Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating.. *See Mod Note in Post 112*

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DaveMur1

It's actually horrible the amount of cheating go on.
    I blame the SEC , put 5 of us in a room with one old woman.
    Honestly, I don't care because I know im doing better than all them anyway, here's a few ways I seen in the last week;

Phone, in answer booklet, at their sides, anywhere can find.

Swapping short questions, had to admit was funny seeing two booklets being swapped in geography , unaware to supervisor in her own world.

Prepared points in back calculator.

Having their own log tabes; Go in log tabes in hoody take off hoody thrownew log tabes in hoody, their own then appear on the desk.

Slipping pages into answer booklet then copying material down.

Pencil case, notes just looking up at them. Also in geography exam , having pencil cases designed with maps of america & Ireland drawn is hardly fair.

I really don't care though the people cheating look like their spending way too much exam time acting suspicious to get anywhere near a decent grade!

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭sideways83

wel lads have only read through a bit of this thread.
    but just be aware dont be given too much away/.
    this is after all a public site.
    dont want anyone shooting themselves in the foot:)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 LaDeeDaa

Just finished my 4th day of exams and can tell you now I could of got straight A's if I wished to cheat.

-Our superintendent hands out our answer-booklets 40mins before each exam starts while we are sitting at our desks with all books and materials doing last minute revision. i.e lets all write a heap of stuff in them.

-Or why not get some help of the superintendent. Girl sitting across from me was working away at her graph in maths. Superintendent walking around, stops at her desk, points on her graph, whispers something in her ear to which she replies 'Oh, thanks a mill!'. THEN, walks away and returns back a minute later to check that she changed it right!

Its actually shocking how unprofessional he is!
    Also are superintendents allowed to leave the room, for i dont no what!, on several occasions throughout an exam and tell the supervisor outside(a 5th year student) to supervise for a while?

-The fact he falls asleep probably won't phase you's at this stage!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Catacomb

DaveMur1 wrote: »
    It's actually horrible the amount of cheating go on.
    I blame the SEC , put 5 of us in a room with one old woman.
    Honestly, I don't care because I know im doing better than all them anyway, here's a few ways I seen in the last week;

Phone, in answer booklet, at their sides, anywhere can find.

Swapping short questions, had to admit was funny seeing two booklets being swapped in geography , unaware to supervisor in her own world.

Prepared points in back calculator.

Having their own log tabes; Go in log tabes in hoody take off hoody thrownew log tabes in hoody, their own then appear on the desk.

Slipping pages into answer booklet then copying material down.

Pencil case, notes just looking up at them. Also in geography exam , having pencil cases designed with maps of america & Ireland drawn is hardly fair.

I really don't care though the people cheating look like their spending way too much exam time acting suspicious to get anywhere near a decent grade!

lol, about 50 people in our year had "Ireland" pencil cases during geography :eek: But in fairness there is a map of ireland on the back of the OS-map so it's not really cheating, as far as I'm concerned they're just to stupid to use (or misuse) the OS map properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

LaDeeDaa wrote: »
    -Our superintendent hands out our answer-booklets 40mins before each exam starts while we are sitting at our desks with all books and materials doing last minute revision. i.e lets all write a heap of stuff in them.
    Wait...you're allowed bring in your bags into the room!?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Fbjm wrote: »
    Our examiner says a ten minute prayer before every exam, making us late! He hadn't a notion where he is either half the time...
    0_o

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Wait...you're allowed bring in your bags into the room!?

Oh yea. The first day we thought this was all normal craic. Unbelieveable!!

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

Why are you in the exam center so early and also you shouldn't be allowed bring any books or bags or anything into the exam center
    -Or why not get some help of the superintendent. Girl sitting across from me was working away at her graph in maths. Superintendent walking around, stops at her desk, points on her graph, whispers something in her ear to which she replies 'Oh, thanks a mill!'. THEN, walks away and returns back a minute later to check that she changed it right!

You should just worry about your own exam and performance , let the examiners do their job even if it is a bad one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 LMFAOFLOL

One of my friends had Irish essay notes in the pocket of her hoody. When she realised she had forgotten to take them out, she paniced and took them out to throw them away. The examiner happened to see her and they had a big chat about it. It was really awkward. She got reported in the end even though she wasn't cheating. :/

NotExactly wrote: »

You should just worry about your own exam and performance , let the examiners do their job even if it is a bad one.

Oh dont worry, im not worried!:D .. just sharing my experiences :) lol..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

Just finished my 4th day of exams and can tell you now I could of got straight A's if I wished to cheat.

Its actually shocking how unprofessional he is!
    Also are superintendents allowed to leave the room, for i dont no what!, on several occasions throughout an exam and tell the supervisor outside(a 5th year student) to supervise for a while?

