Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laptop stolen - Software has screenshots of thief & exact location.Guards do nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

ring 999 say there's been a robbery and you've followed the person back to their house then have them show up in a squad car and present the evidence.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Have all the proof that your friend owns the laptop then go to the Garda station and if they refuse to do anything then inform them that the pictures and details of the thief will be posted online and sent to the local newspapers with detailed information on the lack of Garda help.
    maybe don't use the word thief for legal issues

just say it's pictures taken by the laptop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Jake187

And this is a good example why the gardai arent all 'shining' as people like to think. The laptop is located. He has proof. Why cant the gardai do something about it? ... But ...
    he should go around and get it himself. you sought the help of the gardai and they have failed.
    Call around to where the laptop is and take it back.

Not a bad idea. But if he went around demanding his laptop the gardai would sooner come out, on behalf of the thief, to make the owner get lost. Sure you can olny imagine what the Gardai would do if he forced his way in to retrive it. Its a mad world I tell you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

maybe don't use the word thief for legal issues

just say it's pictures taken by the laptop

Say "the removal of the laptop without your permission".

Also if you mention to the Gardi (for whatever reason) that you are going to go around yourself and get it, tell them that you are aware that you going there might lead to a breach of the peace - but seeing that they are unwilling to do anything, you have no choice.
    Also explain to the Gardi that if such a breach of the peace occurs - you will be quite willing to testify in court and to the media as to the in-action of Gardi that forced you into this situation!

...State the above to them and then wait to see how quick they are willing to still sit around and do nothing!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Sometimes you have to take matters into your own hand. A group of you need to go around there, confront this lowlife and get he's property back. I would never encourage violence but if you have everything you need to prove its he's then I think you have nothing to lose. If worse comes to worse the guards will be called, you'll have proof that you own it and hopefully justice will be served.

Op,
    Your friend has a 3 choices.

1, Get a few realible mates with him and knock on his door. Rush him and get the laptop back and be down the road quick. No waiting on the gardai to arrive cause they will come out for his call if the scumbag rings them. (problem with this is, getting so called realible mates to help & as each day goes by the laptop is more likely to be sold on)

2, If getting the laptop back isnt likely. A baseball bat, a hood and catching him as he walks down the road one night is alright too.

3, Do nothing. Pretty much take it up the ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

There's an old urban myth than can be adapted.

"I want my laptop back, I know who has it and where it is."
    "We can't help."
    "But it's at (clearly gives address)"
    "Okay. One second" Pause. (Talking to pretend person) "You have it? Great." (To guards) "No worries, my friends got some hunting rifles, we'll nip over and sort it out ourselvwes. Cheers."
    Hang up.
    Head over.
    Wait for guards to arrive, apprach door, clearly unarmed.
    "You said you had rifles!"
    "You said you couldn't help."

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Il happily volunteer to snap on the scumbag, who's with me??

Where you based??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Gardai are too busy setting up road blocks in rural Mayo to deal with such trivial issues such as theft, even when they have the details of the thief....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Problem is, the Gardaí can't do much without a warrant, and a judge (usually technophobe) has to sign off on one of those. Otherwise scenario is as follows when they call at the thief's door.
    Scumbag: eh, wot yis pigs want?
    Garda: Ah hello Declan, good to see you again, wondering if we might have a few words?
    Scumbag: eh....I aint done nuthin....wot yis want.
    Garda: Well, it has come to our attention that a laptop was stolen in the vicinity of (X). You wouldn't happen to know anything about that now would you?
    Scumbag: I bleedin did not nick it
    Garda: Do you mind if we step inside for a minute?
    Scumbag: Yis got a warrant??? didn't think so....quit hasslin me. Dis is police brutality.

End result: Thief dumps/sells laptop on before anyone can search the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Hey guys,

Looking for advice on behalf of my friend.

His laptop was stolen last week. He has........

tell him to buy a new laptop

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Problem is, the Gardaí can't do much without a warrant, and a judge (usually technophobe) has to sign off on one of those. Otherwise scenario is as follows when they call at the thief's door.

