Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Da Za wrote: »
    Shrugs-lats???? Really

LOL
    Whoops:D:D

Never was much of a book learner, more of a kinesthetic learner!
    Mightnt know the correct terms..but at least I know when I'm doing it where I'm supposed to feel it....that's GOTTA count for something!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 nagolina

wow, you made those deadlifts look easy!

You do a huge volume of reps on these which would likely kill me stone dead :D

One thing I decided to do with the DLs was (assuming you are well warmed up from other work first) start with my working weight then back off from there - so the heaviest lifts are done before I am too knackered. Having said that, I felt something ping in my back a few days ago so take this advice with caution!

Nice lifting :)

**Guess what day tomorrow is in the training cycle....deadlift day:pac::pac:**

Monday 26th March- C1

:DSavage weather=Savage mood:D

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Sumo Squats
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Mission number 1-Get my knee doing a bit of work again. Jogged 1600m last day, 2.5km today in an abysmal time of 13.35...really was just plodding along and knee felt grand up until the last stretch where it felt a bit like it was 'locking'.

I'll try 2.5km-3km next day

Seeing as I'm generally only doing conditioning once a week decided to mix up the con blocks a bit-wanted something fast, something heavy and something fun.

Con. Block-Fun
    16kg KB suitcase walk/ 7.5kg Waiter's Walk
    60m each way
    8 up and backs in 10.58..up a round:)

Work Block 1-15 mins
    5 e/s Elevated Split Squat + 5kg
    5 DB Bench Press 15kg
    10 Red band pullups
    8 rounds in 15 mins..grand

Con Block-Something Fast...well....fast for me
    Sled + 5kg
    Distance- 50m
    Not one of my best thought out plans..had planned to push it as fast as I could every 30 sec..thinking that it would only take me ~10sec for cover 50m and I'd get 20sec rest....didnt work out that way..was taking 30odd sec up so decided to go on the minute..that lasted all of three minutes..work time was faaaar to high in relation to rest...I nearly died:pac: Switched it to 45sec rest after each effort
    7 lengths in 10mins...i think...and yes, I am an idiot
    I'll think it out better next time!!! Something like I'll start an effort every 90-100 sec...was quite tough, legs didnt like me after but I actually enjoyed it!

Work Block 2-15mins
    5 e/s Step ups..legs were still a bit unhappy after sled
    10 Inverted Rows
    10 T- pushups
    8 rounds in 14.40...Should be doing better here

Con Block-Something heavy
    Farmers Walk with the TB-50kg
    60m carry, 60 m jog
    6 rounds in 10.20..Grip wasnt there today..had to keep putting the bar down

Lots of stretching and foamrollng so my knees wont hurt:)

Mission Number 2
    Am reading Dan John's book 'Easy Strength' at the moment and the one thing that keeps ringing over and over in my head is 'If its important do it everyday, if it's not, don't do it at all'.--I could apply this to many facets of my training:D:D but I won't not yet...as I'm only trying to focus on one thing at a time...trying being the operative word.

decided the pullups are pretty important to me..so gonna make a really good effort to get some volume in..aim is to get from 4 to 6 in 4weeks. I think it's quite possibly so....
    Pullups 2 (10sets)...started low so I wont gas out too soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Ah who needs TV when you have boards.

Hey what happened with the weightlifting? I was living through your log :p!
    Your shoulder definition is looking nice though so I'll let it slide.

howtomake wrote: »
    Ah who needs TV when you have boards.

Hey what happened with the weightlifting? I was living through your log :p!
    Your shoulder definition is looking nice though so I'll let it slide.

:pac::pac:

Nope, haven't given up on the idea of weightlifting at all.. at all .I just have the teeny tiny slight problem of getting addicted to things and jumping into things head first...like cos I was enjoying the weightlifting so much I'd wanna start practising ALL the time and at the moment that just wouldn't work..I haven't got a clue what I'm doing so I'd be disasterous left alone and Hanley's real busy these days so can't be bugging him either!! (That's me speaking for him btw).

Basically timing is off, I'd only get agitated if I was practising just once or twice weekly.

