Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police uniforms.

• 19-05-2008 9:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Which do you think is the best? Design, comfort, equipment.

Republic of Ireland
    u_eire2.jpg

Northern Ireland
    psni_1.jpg

London MET
    2005-7-22-london-police.jpg

French Gendarme
    Gendarmes_DSC00690.jpg

Spanish policia Local
    1119842960_46a8da9333.jpg?v=0

Italian Caribiniari
    800px-

Russia
    MOSB81403241430.jpg

Austrian
    1161888.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF1939057D9939C83F106625A3BBD99A4460E5A5397277B4DC33E

Greek
    800px-

South Africa
    20288104.JPG

Japan
    capt.sge.ksn14.011204085040.photo00.photo.default-267x384-1.jpg

Australia
    police_arrest_nine.jpe

NYPD
    cops.jpg

Mexico
    290133280_b1d2a2bc66.jpg

Brazil
    061228brazil.jpg

Which is the best? 97 votes

Garda (Republic of Ireland)
    0% 0 votes
    PSNI (Northern Ireland)
    16% 16 votes
    London MET
    7% 7 votes
    French
    27% 27 votes
    Italian
    2% 2 votes
    spanish
    9% 9 votes
    Russian
    3% 3 votes
    NYPD
    1% 1 vote
    Australia
    24% 24 votes
    Brazilian
    7% 7 votes
    Greek
    0% 0 votes
    Austrian
    1% 1 vote
    Russian
    0% 0 votes
    Japanese
    0% 0 votes
    South African
    0% 0 votes
    Other (Please post image)
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

NYPD or Aussies

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

NYPD or the London MET.

Italian Caribiniari actually looks pretty cool, mean lookin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Holsten wrote: »
    NYPD or the London MET.

Italian Caribiniari actually looks pretty cool, mean lookin.

No comments without voting! :mad: ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

NYPD.They still look respectable and authoritive,yet they are wearing combats pants etc.i.e. not wearing a shirt and tie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

I voted NYPD but I like the MET one too. Any uniform looks better with a pistol or a rifle though - looks more autoritarian (is that a word?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

Ireland and Japan only seem to be wearing ties! From what I've heard ties are a nuisance with a vest,maybe its time to move into the 21st century,and abandon them.But,silly me,I forgot that we can't have our Gardai feeling or looking comfortable in a uniform that exudes common sense.They might look too aggressive without a tie and we can't have that!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I voted the NYPD followed closely by the Met. Both uniforms look good and respectable.

Apparently the wearing of the tie was brough up at the AGSI conference and they have requested that the tie need not be worn with the vest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Voted for Met,

And here is some pics of the polish police.

policja.jpg

Attestation

policja2.jpg

"SWAT"

czarnidodatek4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

Aussies or the met for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »
    Aussies or the met for me.

Agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

i voted the met,some of them were very military style not exactly police like? the garda needs a makeover,combats,polo neck vest, baseball caps...

what would serving members make of 3/4 length shorts forn the warm weather(rare i know)?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

a lot of those pics are armed units or riot squads, not regular police

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I want to be one of those italians, however, somehow i'd say you'd hesitate before asking them for directions to o'connell street! not exactly approachable looking.

Actually very approachable and community orientated. The caribiniari
    are well thought of in Italy and spend more time doing community work than actual policing (remembering that Italy has about 10 different police forces).

Probable because they are military police they are not used to investigate crime to the same measure as the various others. When I was there they seemed to be around a lot of tourist spots and doing guard duty on buildings etc as apposed to standard patrolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

NYPD for me. I like how the NYPD arrange their uniform setup; basically you buy your own kit. They have a number of licensed tailors that only warranted officers can get into and buy from on production of their warrant cards. With this in mind they can purchase a whole range of badged gear from polar necks, to tunics, combat trousers to sewn-in creases and bomber jackets to anoraks. This is why very few officers actually look the same when you examine their uniform closely. I like it. Especially the polar neck and bomber jacket.

