Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭bluedolphin

The Sheriff?? Stoopid in-jokes. Stoopid Accountants. :mad: :P

Things I Hate About UL:
    * car parking or lack there of...
    * the bloody rain
    * people who refuse to go anywhere but the Lodge...ever
    * people who think they can slag off Limerick just because they're now in college here
    * people who like to blame crime on the people who have been re-housed in Castletroy (don't get me started on that one)
    * shop queues
    * yore ma

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

ninty9er wrote: »
    Cleaners open and re-lock all rooms. Every night...and if they weren't locked, they will be when the cleaners leave!

Yeah, so I'm thinking the cleaners probably took it out of the room and left it outside and some student picked it up, dumped my notes, and made off with a brand new folder for themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

I'm not an accountant, but I do know who The Sheriff is!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

Zero sleep last night grrrrrrrrrr

Up for college at 8:45 am
    Left college at 7:45 pm

Got home to break a glass mug making soup...that was my dinner!! :mad:

Then had to revise a project, although its almost complete, thanks to some excellent work by my project group! Many thanks to them!!

Finally in bed after a long tiring day...

Only to start tmrw bright and early again :(

No rest for the wicked I suppose :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭cson

Fuck tax and bangers.

Both resulted in no sleep last night. :mad:

I hate the library.

By the way, if books are on Store Level are they down stairs when you first go in the library? I have an irrational fear of that place with it's freaky head statues but now I need a load of books from the Store Level and I'm assuming it's down there. *Shudder*.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

ergonomics wrote: »
    I hate the library.

By the way, if books are on Store Level are they down stairs when you first go in the library? I have an irrational fear of that place with it's freaky head statues but now I need a load of books from the Store Level and I'm assuming it's down there. *Shudder*.

Get one of the big strong lads on the UL forum to go down with you. But not cson, he's just a big girls blouse :p

The Don wrote: »
    Get one of the big strong lads on the UL forum to go down with you. But not cson, he's just a big girls blouse :p

I wouldn't be asking any of them to escort me down to a dark room. They might get ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭1huge1

ImDave wrote: »
    Just a quick tip: If its Principles of Accounting in 1st year with The Sherrif, the exams are never too far from the past papers. Make sure you look through them before doing the exam!
    Good tip mate thanks and ya its the sheriff alright, yee haw

Things I Hate About UL:
    * car parking or lack there of...
    * people who refuse to go anywhere but the Lodge...ever

Business and german student actually.

Even though getting parking space can be a real pain, its a hell of a lot better than any other university in ireland for spaces.

Totally agree with ya on the lodge though, got sick of that place after the 1st week.
    City centre all the way

Again, the library. Please, can someone tell me why it is the best place to have a gossip? **** somewhere else, please and thanks.

Also, why haven't the printers been working all week? How hard is it to fix a bloody printer? I thought they were fixed by now but I'm behind about twenty people waiting for stuff to print as it keeps jamming.

Edit: Now it has no toner. *cancels print jobs and goes to other printer*

Edit Number 2: FORTY SEVEN PAGES?!?! Is my lecturer having a bloody laugh? How do I convert pdf to powerpoint so I can put this crap into handouts?

Again, the library. Please, can someone tell me why it is the best place to have a gossip? **** somewhere else, please and thanks.

Also, why haven't the printers been working all week? How hard is it to fix a bloody printer? I thought they were fixed by now but I'm behind about twenty people waiting for stuff to print as it keeps jamming.

Edit: Now it has no toner. *cancels print jobs and goes to other printer*

Edit Number 2: FORTY SEVEN PAGES?!?! Is my lecturer having a bloody laugh? How do I convert pdf to powerpoint so I can put this crap into handouts?

I hate people talking in the library too! People are trying to do work!!!!!!!

Afaik the printers all around college have been down for ages, some reports saying since last Friday :eek:

U can print PDF's in handout form too, with 4 - 6 pages per page...It is still very readable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Probably too late now but in Adobe Acrobat:

File => Print

In the window that pops up find the Page Handling section and from the Page Scaling drop down select the Multiple pages per sheet option and configure it as you wish. As Mossin said it's quite readable if you can get access to a printer that does duplex printing you can fit 4 pages per A4 sheet.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

rmacm wrote: »
    As Mossin said it's quite readable if you can get access to a printer that does duplex printing you can fit 4 pages per A4 sheet.

Saves trees and dosh too :p

rmacm wrote: »
    Probably too late now but in Adobe Acrobat:

File => Print

In the window that pops up find the Page Handling section and from the Page Scaling drop down select the Multiple pages per sheet option and configure it as you wish. As Mossin said it's quite readable if you can get access to a printer that does duplex printing you can fit 4 pages per A4 sheet.

Brillo! I have a printer at home but I also have about €8 in my print account so I figured if I was going to have to print out PDF notes at one slide per page I'd do it in college. I just didn't realise how many there were! Now I have it done at home, thanks for that! :D

What a god damn awful day weather wise! :mad:

I'm sick to death of walking in and out of college getting soaked through to the bone, only to dry off and then have to go back out into that dreadfulness!! :(

My day hasnt been too bad though, only 2 hours of college, and my 4-6 lecture cancelled [the one saving grace today].

