Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Scrapyards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 garda210

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Snaggerman

Mods,
    any chance of stickying this? The list of breakers on page 2 is invaluable, I keep coming back time and time again. Getting harder to find as it gets older tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 64,548 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Snaggerman wrote: »
    Mods, any chance of stickying this?

You can find this thread, along with numerous other useful links, in the charter (stickied) :)

This forum used to have half the first page taken up by stickies, but no more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

do you know of any biker scrapyards???

ARTANE DISMANTLERS.
    RERE 12 UPR,ARTANE COTTAGES,
    ARTANE,
    DUBLIN 5.
    01 8318021

BRIAN TIPP.
    087-6657224.

FIRST CHOICE BREAKERS.
    CRONEBEG,
    AUGHRIM,
    CO,WICKLOW.
    (0402) 36323

PREMIER MOTORCYCLES.
    98 EMMET RD KILMAINHAM,
    DUBLIN 8.
    01-4531138.

MERLIN BIKE BREAKERS.
    AUGHGRIM,
    CO WICKLOW.
    086-2664503.

KNOCKNAMARA BIKE BREAKERS.
    KNOCNAMARA,
    CO.WICKLOW.
    087-2467041.

JIMMY MEERE MOTORCYCLES
    BALLYGRIFFEY
    RUAN
    ENNIS
    CO CLARE.
    065 6837088

GOREY BREAKERS.

CITY SPARES.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

The biggest scrapyard i was ever at is McBrides of Hugginstown South Kilkenny, don't have the number.

Jaysus:eek: dont tell me you come down from kildare to hugginstown for car parts. He must be loaded:rolleyes: I see him taking out a LARGE roll of notes from his pocket, must be at least 3 grand in it:(. Answers 3 or 4 phones at the same time, dont know how he does it. Customer service needs brushing up also:D.Wide selection of vehicles alright.

Oh s**t didnt realize this is an old thread

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭B11gt00e

jimmyw wrote: »

Oh s**t didnt realize this is an old thread

An oldie but a goodie.

Traynors. I went their once to pick up an engine. They had feckin' supercars like ferrari there. Everything stacked up for miles.

A mecca for the knacker within.

... More impressive then Giza:pac:

Ya'd wanna bring your Hiace and a bib!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 64,548 ✭✭✭✭unkel

B11gt00e wrote: »
    An oldie but a goodie.

Traynors. I went their once to pick up an engine. They had feckin' supercars like ferrari there. Everything stacked up for miles.

A mecca for the knacker within.

... More impressive then Giza:pac:

Ya'd wanna bring your Hiace and a bib!!!

LOL :D

You can check their stock online too. They have 2 Porsche 928s

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭spooky donkey

great thread lots of usefull info. I just got a gear box from traynors there last week. Put it in my car and it sweet. Thanks for all the info lads.

Oh I dont think I saw mention of Summer Hill Spares they are in Coolock I got some good stuff off them when they used to be in Ballymun...

[

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭_DMac_

Anyone know of any other scrap yards around Kerry. Need a heater blower for a 06 new model punto. 220 + vat from dealer is a bit saucy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Try Relihans on the Listowel road about 6 miles fromTralee. Don't have a number but it's probably in the phone book. Heading towards Listowel from Tralee, take the first right after Brennan's funeral home

T

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

TigerTim wrote: »
    Try Relihans on the Listowel road about 6 miles fromTralee. Don't have a number but it's probably in the phone book. Heading towards Listowel from Tralee, take the first right after Brennan's funeral home

T
    These boys have gone seriously upmarket since the days of the scrappage scheme (no more trecks up the fields tripping over Capris and the like sadly:(), but are usually good for modern stuff. Tom is the owner nowadays and hes usually there.
    You will get a number if you Google it.

They were my first port of call. Go to them for most everything but they don't have any so I'm back to square one again. Thanks though

Maybe try John Ahern in Tournafulla, Limerick (069)81171.
    Or Treacys in Killorglin, Kerry(066)9762204

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Kinsella's Car Dismantlers
    Red Cow, Naas Rd, Dublin
    Tel: (01)4640726

It's just off the M50 (Naas Road junction), across from the Red Cow hotel. Prices are fairly good, and it's one of the few places left that lets you browse around the yard by yourself.

They occasionally have a few older/classic cars there aswell.

When my Opel Senator was stolen it was brought to these guys on a back of a truck(counsel had it lifted before the local constabulary found it).

I went down to get the new battery and alloys with brand new bridgestone Turanza and potenza tyres along with my belongings from the car as the little b@stards had smashed it up and set the boot on fire, so it was no good to anybody.

Got to the yard and found the car(Tyres/alloys and battery all still in very good nick) and was told I would need the log book and ID before I could take anything off the car,,fair enough.

Went home and got everything needed. Got back to the yard and found the car stripped and was told that the car came in like that.

A shower of B@stards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

thanks for the "feedback" hairmyan. You can't beat personal experience :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

are those scrapyards as photographed by Scrawb on his Flickr page still open? or have they been cleared :(

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭acier

hairyman wrote: »
    When my Opel Senator was stolen it was brought to these guys on a back of a truck(counsel had it lifted before the local constabulary found it).