...but watch this space:pac::P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I've deleted the slagging match, it's completely disrespectful to gymfreak to have this kind of argument/slagging match in her log. Can we leave it there please?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

gymfreak wrote: »

Anyone got any advice on the deadlifts? Getting really bored trying to make them look nice...they really don't seem to be going anywhere (weights wise or technique wise)

Why all the bar movement before you pull it? I don't know if it's going to make your deadlifts look any better, but there is no way I could lift like that.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

:pac::pac:

Nope, haven't given up on the idea of weightlifting at all.. at all .I just have the teeny tiny slight problem of getting addicted to things and jumping into things head first...like cos I was enjoying the weightlifting so much I'd wanna start practising ALL the time and at the moment that just wouldn't work..I haven't got a clue what I'm doing so I'd be disasterous left alone and Hanley's real busy these days so can't be bugging him either!! (That's me speaking for him btw).

Basically timing is off, I'd only get agitated if I was practising just once or twice weekly.

...but watch this space:pac::P

Ok that makes sense. When I was first learning it was very very sporadic, weeks in between at a time, did me no favours as I always kept forgetting what I learned the last time. Then I tried to learn on my own, with a york bar and wound up hurting my wrists even more :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭COH

I'm the new B-Builder

:p

Tuesday 27th March-S2

Warm up
    Spin Bike-25mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlift
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3..put on a belt for a few of these sets
    90kg x 3
    90kg x 3...stayed at 90 again for triples

Deadlifting with a belt felt strange...like I was gonna explode..weird

Step Ups
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8
    5kg x 8

DB Side Arches
    30kg x 10/10

Neutral Grip Pullups
    BW-4, 4, 3, 4, 3

Barbell Push Press
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    35kg x 6
    35kg x 5
    35kg x 6
    35kg x 6

Seated Plate Shifting..I really like this one:)
    3 x 60sec
    (4 x 2.5kg, 4 x 5kg)

Overhead Plate Extensions
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12
    10kg x 12

Savage weather=savage mood!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭supposedly

Good buzz in the gym today :)
    You get used to the belt quite quickly. It's like a big hug for your middle while you're lifting!

supposedly wrote: »
    Good buzz in the gym today :)

I would say that everyone in the gym was delighted that I had someone to amuse myself with..then at least they didnt have to listen to me natter on and on:P:)

Wednesday 28th March

Been excited about going back to spinning ever since last week..really was trying to hold myself off to just one class a week..so today was spinning day..not a pleasant as I remembered.

Xtrainer-25mins

Spin-45mins
    Absolutely bloody shattered after..I was able to do conditioning after spin last week but different instructor=absolutely drained. I will most likely get bored of spinning pretty quickly though!

Pull ups
    10 sets of 2:) Super easy..Yaaaaay!!!!

Absolutely full of beans this week.. it's either the weather or knowing easter hols are looming!!!:) Which means my level of retardation and volume of training will most likely increase..but I'm justifying it in my head cos I have pretty much stuck to the 4training days a week cap for OVER 2 MONTHS!

Thursday 29th March
    Sooooo much chocolate and easter eggs hanging around work today= MAJOR energy crash.

Went to the gym..too hot, too sunny, no attention span so left.

3km slow jog in 15.40mins with no knee pain at all:D:D Hips felt uber tight throughout though, so gonna to have to really focus on some hip flexor stretching. And in fairness time wasnt too terrible considering I was crawling.

Step Class-45mins. Have a friend getting into the ole fitness buzz so felt I kinda had to accompany her, moral support and all that. Might start giving up on the ole step classes tho cos I spend the whole time worrying about my knees and ankles.

Pull ups 10 sets of 2:)

Foam rolling

Very looooong week in work, quite tired now...in hindsight I should of skipped the step class and had a pure rest day. Keep making the mistake of thinking that the classes dont count towards training..but in a way they still do have an impact on recovery...dammit!:)

Easter Hols tomorrow...whoooopeeeee!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 erico956

Lol, I've been running a lot these past few weeks leading up to easter weekend. I know that once it comes around, me and my kiddos will do nothing but sit around and eat chocolate bunnies all the time. Saturday is the only day I do a long run, and monday and thursday i stick to a two to three miler.:cool:

http://www.gymfitness.us

Friday 30th March-R1
    Shattered today..went to the gym to just foamroll and stretch cos I know I wouldnt do it at home. Ended up chatting to people so started doing the rep session anyway. More than likely-rest day 2mo

