Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The things you see in a bookie shop

• 11-05-2012 6:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭

I was in the bookies yesterday and I have seen this bloke before and he does get very agitated during races but after some race around half six he let out a groan and with a tightly closed fist he punched himself full blast into the side of his face, it sounded like he broke his jaw, was mental looking.

I have never seen anything like it but I don't think he was handling the pressure well....

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Saw a guy fast asleep a few years ago Xmas time. He woke up with a start took out his weapon filled the ash tray and sprayed the rest of the table and a good area of carpet . He was escorted off the premises too gently in my opinion

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Ive been around the bookies for years, seen it all at this stage.
    Seen a Ladbrokes chair been fired at a t.v, seen lots of fights, have seen human **** on the floor of bookies etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carly_86

I work in the betting industry and i have seen all that plus more what does be going through peoples head

• Registered Users Posts: 10,610 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

what does be going through peoples head

Amazing what a bad loss and/or a few drinks will do :eek:

In the old days, they used to have cleaners, now most of the staff do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

In one of my bar jobs, next to a bookie I would literally be in the bookies every day most of the day learning how to throw my wages away on great tips from the knowledgable chaps who can barely afford a pack of fags! (should have told me something eh) But to say they were some of the funniest days of my life would be an understatement, the things the degenerates do while under pressure can be fun to watch.

There was one guy, I would pop in on my way back from the shop with the paper in the morning, he would already be in there, hand full of dockets, more ripped up on the ground at his feet screaming at virtual dogs! Telling me he was already down 180, how the fcuk would you let yourself get to that stage!

Thankfully that guy sorted himself out and is doing well now, very rarely ventures into the bookies, delighted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Worst thing I have done is fired my pint at the tv when a horse got chinned on the line by a 50/1 shot ridden by Danny Grant, my friends cousin who said none of his mounts had a peep that day, had a grand on the horse (had won huge at Cheltenham with a 40/1 winning tip from connections of a hrse, Hairy Molly in the bumper), biggest bet I have ever had on one and will ever have on one. Rarely bet on them these days. Mostly sports bets, and drastically reduced stakes :)

Around the same time Phil Mickleson shat his pants when having a huge lead in a tournament, cant remember which, just remember ploughing 700 on him when it looked like he had it in the bag, then he fell to pieces on the back 9! Both of those events together had a terrible effect on me. Didnt have another bet for a year :) Felt I was becoming one of the degenerates :)

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭torres9kop

I was in the bookies on sep 11th 2001 the day the twin towers got hit and after first tower hit this lad ran in and said ' quick put on sky news, so they put it on one of the screens just as the second tower got it. I was there in amazement at what was going on but every oul lad in there glanced at sky news for 2 seconds then back to the racing as if nothing happened. Just proves gamblers couldnt giv a **** whats going on around them other than the horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carly_86

okidoki987 wrote: »
    what does be going through peoples head

Amazing what a bad loss and/or a few drinks will do :eek:

In the old days, they used to have cleaners, now most of the staff do it.
    I have cleaned up a lot of human s**t and dogs as well and vomit. One guy came in with a slab of cider sat down sparked a fag and started drinking the guards where called. There shouldn't be toilets in bookies. Men have serious bowel movements

• Registered Users Posts: 34,034 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Worked in bookies as summer job 7-8 years ago.

Loved it cause people coming in had great inside information so was handy to win few quid. Must have won 5grand and got me through college the next term.

Got few that used get worked up about virtual racing of all things.

They be there cursing the jockey as if twas Ruby on the flipping thing.

It really gave me insight though into the what and what not to do in bets.

People doing Lucky 15's, Union Jacks etc are wasting there time on betting. You have no chance.

Singles and ew is way to go otherwise you are on the way to poor house.

Exchanges are way now especially for bigger prices

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

as if nothing happened. Just proves gamblers couldnt giv a **** whats going on around them other than the horses

Go to Vegas :eek:.
    Seen a bloke nearly choking to death after eating something which stuck in his throat and loads of people continued to play the slots all around him.
    Was just waiting for someone to say "are you finished on the machine?".

as if nothing happened. Just proves gamblers couldnt giv a **** whats going on around them other than the horses

Go to Vegas :eek:.
    Seen a bloke nearly choking to death after eating something which stuck in his throat and loads of people continued to play the slots all around him.
    Was just waiting for someone to say "are you finished on the machine?".
    Hahaha mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Popped into Ladbrokes in Abbey St,D1 today after work. Some guy pissed out of his head in there ranting. They have an English teller who was changing the afternoon RP sheets to the evening meets. Yo man was ranting "get out of my country ye English bast?rd, the RA will get you" etc.etc. Then he started putting his head in his jacket and started talking to a non-existant walkie-talkie or something saying "are you at the station, im in the bookies, lets get him" referring to the English guy. He done this a few times. It was so stupid, it was funny. For anyone that knows it, it is one of the stinkiest bookies in town.

Every bookies have a core of ol lads who "know" everything especially after the race is over. They show each other original slips with the winning horses name on it saying "ah i was just going up yo the counter" etc.. These are the same guys that never seem to have a bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

kryogen wrote: »
    Worst thing I have done is fired my pint at the tv when a horse got chinned on the line by a 50/1 shot ridden by Danny Grant, my friends cousin who said none of his mounts had a peep that day, had a grand on the horse (had won huge at Cheltenham with a 40/1 winning tip from connections of a hrse, Hairy Molly in the bumper), biggest bet I have ever had on one and will ever have on one. Rarely bet on them these days. Mostly sports bets, and drastically reduced stakes :)

throwing a pint at the tv is a pretty sad imo,i would be ashamed to do such a thing regardless of loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Anyone else reading this thread and thinking of the toilets in Trainspotting?

Anyway, bringing children into bookie shops and making them stay all day while their lazy parent blows what money they have

The child begging to leave but there is always one more race....

A bookie shop is no place for a child

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Anyone else reading this thread and thinking of the toilets in Trainspotting?

Anyway, bringing children into bookie shops and making them stay all day while their lazy parent blows what money they have

The child begging to leave but there is always one more race....

A bookie shop is no place for a child

And giving them a pen and some dockets to draw on and thinking this will entertain them. Totally scummy thing to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

If what I've heard is to be believed, even Virtual Jockeys can give a favourite a bad ride

Thats funny. I just got a great tip for the 7.52 at steepledowns tonite. 10/1

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

witnessed someone put €20 on Kuyt to score over 20 goals in the season, and he did this just before Christmas so half the season was over and I don't think he had even gotten 1 goal by then.. needless to say the guy working in the bookies nearly wetting himself laughing when reading it aloud to the shop

was kinda cruel, but my god :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

People doing Lucky 15's, Union Jacks etc are wasting there time on betting. You have no chance.

e/w lucky 15's with "bad e/w races" worked well for me when shops were giving guaranteed prices on multiples.