Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

I lost my keys once and tried to open the latch which was on the inside of the gate, got my elbow wedged in between the pickets when I was jumping up, luckily I got it out but I gave up and waited til someone came with a key. Had a nasty bruise and splinters as a result.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

mymo wrote: »
    :D:D:D:D:D
    So AJ did they come and take you away?

Na, I'm still here, lets hope the person in the car recognised me as opposed to just letting me get robbed!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Na, I'm still here, lets hope the person in the car recognised me as opposed to just letting me get robbed!

:rolleyes: :mad: 2 guys tried to break into our house years ago while we were all asleep up stairs..anyhoos neighbour looks out and sees two figures trying to pry the window open with a screwdriver and thought it was me and my brother?!?! :rolleyes: Thank you neighbourhood watch lol!! :rolleyes:

My last day in work today - WEIRD!! Bailey is delighted with the new arrangements thou lol

In bed this morning and the cat decided to sleep right in the middle of the bed leaving me with a tiny corner of a duvet. So I made myself smaller and put up with it! She definitely rules the house here!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

funny-dog-bed-sleep-winning-at-bedhogging-funny-photo-picture.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Zapperzy wrote: »
    In bed this morning and the cat decided to sleep right in the middle of the bed leaving me with a tiny corner of a duvet. So I made myself smaller and put up with it! She definitely rules the house here!

I often wake up to find I've either manoeuvred myself around the dog or I've been converted into a dog lounger, move her out of the way, then she moves herself back :rolleyes:

Just as well I don't share with the dog too or I'd definitely be on the floor! A seemingly small dog can spread himself right out!
    I must post the photo I have of the cat sleeping on the big dog cushion and the poor dog curled into a ball on a blanket on the floor beside her.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ah I wish Bailey slept on my bed!! I stopped letting him up about 2 years ago now what with his legs and all cos we've no carpet on them and I was afraid he'd slip!! Maybe it's time to get them covered so I can start to have lie ins while I'm taking a few months off! :D

I must post the photo I have of the cat sleeping on the big dog cushion and the poor dog curled into a ball on a blanket on the floor beside her.

It's a bit blurry but you get the idea, she's a stubborn cat! :D

photo0293z.jpg
    tk123 wrote: »
    Ah I wish Bailey slept on my bed!! I stopped letting him up about 2 years ago now what with his legs and all cos we've no carpet on them and I was afraid he'd slip!! Maybe it's time to get them covered so I can start to have lie ins while I'm taking a few months off! :D

You might not get much of a lie in with a snoring dog shoving a paw into your back to move over! :D

There's a little cairn x female in my local pound, spitting image of my fella, just a little slighter and scruffier. Oh I'd love a second one. :(http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=409529875735963&set=a.168595216496098.33407.168594389829514&type=1&theater

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

My dog is currently warming my bed, the cat is in his too Zapperzy:D
    I have a kingsize bed and I sometimes wake up to a dog and two cats pinning me down!
    Thankfully little dog can't get up as she's too short and its quite high, but my daughter lifted her up a few times and I woke hanging off the edge, little dogs do take up much more space. :p

I was pre-warned about Shelties finding their voice between 10 and 12 weeks, apparently if it's nipped in the bud immediately you have a non-barking dog for life but if goes on until 14 weeks you have a barking dog for life :eek:.

My neighbours got 2 pups on Wednesday and they were left in the house on their own yesterday. I put my two on in the run at 3pm yesterday as I've been easing the pup into the routine my mum will have when I go back to work. Next doors pups were screaming their heads off, que barking from my pup, so I left him out there until he had stopped for half an hour, 3 hours he was out there, two and half of them barking constantly while Poppy sat on the roof of her kennel looking totally depressed. Then he had a good old bark at me for not letting him rob stuff of the table, for putting him in the crate for his nap and he had a good old bark at my niece for not wanting to play tug and one at Poppy for taking his toy. So he just didn't get his way and I threw a blanket over his crate and ignored him when he was kicking off in there. I couldn't put him out of the room for a time-out because he can't cope with that at all and makes a puddle on the floor. I still have a splitting headache from yesterday, but not one single bark today.

Is that it? Have I won :confused: Or will sods law come back and bite me tomorrow for posting this? :P He'll be 12 weeks on Monday, I'm back at work on Tuesday and not very confident about my mums ability not to cave and give in to him!

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭rorrissey

I'm bringing Gussie to West Kerry for the weekend! He's going to love it there!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Swallows have begun to nest in our outhouse and the noise from my two is deafening!

This is the first year with them nesting that we've had Benson, for the past couple of years with them nesting it's just been Coco and she would bark at them for a little bit but now she has a partner in crime and it's getting bad!

Keeping them indoors just winds them up even more as the door to the outhouse is about six feet away from the french doors so they sit there and go crazy. And if the weather is nice we always leave the doors open.

When they're outside they run in and out of the outhouse after the swallows and they sit there barking at them while the swallows sit on the ridge of the house roof or the electricity wire. They momentarily stop when called but then after about a minute start barking again.

They're on high alert as well. Benson sat down and let out an audible fart. :o Coco went ballistic at the noise, misinterpreting it for a noise the birds might have made so then the two of them went crazy.

Of to the beach now for an extra long swim and a run, try and tire them out!

Just back from a lovely walk, on the way back we have a 4 foot bank to climb up. I climbed up first and turned for Kieran to pass the dogs up to me but little Phoe backed up, wiggled his little ass and threw himself up the wall :D

So after the Phoe managed it, we thought Harley would be grand. Sure he's twice the height! Well he whinged, barked, half jumped, barked, ran around in circles, barked, tried to clamber up, barked. Kieran had to lift him, all wet and smelly from the river.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

One of mine gives me a dirty look if I move her, an other growls and bares her teeth. The boy just does as he's told and slumps down elsewhere with a big sigh. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

All day hangover! Why do i do it to myself....:o

You recovered yet anniehoo?