Foamroll
    Stretching-IT band, glutes, hip flexors

Warm up

Spin Bike-20mins

Pull ups
    10 sets of 2

Mobility
    :(:(got distracted and completely forgot

Supposed to leg press but the one in Morton is crap so squatted instead
    Squats..90sec rest
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10
    35kg x 10..weren't piss easy but not hard either.
    Was my first time squatting outta squat stands tho..and no panic attacks:D:D

Cable Ab Pulldowns
    Different cable machine so weights are all diferent
    20 @43kg
    20 @50kg
    20 @50kg
    20 @57kg

Band Assisted Dips
    2 x 12 blue band
    5 x 10 skinny, skinny purple band:)90sec rest

DB Shrugs
    I keep lowering the weight to see if I'm doing them right. Does it make much of a difference whether you just shrug up or concentrate on shrugging back??? If that makes sense:confused:
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10
    20kg x 10

Inverted Rows
    BW x 10
    BW x 10
    BW x 10
    BW x 10
    BW x 10

Back Extensions on the GHR

5 x 10

Easter Hols.:)

I've actually been giving the ole Weightlifting buzz serious consideration lately.. Really just trying to decide whether I'll tap into it properly during the easter hols are wait til the summer...hmmmm...decisions, decisions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS2dhJYTi24GIMCt0GVJ5jTaMcX6hFrES5z-OK1HlC_M-lpreFvWxonDA

Sunday April 1st-C2

Con Block-An attempt at something fast
    Lateral sprints from the midline.
    Every 20secs
    30 in 10mins...was shattered after. Hadnt done this block in about 10months!

Work Block
    5 Burpees
    5 Pushpress 12.5kg DBs
    5 Skinny purple band Chinups
    9 rounds in 15.50
    Workblocks were a bit slow cos I didnt set up beside pullup bar,....faaar too hot

Con Block-something heavy
    Farmers Walks 60m with 20kg DBS
    5 lengths in 10mins
    Didn't work out as planned..distance was faaaar too long and block was faaar too slow. I'll shorter the distance next time.
    Work Block
    5 DB Snatch 15kg
    5 e/s DB Row 22.5kg
    3 Dips
    8 rounds in 15.30...
    can do faaaaaar better

Con Block
    Lateral Sprints
    From the midline
    Every 20sec
    30 efforts in 10mins
    Got distracted during this..guy climbed the big rope i the indoor right to the very top and then started twirling himself around the bar at the top...fecking amaziing!!!!

Foamrolling

Pullups-5 sets of 2...and then gym closed:(

Monday 2nd April

Am
    Spin Class-45mins

X-Trainer-10mins

Intended to go back in the afternonn and do a strength session.

****Ate half a chocolate cake..returned to the gym****

PM
    Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Deadlift
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    85kg x felt ridiculously heavy
    85kg x 2..then decided it wouldnt be happening today

Pullups
    8 sets of 3

home to bed

**** food makes me feel ****

Tuesday 3rd April

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

TBDL
    Stoopid Trap bar has ridiculously fat handles...but great fun altogether anyway:)
    60kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    90kg x 1
    95kg x 1
    100kg x 1...these were all purty..but the 100 nearly slipped from my hands so knew I wouldnt be able to hang onto the 105

Pullups
    Aim: 10sets of 3
    But left elbow and shoulder started to really ache, so left it at 5 sets. I'd say it's purely down to the amount of pullups I've done in the last week..might ease off for a day or 2 and see.

Bench Press

20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5..these all felt really solid
    43kg x 5...oh so nearly killed myself with the bar..but didnt
    43kg x 3..didnt want a nearly fatal accident like the last set

Ab Roll outs
    5 sets of 10

This was given as a suggestion:
    10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
    45kg Back Squat
    Pushups
    Inverted Rows
    16kg KB swings
    **** time=13.50mins
    Didn't know what to make of it to be honest. I'm not used to doing anything 'heavy' for time so the squats were a bit of a shock to the system

Turkish Get Up with 7.5kg KB
    5mins, 1 rep each side and keep switching.

Step Aerobics-45mins...sure why not!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭thehamo

I'm liking the sound of that complex. Might try it out my self tomorrow!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Do you know what the hours are like Morton this weekend?

thehamo wrote: »
    I'm liking the sound of that complex. Might try it out my self tomorrow!