-The fact he falls asleep probably won't phase you's at this stage!!

I want that one!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭The Shtig

I forgot I had my phone in my pocket the other day, luckily it didn't go off. I think the examiner would understand, she's a lovely lady! :) I would be gutted though if I got my exam canceled out of my own stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

In another centre in my school, the examiner is helping the girls. She was helping anyone who needed help with maths yesterday. Thought it was totally unfair :/

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I was the supervisor outside the exam hall last year. I'm so glad I didn't catch anyone cheating, because I honestly don't know what I would have done. I know that there have been three people in my old school that have had exams cancelled thanks to it. There's almost 300 doing the LC this year there, so that makes it about 1% getting caught? Or is that just a huge amount in the one place?

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭BrendaN_f

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I was the supervisor outside the exam hall last year. I'm so glad I didn't catch anyone cheating, because I honestly don't know what I would have done. I know that there have been three people in my old school that have had exams cancelled thanks to it. There's almost 300 doing the LC this year there, so that makes it about 1% getting caught? Or is that just a huge amount in the one place?

your job, maybe? SEC really should have a stricter screening process

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭LilMissCiara

CTYIgirl wrote: »

1% of students are caught cheating in your school but it obviously doesn't mean 1% of cheating students are caught in your school (that would mean all 300 cheat!)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

No! I meant 1% of EVERYONE is caught cheating.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭mpdg

The Shtig wrote: »
    I forgot I had my phone in my pocket the other day, luckily it didn't go off. I think the examiner would understand, she's a lovely lady! :) I would be gutted though if I got my exam canceled out of my own stupidity.
    This happened to me twice so far. I feel so stupid! Today in Irish during the aural I had to rush in and when I sat down I noticed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭what.to.do

BrendaN_f wrote: »

In fairness, that's not part of the job description.

The job entails signing students out, and escorting them to the bathroom.
    Making tea isn't even a specified part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Platinum2010

Someone above said they do last minute revision in the exam centre : that should be reported to SEC because its not fair :
    God knows what they could be writing on the exam sheets we may aswell bring in our own refil pads to the exam right across the country if their allowed write things down in the answer booklets :mad:

BrendaN_f wrote: »

It's the schools that decide, not the SEC.

If you're left with some of your friends, it's hard to know what to do. It's easy to say that you would say it, but when it comes down to it, I actually don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 owenthorp7

here do ye think you can get an exam cancelled if you write down C3 at the back page? A friend told me the corrector can cancel the whole paper. I done it for my second maths honours paper today saying ''C3 college'' on the last in the bottom corner. I really dont want to get it cancelled

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I'm reading this with some amusement. However the SEC are watching these threads this year. The idle boasting and trolling whether true or not won't help anybody. I'm not an LC student but have memories of such. I do recall pre-internet what went on in the exam hall stayed in the exam hall.

An exception is that idiot saying prayers, if thats true - report him now not after he screws up someones exam. If not for you, for his own sake.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,088 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

owenthorp7 wrote: »
    here do ye think you can get an exam cancelled if you write down C3 at the back page? A friend told me the corrector can cancel the whole paper. I done it for my second maths honours paper today saying ''C3 college'' on the last in the bottom corner. I really dont want to get it cancelled

The examiner won't even bother trying to work out what your cryptic C3 college means.
    Kind of a foolish thing to do though, don't you think?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,940 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Its hard to tell I suppose.They probably have a rule about it, might be on a website or something? Its defo frowned upon anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 owenthorp7

spurious wrote: »
    The examiner won't even bother trying to work out what your cryptic C3 college means.
    Kind of a foolish thing to do though, don't you think?

Ah i just didnt want to be failed,as you may have heard higher level maths paper 1 went terrible and todays 2nd paper was ok and i didnt want to repeat next year so i just taught id hint it maybe a tiny bit of sympathy would pass me if i did barely fail. Should i check with my SEC supervisor or the schools designated head of exams just incase?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭terryincork

This thread is hilarious.

Cheating is easy for most people when the examiner doesn't walk around regulary or actually looks for signs of cheating...I was right up the front beside the examiner last year so that alone prevented me, along with literally cacking my pants if I was ever caught so I worked hard instead.

Also, I was one of those people that brought them to the toilet etc in TY and found that someone had tacked around 10 pages of notes to the back of door in one of the cubicles and then wrote my name + DO NOT REMOVE above in permanent marker..I lol'd..

Some posts deleted just to save someone being bothered with well-meaning but over-protective PMs ... not for any "ZOMG!! :eek:" reasons, just in case anyone leaps to silly conclusions! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 kilo1

I'd flip! :-o

You're not the only one! I would completely freak out! :-O poor girl !

Should i check with my SEC supervisor or the schools designated head of exams just incase?
    No, you should forget about it and have a wee bit of sense in future! :)