We had a bit of drama earlier this evening. We had a fire lit with bits of wood to start it, I was cooking dinner while Kieran sat in the sitting room, so the fire gate wasn't in place. The phone rang, Kieran went to answer it and 2 mins later Phoe toddled in........ carrying a flaming stick like a torch. :eek:

anniehoo wrote: »
    All day hangover! Why do i do it to myself....:o

Well at least you didn't have to be told the stories and shown the photos of you making a fool of yourself on a bouncy castle the next day while hungover as I did during the week. :o
    Whispered wrote: »

We had a bit of drama earlier this evening. We had a fire lit with bits of wood to start it, I was cooking dinner while Kieran sat in the sitting room, so the fire gate wasn't in place. The phone rang, Kieran went to answer it and 2 mins later Phoe toddled in........ carrying a flaming stick like a torch. :eek:

I bet Phoe was so proud of himself for fetching a stick to play with! :D Seriously though I hope ye're alright and nothing was damaged.

Ah noooooo, I get "the fear" really badly after drinking, I think I'd cry if someone showed me pics of a drunken me if I was hungover.

Nothing damaged thankfully, lucky he carried it into me instead of just dragging it out of the fire and leaving it on the floor or something. Or worse - imagine if he had brought it onto the couch :eek: little messer.

Ah noooooo, I get "the fear" really badly after drinking, I think I'd cry if someone showed me pics of a drunken me if I was hungover.

Nothing damaged thankfully, lucky he carried it into me instead of just dragging it out of the fire and leaving it on the floor or something. Or worse - imagine if he had brought it onto the couch :eek: little messer.

Nevermind the couch, what if he'd chewed it! It'd be an odd one to be explaining to the vet how his mouth got burnt! :eek:

Absolutely bulling that I forgot about the dog expo in galway today, only remembered at lunchtime today, I was off work and all. Looking at the photos it looked like a brilliant day. Himself has really improved with dogs so it would have been brilliant chance for socialisation for him too. There is a lovely little cairn in the photos on facebook!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Back to semi normal now. I have 2..yep 2 weddings this weekend :eek: dunno how im gonna do it :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I have exams starting tomorrow, so of course that means I'm not studying and instead teaching the cats to sit :D

Cream: Success, moving onto stand command.
    Peach: Slapped me then flopped onto the floor.

Who says you can't train cats! (some of them anyway!)

Round 4 of worming cat and I have given up. This time wrapped her in a towel and sat on her, she got her leg out and dug a claw into my finger, then she hissed, howled, farted and spat and did her damned hardest impression of a stone statue with her head clamped down towards the floor and a jaw locked shut. So I admitted defeat and crushed it up with some tuna, the tuna is still sitting there. Of course she acted like my best friend when I opened the tin! :rolleyes: I was very tempted to taste the tablet and see was it lined with arsenic or something, was surprised by the WAAAY overboard reaction I got!

Anyways I'm going to admit defeat and just have a look around and see can I get the profender. So 4-0 to the cat and €3 down the drain with all the plasters I'v used. :mad:

Nevermind the couch, what if he'd chewed it! It'd be an odd one to be explaining to the vet how his mouth got burnt! :eek:

:o Stop making me look bad! By the way he was carrying it it looked like he knew exactly what he was doing. Gingerly, by very end of the stick. He's always trying to root in the fire. We have to keep a very close eye on him. We can't leave the briquettes in the sitting room anymore because if he's left alone for 2 mins he tries to eat them.

I hate my job. Anyone wanna give me a job?

:o Stop making me look bad! By the way he was carrying it it looked like he knew exactly what he was doing. Gingerly, by very end of the stick. He's always trying to root in the fire. We have to keep a very close eye on him. We can't leave the briquettes in the sitting room anymore because if he's left alone for 2 mins he tries to eat them.

I hate my job. Anyone wanna give me a job?

Of course he knew what he was doing, he's probably been planning it for months waiting for you to turn your back! :D My fella would probably do the same, we have a gas fire so it's a real treat when he visits other houses with an open fire and finds sticks beside it! :D

Me too, wanna swap? Can't wait until I'm qualified and free to leave this place and get another job that I actually enjoy doing. That sounds a bit ungrateful, happy to have a job when there's so many who don't but getting treated like crap ain't nice either.

Haha, I think he saw his opportunity and pounced.

Yes lets swap. I can't complain too much, I actually do like the work, it's interesting for the most part and my manager is lovely, but the hours are terrible and the money is about 30% of what I used to be on before I lost my "real" job (which I REALLY hated). And we're contract staff, so if the real staff make a mistake it's automatically our fault :D

Lucky you, qualifying for something (am I right in thinking vet nursing?).

Sort of the same I'v met lots of lovely people and I do like it then, but then I'v met equally as many aholes who can really put you in foul form for the day and make you hate the general public!

Yes I'm doing vet nursing, over halfway finished now. Have an exam on monday I really should be studying for. Absolutely love it, couldn't see myself doing anything else.

Best of luck Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

Why are cats so stupid!? I brought in my 2 early today as we are having the house painted and I knew they wouldn't come if they saw the painters in here (they are racist, the hate polish people for some reason?)

Cream is bombing it around the house doing a really low guttural meow, and I know that means he needs to go to the toilet - understandable, he was in about 4 hours early today. But no matter how much I bring him to his tray he just will not go! He is fully litter trained, he was a solely indoor cat for a year, and he has no medical problems, he was at the vet yesterday ffs! He just likes to pee al fresco.. well he can forget it, no way he's going out in the dark! I'm going to lock him in the bathroom with the tray till he goes :D