Our uniform in the UK is reasonably good, but it could be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭jayj224

_41493560_inpixone_0.jpg

For me this looks like the most comfortable way to patrol:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PRND

Most of those pictures are of functional uniforms and not what would be worn on standard patrols so as a result have little relevance. You might as well put the picture which Wikipedia has for the Garda ERU. I didn't say it IS the ERU, Karl.

The Italian police I have witnessed in the past have been in light blue uniforms, driving light blue Fiat Puntos with Policia written on the side.

PRND wrote: »
    Most of those pictures are of functional uniforms and not what would be worn on standard patrols so as a result have little relevance. You might as well put the picture which Wikipedia has for the Garda ERU. I didn't say it IS the ERU, Karl.

The Italian police I have witnessed in the past have been in light blue uniforms, driving light blue Fiat Puntos with Policia written on the side.

Thats Policia Municipal which is like a town sheriff in the US or Local police in Spain. This IS what the caribinari wear minus the pads which is public order / riot wear.

So in fact most of the pictures are of entirely normal operational uniform. Oz is obviously riot as well but its not as easy as you think to get decent pics of police. In fact, only the Oz uniform is not standard so your completely wrong now that I think of it.

Please also remember that most countries have multiple police forces on the go but I am limited to 15 pictures and was conscience of bandwidth.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,522 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

PRND infracted and banned for one week for trying to stir things up.
    PRND wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 remmurts

Most of those Carabineri chaps I saw in Rome were not wearing that "tactical" looking uniform in those pics. They were dressed in a more conventional tunic and pants set-up, but this was around some of the tourist landmarks. There was also some public demonstration against something or other and the Carabineri's were out in force and wearing the "tacticool" stuff !!!

Just an FYI, in the US, a Sheriff is a county officer, not a municipal officer, so not quite like the Italian municipal police.

Unfortunately the Garda bosses have not taken their heads out of their arses and looked around at what is available for functional uniforms. The latest issue is just terrible, but I suppose anything is an improvement on what was being worn...unpracticable, uncomfortable, shabbily made, etc. When the first issue of the goretex patrol jackets came about in the early 90's a lot of the bosses had heart attacks and refused to let their guys wear them, because they didn't think they "looked smart." Better the lads on patrol suffer in World War One style greatcoats !!!

I think for practical uniforms it's hard to beat some of the USA forces. US police may not get everything right, but uniforms is one area that they certainly could teach the Gardai a thing or two. But it must be remembered that some of the US forces are operating in climates that can range from extreme cold to extreme heat. Some Midwest cities in the US can range from over 20 degrees below in winter, to over 100 degrees F in summer. Unsuitable clothing/uniforms could be fatal for officers operating in those weather conditions.

Of course, all this praise from US police uniforms absolutely excludes the New Jersey State Police stuff...just google it...you'll gouge your eyes out !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭FGR

Anything bar the Garda Uniform. It was looking well with just the Bomber Jacket and trousers until the introduction of a stab vest which doesn't match the Jacket and the Hi-Vis that is loose, cumbersome and not exactly Hi-Vis!

Edit: I could go on about the shabby quality, poor fitting of every other article but that's going down a bad, long and old road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

i got to say i like te NYPD then it the met. i seen the PSNI one up close, i like it but the colour is just so so so so wrong, bottle green, i hope to be wearing it soon and cant wait just wish the colour was different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 tintin

Met uniform looks pretty good. I like the style of their stab vests, looks better than all those mules you see with theirs half open and shirts/bellys hanging out of them!!! Driving is a complete pain in the arse with the tie sticking into your neck!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,452 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

NYPD would be my first pref, followed by a Met uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭mc-panda

In my opinion, the uniform of a police service should reflect the (i) demands of their role, (ii) the cultural/societal and political climate in which they operate and (iii) the ethos by which they operate.

With this in mind, I feel the uniform of an Garda Siochana (AGS) fulfills these criteria. AGS is an unarmed police force that relies heavily on the support of the community in the commissioning of its duties. That serving members apear professional and approachable is of paramount importance to ensure that such support is given.

