten!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Zapperzy wrote: »
    I'm dangerously close to entering failed fosterer territory! Have to hand Freya back on Tuesday and I'm already feeling like I'm handing back one of my own. Going on holidays at the end of the week so she has to go someplace anyways but it's going to feel strange coming home to only 1 cat again! And herself and Jesse get on so well together.

Why would it be bad to keep her? Why would it be good to keep her?

Go with your gut instinct. Do anything else and you'll be thinking "what if?" for a long time!

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Zapperzy wrote: »

see this is why I dont want to be a fosterer!
    As I see it being a FAILED fosterer is a win/win! :D
    If you feel this way about Freya going back then DONT give her back!

Jesse and Freya are friends - you cant deprive Jesse of her buddy?!?!
    You cant rehome Freya when she is happy with you and Jesse, and you dont want to give her back
    If you are going away on holiday, Freya will keep Jesse company in your absence!
    All win/win really
    There! Have I talked some sense in to you?!?!? :D

Oh Zapperzy I thought you were tough!! :p This is why I wonder if we really could take on a puppy to socialise then hand it back. I think I could knowing it was going to a child.. but know it'd be a bit heartbreaking at the same time!

Anyways looooooook - SPACE!!!! The liner is a bit manky with sand and muck and it's before I put the vet bed back in - which I think I'll have to change as it's straw/gold colour and doesn't really fit in now lol!!! :pac: The dogs are delighted with it!

357233.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Henry had his first vet on Saturday. He was quite good but very wiggley - at one stage he was trying to climb the wall beside the vet's computer while the vet was filling in his details.

Better behaved than Swanson ever was though!

The two cats are getting on well, they play together. Swanson just has to give Henry the odd box to keep him in line. :pac:

We're watching Emmerdale and one of the characters was crying - Lucy looked up and watched it for a min then turned around and cried to us lol!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Have to bring Kovu in to the vet again for another LA injection, three weeks in the collar now! While on the phone to the vet, she asked if he'd stopped going up to the attic, which he has at it must have been irritating his leg.

Anyway after I hung up, I turned to mum and said ''Thank feck Conehead has forgotten about the attic, he's not looked to get up for over a week!''
    And Kovu, who had been lying on the kitchen floor, got up and walked out of the kitchen up the hallway and started looking up and miaowing. The brat knows the word attic!! :pac:

Amelia just posted in the Dublin forum.

She typed "N", and posted it.

I deleted it, it didn't seem relevant to the discussion.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

Just back from holiday late last night, very strange to come back to a house with no dogs. I can't pick them up until later this morning! Have to say as much as I love them and enjoy doggie cuddles, it's lovely not to have dog hair everywhere and to find stuff in the same place I left it!
    Only a fleeting thought though, can't wait to get the 2 troublemakers home!

angeldaisy wrote: »
    Just back from holiday late last night, very strange to come back to a house with no dogs. I can't pick them up until later this morning! Have to say as much as I love them and enjoy doggie cuddles, it's lovely not to have dog hair everywhere and to find stuff in the same place I left it!
    Only a fleeting thought though, can't wait to get the 2 troublemakers home!

I'm the same when I come back. You like the peace and quiet... then it's TOO quiet lol!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Anyone want to house Opie while I go on holidays?
    I promise we will come back for him :pac:

I'm currently out of the country and miss the furry monsters, very quiet without them, hope to be home in a few days if all goes well. Can't wait to get them home, I even miss Ruby's wailing!

Well got them back home and they've had a ball!! Got told that they were lovely affectionate dogs if a bit bouncy. Which I interpreted as nice but mental!!

I forgot to leave food for them, so their coats are a bit flaky. Just shows the difference food can make!

Elly is asleep as close to me as she can get without actually sitting on me and Tara is asleep in the sunshine.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

We have two big ant hills in our garden and they seem worse than ever last year. The three cats are being eaten alive by them because they're silly and like to sleep on/beside the hills. Cream and Dude are both on antibiotics and have to wear cones, and all three of them are on steroids for the itching! I won't let my parents call out rent o kill because the chemicals would be damaging to the cats too, but I'm really getting fed up of all these ants and my poor itchy cats! Only good thing is that the ants haven't come into the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭ACD

Yesterday I made my first ever homemade treats for our dogs, they are killing themselves for them, guess that couple hours I spent making them paid off :D

ACD wrote: »
    Yesterday I made my first ever homemade treats for our dogs, they are killing themselves for them, guess that couple hours I spent making them paid off :D

I made a big batch a few months ago and gave my friend a bag for her dog - dried sweet potato and strips of turkey etc. He managed to open the press where she had them and robbed the lot! :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭muddypaws

ACD wrote: »

What did you make? My lot love the beef jerky I'm now making for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭ACD

I made liver-cheese-spinach cookies, used rice flour instead of wheat. They are quite big, so I break them into small pieces when I use them for training. Would love to do jerky, but have to buy a dehydrator first, I tried once in the oven, but it didn't turn out that great... Maybe I did something wrong :)

muddypaws wrote: »
    What did you make? My lot love the beef jerky I'm now making for them.

Beef stir fry strips on offer in Lidl atm!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

We have two big ant hills in our garden and they seem worse than ever last year. The three cats are being eaten alive by them because they're silly and like to sleep on/beside the hills. Cream and Dude are both on antibiotics and have to wear cones, and all three of them are on steroids for the itching! I won't let my parents call out rent o kill because the chemicals would be damaging to the cats too, but I'm really getting fed up of all these ants and my poor itchy cats! Only good thing is that the ants haven't come into the house.

Buy a bag of popping corn and grind it to powder before dousing the anthills. One of those internet tips that apparently works!

just did a bit of brain training with my two, we have one of those toys that you hide food either under a slider or under a little cover.

Elly, the super intelligent collie x(:eek:) , managed the sliders but really struggled with the covers, resorting to attempting to scratch the food out.

Tara, the jrt / daschund x,did it with no problems, neatly lifting off the covers with her teeth.

Will be interesting to do it another day and see if she improves!

Lucy puked up the night before last - tripe and salmon mix that day so nice and stinky. She's just woken me up there about to puke again jumped up out of my sleep with a towel sending poor Bailey jumpong out of his bed (he's on the bottom ('bunk'). She doesn't really get the whole puking on a towel think so I had to keep moving it under her and she's move her head... Anyways job done she pukes and I bag up the towel and put a bath towel over the bed. Both waiting for me on the landing while I left the towel down in the kitchen in for the morning. Come back up and they both decide they're sleeping on my bed after the trauma.. Eh grand but there's just one problem with their sleeping formation - where am I supposed it fit!? :p

We're home!
    Picked up two very tired dogs, Oliver got his fav toy and went and got in my bed!
    I painted the windowsills as the cats aren't being collected until tomorrow, finally got them done, they better dry quick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Mix equal parts baking soda and icing sugar and scatter around the ant areas. The ants will eat it and it kills them. It's cheap and non toxic to pets and other wildlife.