Been lying on my bed writing an assignment all afternoon, that is after making our beer chair more sturdy with the aid of some signs...il attach pics when its complete!!

Going for food soo, cos I've gotta eat something proper today other than toast!

Could be a long night ahead trying to do projects...

I hate the library.

Yep, store level is down in the dungeons... I love store level cos it's super quiet and dusty and you can completely get away from everything. *sigh* I miss being a student. :(

Today I shall bítch about my hatred for chips and the fact that it's near impossible to get a good source of carbs without them being involved. Blah.

Potatoes ftw.

Its not a dinner without potatoes.

Trying to write a serious article for Ms. Bluedolphin and I just can't take anything seriously when my computer insists on playing 80's pop.

Foreign types with the hookah pipes say waaaay oooooh waaay ooooh, walk like an egyptian.

Trying to write a serious article for Ms. bluedolphin...

And all thats on the radio is this shite;

Youre gonna make me, make me love you, nothing at all, nothing that I do
    Promise I make, promise I make, started to fade, started to fade, FADE
    Youre gonna make me, make me love you, nothing at all, that I cannot do
    Promise I make, promise I make, started to fade, started to fade.

Trooms was class tonight btw.

This bird looked at me twice and everything :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Harpy

stupid ****ing printers...
    thats all i have to say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 goth_detective

Harpy wrote: »
    stupid ****ing printers...
    thats all i have to say!

totally agree!!they completely broke down all over the place on monday!!!
    everywhere from the venus labs to the fishtank was broken down!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭1huge1

totally agree!!they completely broke down all over the place on monday!!!
    everywhere from the venus labs to the fishtank was broken down!!
    Ya was a pain alright but I made up for it by getting free prints in the fishtank, everyone was getting free prints in there and a good few people took advantage of that situation.

My rant for the day is regarding the Ents crew and the event in the Stables tonight!! :mad:

I was freezing cold in my house so I decided to go to the Stables and get a pint or hot whiskey to sort myself out for an hour or so before going home to bed.
    Only to be confronted by 2 Ents crew members asking for a ticket. I didnt know anything was even on there tonight!! Poorly advertised imo.

I said I only wanted a pint or two and I'd be gone in 45 mins or so, but no budging from them :( I wouldnt be so annoyed except that I'm practically a regular in the Stables, and when I looked inside it was barely half full...it didnt make sense to me..:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭digiking

Mossin wrote: »
    My rant for the day is regarding the Ents crew and the event in the Stables tonight!! :mad:

I was freezing cold in my house so I decided to go to the Stables and get a pint or hot whiskey to sort myself out for an hour or so before going home to bed.
    Only to be confronted by 2 Ents crew members asking for a ticket. I didnt know anything was even on there tonight!! Poorly advertised imo.

I said I only wanted a pint or two and I'd be gone in 45 mins or so, but no budging from them :( I wouldnt be so annoyed except that I'm practically a regular in the Stables, and when I looked inside it was barely half full...it didnt make sense to me..:confused:

You missed nothing really...Except dirty sanches smashing florescent tubes off each other etc

If the place was only half full then tickets probably didn't sell too well which means the SU is down on money so why would they go letting someone in for free? How do they know you're only going to stay for one or two? You could easily have gone in and met someone you knew and decided to stay. TBH I think the Ents crew were right. Why should you get in free just because you're practically a regular? That's not fair on everyone else.

The SU down on money!! Ha are you having a laugh?!
    My friends bought halloween ball tickets last friday and got tickets for Dirty Sanchez free...I just found out this morning. If they were worried about losing money, then maybe they should have sold those tickets :rolleyes:

I was only going in for 1 or 2 pints because thats all I could afford, and I just needed to be out of the house for an hour.

I didnt say the Ents crew were wrong to refuse me, I said it didnt make sense to refuse someone from the Stabes who was going to spend money and is always in there...

The SU down on money!! Ha are you having a laugh?!
    My friends bought halloween ball tickets last friday and got tickets for Dirty Sanchez free...I just found out this morning. If they were worried about losing money, then maybe they should have sold those tickets :rolleyes:

I was only going in for 1 or 2 pints because thats all I could afford, and I just needed to be out of the house for an hour.

I didnt say the Ents crew were wrong to refuse me, I said it didnt make sense to refuse someone from the Stabes who was going to spend money and is always in there...

i'll give a response to this at some stage when I have the time...

For the past few weeks people kept smiling at me in college like they knew me or something. I smiled back politely and put it down to mistaken identity because 90% of the time I had no clue who they were.

This week I've had an unnatural amount of people smiling at me and addressing me by name, and on Tuesday in the Lodge a couple of people came up to me and were like 'Hey you're <insert my full name>, how are you?'. A couple of times people have also used a nickname, which is a completely unoriginal nickname but it only used by my friends at home and one person in college. It's like they know me on a personal level and yet I have no idea who they are, at all.

I have no clue who any of these people are and I'm too polite to be like 'hey, how the feck do you know me beyatch' but I'm getting really weirded out about the amount of people who seem to know me and yet I have no clue who they are. And I feel really rude every time I don't know someone. Hmmm.

That's mad too, isn't it?

Have you heard from Fr Shorthall lately?

Jesus he must be eighty now.