If, for instance, regular members wore DPMs and berets or basecaps, then community support would likely fall. Yes, they would give the appearance of being more tactical and better equipped to combat crime. However, they would also excavate the recently buried memories of the paramilitary styled and army backed policing operation conducted in the North by the RUC during the troubles. This would only serve to alienate the public and damage community support of An Garda.

The Southern Public reacted with horror to every killing (justifiable or otherwise) of Catholics in the North by the RUC. For decades, this has recognised by the Government and Garda Management. I would be of the opinion that it is also the reason that AGS has remained unarmed. It is also the reason baton rounds are not in the arsenal of Garda Public Oder Units. They were responsible for the deaths of seventeen cicilians during the troubles (including an eleven year old boy).

Indeed, the Irish public has not been very supportive of AGS in the aftermath of incidents where suspects were killed. One barricade incident and one attempted robbery that resulted in the deaths of a total of three men have recieved large quantities of media coverage, have resulted in one tribunal and have damaged public support. I have purposely omitted the relevant details of both incidents.

For these reasons, I don't feel comparisons can be made between the uniforms of different jurisdictions. However, I feel that of AGS is effective in its purpose.

It should also be noted that many of the images shown do not depict the regular uniform of the agencies shown. For instance, the London Met does not issue Hecklar & Koch MP5s to all of its members. The Australian police do not routinely wear riot gear. As I'm sure you're all aware, AGS has at its constant disposal specialist elements that can be deployed when needed that have uniforms that better suit their needs.

Bearing in mind that Ireland is a very small jurisdiction (i.e., there are more law enforcment agencies in the United States than members of An Garda in Ireland), the organisational layout appears effective also. If I could make one suggestion, it would be that specialist units be made more regionally diverse, rather than operating mainly from Garda HQ. Having an ERU team with specific duties in the South West region, for instance, would afford a faster response and better on-site appraisal of a situation due to an enhanced knowledge of the area of operations by members.

I cannot comment on the durability or comfort of the regular Garda uniform. Nor can I comment on how it might limit members' abilities, for example, in the pursuit of a suspect.

However, in closing, I would like you all to consider the following:

If individuals in authority present themselves in a manner that indiactes a readiness to deal swiftly with a physical threat, are they not by extension presenting themselves in a hostile manner? Finally, is there not a chance that in doing so, this might have a violence escalating effect on an otherwise non-subversie public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

mc-panda wrote: »
    Indeed, the Irish public has not been very supportive of AGS in the aftermath of incidents where suspects were killed. One barricade incident and one attempted robbery that resulted in the deaths of a total of three men have recieved large quantities of media coverage, have resulted in one tribunal and have damaged public support. I have purposely omitted the relevant details of both incidents.

That's not entirely true. I agree to certain extent with Abbelayra, but in case of Lusk I think that the general feeling was "live by the sword, die by the sword". Not to look far see here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=260570&highlight=lusk+%2B+garda+%2B+shooting

Even with Abbelayra, more people had a problem with the events leading to the shooting rather than the shooting itself.

mc-panda wrote: »
    With this in mind, I feel the uniform of an Garda Siochana (AGS) fulfills these criteria. AGS is an unarmed police force that relies heavily on the support of the community in the commissioning of its duties. That serving members apear professional and approachable is of paramount importance to ensure that such support is given.

You are making your point well, I don't agree with it though.

To appear proffesional and approachable is important, but I believe safety of the gardai is important even more. Just last year two guards were shot on two separate occasions. Also, the importance of comfort shouldn't be underestimated - remember that the policemen work long shifts, in all kind of weather, in all kind of situations, very often risking their health and lives. I don't think that it's too much to expect the gear they are issued with to be up to the job, same way the members themselves are expected to be.

I'm not a guard myself, but I have interest in the subject, and from what I can gather, currently it's not the case.