IDIBHTMTDI:D
    Do you know what the hours are like Morton this weekend?
    No signs up at all yet, so I'm presuming normal bank hols hours:
    Sat 10-4
    Sun 10-1
    Mon 10-1....stupid 3 hour openings are a pain in the ass!!!!

[Quote=gymfreak;77941592

hu?????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

hu?????

I did it because Hanley told me to do it…

“IDIBISHDI” (I did it because I saw Hanley do it) is a long running joke on the forum!! :D

…in the interests of full disclosure, ITGTDIBBGMSSFDJTWIMBATAVOOOT**

**I told gymfreak to do it because barry gave me some suggestions from Dan Jon to work into my bootcamp and that’s a variation on one of those

Ah I get it. I get jokes :D

Should have really just asked instead of spending the first half hour of the mornin going through all the possible combinations in my head. Won't even ask what the full disclosure means!

Anyways, I shall be trying out said complex.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

even ask what the full disclosure means!

Anyways, I shall be trying out said complex.

Ummm it's there?!?

And I'd say 40-50% of your squat max is a good number to use, and do ring
    Push ups and rows if facilities allow.

Wednesday 4th April-Rep Session

AM

Warm up
    Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Squats...90sec rest
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10
    40kg x 10...chuffed with these given the short rest....tis time I started pushing myself a teeny bit harder

Reverse Lunges-60sec rest
    Tush was a bit sore from yesterday so kept them light enough 20kg x 10/10
    20kg x 10/10
    25kg x 10/10

Hi-Lo Cable Chop Things
    14kg x 10/10
    18kg x 10/10

Band Assited Pullups
    Red Band 5 x 10
    These were easy..was just wary of my elbow.
    Skinny purple band next day.

Elevated Pushups
    5 x 10

Hanging Leg Raises
    5 x 10
    Bent Over DB Raises
    5kg DBs x 10

Everything was easy:)

PM
    Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Spin Class-45mins

Con Block-Rower
    150m x 10 with 60 sec rest
    1. 34.6:)
    2. 35.2
    3. 35.0
    4. 35.0
    5. 35.6
    6. 34.8
    7. 35.0
    8. 35.5
    9. 34.9
    10. 34.7

Work Block-15mins
    5 DB snatch e/s 15kg
    5 Unsupported row e/s 22.5kg
    3 Dips
    8 rounds in 15.34...same

Went to try the rower again but elbow was hurting during first interval..then I realised I was shattered..so called it a day.

Perhaps a rest day tomorrow:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

No signs up at all yet, so I'm presuming normal bank hols hours:
    Sat 10-4
    Sun 10-1
    Mon 10-1....stupid 3 hour openings are a pain in the ass!!!!

Cheers, you do know there's a timetable on the boards just before the men's changing room. I'd say they're closed Sunday anyway

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Cheers, you do know there's a timetable on the boards just before the men's changing room. I'd say they're closed Sunday anyway

Yup, didnt realise that the timetable had opening hours on it tho. Only thought it had bookings.

I asked today and they said that it shall be open on Sunday..probably just opening up for me so that I can train before going home and stuffing myself with easter eggs..very considerate of them if ya ask me:D

Thursday 5th April-Conditioning

The plan for today was to do a random fun conditioning session of whatever I wanted. Only rule was..everything had to be enjoyable:)

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Block 1-IDIBHTMTDI
    10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
    25kg Front Squat
    Push Ups
    Inverted Rows
    Box Jumps
    11mins 20..happy enough
    Finding it really weird doing something 'heavy' in a workblock

*Found a skipping rope in the gym*:D:D:D
    Block 2-IDIBHTMTDI
    25 KB Swings 16kg
    50 Skip
    AFAP-10 rounds
    12.10mins..holding on to the KB got ridiculously, ridiculously hard. Didnt break any sets but there was a fair bit of grunting:o

Felt a bit cheated on this block too..cos when I do KB swings for a con block of 40sec on/20 off i average 26 swings..so therefore I basically did my normal con block but added in skipping as rest:rolleyes:

Block 3
    Skipping
    2mins on/ 1 min off
    Just for fun:)

Block 4
    5 e/s Reverse Lunge 10kg
    5 Purple Band Chin Ups
    10 Pushups
    11 rounds in 15.48

Arms were completely and utterly dying during the last block so called it a day!