End result: Thief dumps/sells laptop on before anyone can search the place.

Or perhaps:

Gardai have screenshot etc of thief using laptop. Gardai show proof to judge. Judge agrees to warrant. Warrant is granted and laptop recovered. At the very least thief is done for handling stolen goods.

I know, I know, I'm a dreamer....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

micropig wrote: »
    Or perhaps:

Gardas have screenshot etc of thief using laptop. Gardai show proof to judge. Judge agrees to warrant. Warrant is granted and laptop recovered. At the very least thief is done for handling stolen goods.

I know, I know, I'm a dreamer....:)
    What does a screenshot prove? To a judge it's just an image of a random person in their own house - where's the link with laptop?

...... End result: Thief dumps/sells laptop on before anyone can search the place.

Your post said it best man.
    Thats why I kinda hate the legal system. Sure I could go out tonight, jump and kick the living crap out of someone I dont like. They see its me. But I get off side before any gardai turns up.

I'll get away with it. My word versus his. Its pretty fu**ed up.

What does a screenshot prove? To a judge it's just an image of a random person in their own house - where's the link with laptop?

The prey software installed in the computer would establish that the laptop was used after the time of theft.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Nuke the bastard!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭Athlone_Bhoy

What software can you use to track a laptop?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Go round to the cop shop and ask as people have said to speak to a sargeant. Get his name and explain the situation. While you're there, ask for the contact details of the Garda ombudsman, as you're concerned at the lack of motivation from the previous Garda you spoke with about this matter.
    Previously, when I encountered reticence from Gardai to get off their flabby arses, put the donuts and the Daily Mail down and do their job, I've resorted to calling the ombudsman in front of them and requesting a complaint form.
    Gardai started investigating quick enough after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Tell the guards you hid some weed in the battery component of the laptop and I'm sure they will be straight over...

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Go round with a few mates and a few hurleys and batter the **** take it back by force Its your mates propertyhe worked for it the gards aren't going to do a tap take back what is rightfully your mates and batter the **** while your at it so he thinks twice about begin a robbing little ****

• Registered Users Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭JG009

Tell them he was looking at kiddy porn on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Ronan cork

That's really pathetic. Do you mind telling us if it's in a city or out in the country? Read last week 40% of Garda stations don't have Internet...

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Freemasonry

what do you expect? all guards are pigs, thats probably why id shoot one of i had the chance.

mod: banned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

having had dealings with the police in a few different countries & with the gardai since moving here i can safely say they are the weakest,most inept, laziest & thickest "law enforcment officers" i have had the misfortune of dealing with anywhere... by a long shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

what do you expect? all guards are pigs, thats probably why id shoot one of i had the chance.

We can only hope your aim is as bad as your grasp of the English written language.

Op it takes longer than 48 hours to get a theft warrant and search team organised. Not to mention putting together a list of other stolen items to look for and prepping for an interview. Chill out

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭sonyvision

Get your mates turn up with a picture of your man in your hand when he opens the door hand him the picture give him 2 choice leave with your laptop or smash in his face. Make sure your friends are big and be shouldnt bother you any more :-) take it in your own hands.

Let us know how it turns out :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Freemasonry

MagicSean wrote: »
    We can only hope your aim is as bad as your grasp of the English written language.

Op it takes longer than 48 hours to get a theft warrant and search team organised. Not to mention putting together a list of other stolen items to look for and prepping for an interview. Chill out

Shut up you twat, I was using my iPhone.

mod: poster banned

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Shut up you twat, I was using my iPhone.

How is that an excuse?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

OP, this is an absolutely infuriating story to read.

Tell you what. I'm a girl. I wear glasses. We go round the place, I let you punch me in the mouth, and we inform yer man that I will quite gleefully tell the guards that he just hit me if he doesn't hand over the laptop.

This stuff is so f*cking annoying to me that I'd consider it totally worthwhile just to get the better of the little sh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

I'm a girl. I wear glasses.

You must be the only user identifiable at a Boards Beers based on their avatar :p