The days of Gardai getting respect because they look respectable are long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭mc-panda

I take your point that Gardai work long shifts in all weather conditions. I also acknowledge that the uniform is unlikely to facilitate the rigourous physical demands that can be placed on members. However, I stand firm that community support is the most effective weapon that the Gardai can ever have. I also feel strongly that this would only be depleted by "militarising" uniforms. Thus, t-shirts and combat trousers get a thumbs down from my corner.

I'll concede that certain aspects are comical and should be taken out of service; such as the tie. I can only assume (and hope) that it is a clip-on, as otherwise it would be dangerous, offering considerable leverage to a suspect to cause harm during a struggle.

I recognise the dangers that Gardai face every day with regards gun-crime, and without attempting to play down the significance of recorded incidents as a whole and on the individual, I would advise that statistically, the Gardai are relatively safe in this arena. Comparble figures from abroad (such as the United States) are much more frightening. Below, I listed two reasons which I believe account (at least in part) for this:

1) As an unarmed police force, An Garda Siochana presents a low level of threat to the physical integrity of an armed criminal. Thus, unless said criminal has psychopathic tendencies and is devoid from emotion and conscience, it is unlikely that s/he would depress a trigger to evade aprehension. Coupled with the current state of sentencing within the criminal justice system, an armed robber might sooner surrender to arrest and recieve 5 years (to serve 2) than shoot a Garda and recieve 15 (to serve 10).

2) There is clearly a cultural difference with regards guns between both jurisdictions.

Thus, I would argue that arming Gardai would not result in increased personal or public safety. Rather, the opposite. Also, it's worth noting that merely arming the Gardai would not consequent a decrease in the now spiralling gang related gun crime. A Garda would have to be present at a scene to intervene; armed or otherwise.

With regards to ballistic vests: Yes, they would certainly offer better protection from gun shots. However, they would only offer protection from smaller rounds such as a 9mm parabellum. Most balistic vests do not offer adequate protection from say the larger 5.56 or 7.62 calibre varieties. The latter is of greater concern given it's longer range, larger stopping power and the fact that the majority of residual weapons from the troubles operate with it (i.e., Kalashnikov assault rifles). In any case, a trade off must be seen also. Ballistic vests require much heavier slabs than stab-proof ones. Thus, a Garda's mobility would be impaired further, to the detriment of comfort and efficacy.

If we want to increase the safety of Gardai on the street, then training facilities for serving members within the organisation needs to be adequate. My understanding is that this is currently not the case. I would still argue for regional deployment of ERU styled teams. I would further argue that members of the DDU be obliged to attend national training that would afford them the tactical capabilities to act effectively in high risk situations where the arival of the ERU cannot be waited for (i.e., hostage taking incidents where the suspect(s) begins killing his/her captors). I imagine this would not be incredibly resource intensive or difficult to organise.

OTHER WAYS TO INCREASE SAFETY WITHOUT ARMING UNIFORMED MEMBERS:

1) I would have no objections to the use of C0 gases in critical incidents.
    2) I would have no objections to the use of TASERS.

(Both would have to be accompanied by appropriate training in first aid)

3) Lookin to the MET, (If I'm wrong, please tell me), uniformed officers generally do not carry weapons. However, they can. Met vehicles with diagonal markings denote armed police who can be called for assistance when needed. We could learn from this. Adopting a similar system, "On-the-beat" Gardai could remain unarmed. However, appropriately qualified Gardai could have access to weaponry secured in the boot of a vehicle. However, to have any uniformed Garda carrying "on-th-hip", so to speak, would have disatrous consequences in my opinion.

As for Abbeylara and Lusk, I do not feel it appropriate to discuss same in a public nature given their contentious nature and tragic outcomes.

Finally, I stress that I do not underplay the seriousness of every incident where a member of AGS has been injured or killed, by gun or otherwise. I commend their bravery.

As the man said, "evil prevails when good men fail to act".

mc-panda,Regional Support Unit's are on the way,as is proposed firearms training for DDU's.Not tactical but better than it is..well that is what AGS have planned.