I went down to get the new battery and alloys with brand new bridgestone Turanza and potenza tyres along with my belongings from the car as the little b@stards had smashed it up and set the boot on fire, so it was no good to anybody.

Got to the yard and found the car(Tyres/alloys and battery all still in very good nick) and was told I would need the log book and ID before I could take anything off the car,,fair enough.

Went home and got everything needed. Got back to the yard and found the car stripped and was told that the car came in like that.

A shower of B@stards.

Which scrapyard was it? the one at the front near the road or the one behind it? I know Bobby who has the one behind (furthest from the road), doesn't sound like something he'd do.
    It used to be one big yard but now is split in two, Bobby (a gent IMO, with no time for gobsh1tes) has the one furthest from the road and his brother( don't know him, had one dealing with him , never again) has the one nearest the road.
    Anyone near Navan/Kells I'd recommend Caldwells on the Oldcastle road out of Kells 046 9243919

• Registered Users Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭TigerTim

These boys have gone seriously upmarket since the days of the scrappage scheme (no more trecks up the fields tripping over Capris and the like sadly:(), but are usually good for modern stuff. Tom is the owner nowadays and hes usually there.
    You will get a number if you Google it.

Heard they'd gone upmarket allright. Used to like it when the "Gander" had it & you could wander about.

T.

Don't ever call him gander. He hates that. He's still up there. I've pften met him. And you can still wander around up there if your a regular

Its not the same, its too organised, not like the old days as below..

Scrapyards_0001.jpg

Scrapyards_0002.jpg

Scrapyards_0006.jpg

Scrapyards_0003.jpg

Scrapyards_0007.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭bugsntinas

great shots there.anyone used any scrapyards in mallow?

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭junkyarddog

bugsntinas wrote: »
    great shots there.anyone used any scrapyards in mallow?

Yes Mike Fenton in Slugerra cross,near white church.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

acier wrote: »
    Which scrapyard was it? the one at the front near the road or the one behind it? I know Bobby who has the one behind (furthest from the road), doesn't sound like something he'd do.
    It used to be one big yard but now is split in two, Bobby (a gent IMO, with no time for gobsh1tes) has the one furthest from the road and his brother( don't know him, had one dealing with him , never again) has the one nearest the road.
    Anyone near Navan/Kells I'd recommend Caldwells on the Oldcastle road out of Kells 046 9243919

Its the one nearest the road, dealt with a fella wearing the thickest glasses I have ever seen.
    He was lucky I did not turn them into contact's.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

Does anyone have any evperience with the breakers in the Donegal/Derry area?

I'm needing a new mirror and another few bits and the ones I've tried haven't even heard of my car.
    Its on 01 Agila. Opel or Vauxhall.

I've tried one in Ballybofey and Tullyally.
    Phoned one in Dongloe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

G Luxel wrote: »
    are those scrapyards as photographed by Scrawb on his Flickr page still open? or have they been cleared :(

Ger is still flying the flag ... I was there a couple of months back. I think he's had it with people who expect stuff for nothing, and once he realises you're not there to yank him about he's 100% sound. Very decent fella and very obliging.

He's doing what he has to do to keep the Exceptionally Poxy Antagonists at bay, but most of the stuff that's getting crushed has had it anyway from decades in the open! Still quite a selection there though!

Tip: Don't enter his yard in a 'slammed' VW :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Onkle wrote: »
    Kilcock car dismantlers, savage place. Lets you go and get the bits yourself
    I'm surprised any place lets you do this these days with insurance liabilities etc. Years ago people were handed tools to help themselves to grab motorcycle parts at City Spares when they were in the former location at Francis St, that soon stopped when people were grabbing stuff and not paying for it. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭mk1esc

the number for mc brides in kilkenny is 056 7768684......great place for older cars as he used to bring in alot from nz/ oz etc.....he is pretty expensive IMO...but still has alot of stuff....well he did a few years back....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭2.8trooper

i went to mcbrides when i was working in callan for a look rang him up as he had some ford classics for sale they arent at the scrapyard but in a yard in hugginstown,bit of a rough man alright big beard and always on the phone.
    anyway went to the yard and in the big shed is about 40 or 50 classics,escorts,capris,cortinas,viva,old rover p6,p5,p4 triumph heralds etc all his prices were way over the top most of the escorts were oz imports and not as straight as you would imagine.
    got no pics as i was escorted around by a gent who couldnt speak or wouldnt not sure which.

mk1esc wrote: »
    the number for mc brides in kilkenny is 056 7768684......great place for older cars as he used to bring in alot from nz/ oz etc.....he is pretty expensive IMO...but still has alot of stuff....well he did a few years back....:D

One of the lads down here bought an ex Oz 120Y Coupe from him, and another guy a KE35 Corolla. That was back in the good times tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭mk1esc

hahaha......he showed me around the shed with all the cars in it....i was looking for an escort van at the time, he wanted 5k for it an wouldnt budge on the price...i was gonna offer 2k max but way over priced...it was the one that was on done deal a couple of times....the navy one...that owner did a good job on it....:D.....

when you take into cosideration buying the vehicle in nz/ oz, then shipping it, then transporting it to his place you can see why his prices are high....id say he was making around 1k -1.5k a car.....he was one of those guys who could afford to do it though