Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

League of Ireland Bets

• 23-06-2010 2:09am
    Registered Users Posts: 17,962 ✭✭✭✭

Well as most of you know I mainly bet on the LoI when I post in the main gambling forum, and well was doing quite well before the break there. But well it's back this weekend so I said I'd start a betting log which will hopefully end up with profit and win anybody crazy enough to follow it money.:D

Gonna start with a 100 points (all betting will be done on Boylesports I'd say, but that might change).

Good few matches that I like the looks of this weekend already, will post up my final selections usually every Thursday, means I've got all my information, official team news, etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Best of luck man. Bloody hard to win money on the LOI

• Moderators Posts: 8,700 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Best of luck Gav, Hope it goes well for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,962 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Voltwad wrote: »
    Best of luck man. Bloody hard to win money on the LOI

Sound. Ye it's tough enough, saying that I tipped Rovers e/w for the League last year on here and I tipped Pats e/w to win it this season on here too, along with a tonne of match bets.:D

Sure we'll see how they pan out over the next few weeks and see how far these 100 pts go.:cool:

Shamrock Rovers -2 @ 7/2 - 3 pts

Over 2.5 goals Fingal -v- UCD and Drogs -v- Galway @ 4/1 - 3 pts

Waterford Utd -2 @ 2/1 - 2 pts

Cork -v- Limerick draw @ 2/1 - 2 pts

returns what? I'm intrigued.

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Whats all this points lark man!? Don't understand it!

What?
    How much do you sttand to gain?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭stooge

returns 13.50pts

returns 15pts

returns 6pts

SRFC90 wrote: »
    Whats all this points lark man!? Don't understand it!

Just take it as one point = €1.;)

Aw right, cheers to stooge for doing that out. In future I'll do what it returns for you.;)

Only 1 winner outta four. Very suprised at Rovers. Had planned on backing Longford or Draw/Limerick or Draw sick I didn't now.

Bank 96pts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

V unlucky with our result. Had a tenner on Rovers -1 and Twigg to score anytime.

He could of had 6 and we missed 2 point blank chances from 4 yards. Unreal!!

Fairly pished off with Shels -v- Fingal last night, got to see the teamsheets at like 7.30 and texted around to a couple of mates to get the odds on Shels or Draw, none of the feckers texted back.:mad:

Liking the look of the LoI Premier matches this week Bohs -1, UCD, Sligo and Pats -1 look likely to be my bets once Boyles throw up the odds.

Bohs -1 @ 2/1 - 2pts
    Returns 6pts

Pats -1 @ 7/5 - 2pts
    Returns 4.8pts

Drogs -v- UCD Over 2.5 goals @ 5/4 - 2pts
    Returns 4.5pts

Drogs -v- UCD Over 2.5 goals / Pats -v- Galway Over 2.5 goals @ 4/1 - 1pt
    Returns 5pts

Limerick and draw / Longford and draw @ EVENS - 2pts
    Returns 4pts

Sligo -v- Shams DRAW
    Limerick -v- Waterford DRAW
    Longford -v- Cork DRAW
    @ 30/1 - 1pt
    Returns 31pts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

i admire ya for trying to make a bit of money from the loi,,best of luck with it by the way,but i find your staking to be very strange,
    you have 1pt on a 30-1 shot and at the same time you have 2pts on at evens,this is only 1 example i know but its something maybe you should look into,i know for sertain if this was the staking strategy i used in my log i wouldnt last long,
    just my thoughts,
    all the best..;)

coughlan08 wrote: »
    i admire ya for trying to make a bit of money from the loi,,best of luck with it by the way,but i find your staking to be very strange,
    you have 1pt on a 30-1 shot and at the same time you have 2pts on at evens,this is only 1 example i know but its something maybe you should look into,i know for sertain if this was the staking strategy i used in my log i wouldnt last long,
    just my thoughts,
    all the best..;)

Well I don't take advice off people who are still in school! :DOnly joking mate.

Ye I don't really have a staking plan, it's moreso the one's I feel will come true I put more points on, like predicting 3 draws @ 30/1 is a fairly hard bet so I only gave it 1pt, whereas Pats -1 got 2pts as Galway are pretty muck and their players weren't paid this week so morale will be down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

i think your missing the point a small bit...
    the 30-1 bet obviously is a lot less likely to happen than the pats -1,
    but your stakes dont reflect that,your stakes more or less say that the 30-1 bet has only double the chance of occuring than the pats bet.
    where realistically it has 21.4 times the chance of occuring than the pats bet.(30/1.4)=21.4.
    basically what im saying is that, the chance of occuring to odds ratio between your different bets are way off,,.
    hope you understand my point fully this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭joekeville

right gavo im taking ur advice :eek::eek:

pats -1 15/8
    bohs -1 11/5
    sligo draw 21/10
    uruguay 11/10
    brazil 19/20
    argentina 13/10
    spain 1/2

1 Euro gets me 400 lol

Bohs -1 @ 2/1 - 2pts
    Returns 6pts

Pats -1 @ 7/5 - 2pts
    Returns 4.8pts

Drogs -v- UCD Over 2.5 goals @ 5/4 - 2pts
    Returns 4.5pts

Drogs -v- UCD Over 2.5 goals / Pats -v- Galway Over 2.5 goals @ 4/1 - 1pt
    Returns 5pts

Limerick and draw / Longford and draw @ EVENS - 2pts
    Returns 4pts

Sligo -v- Shams DRAW
    Limerick -v- Waterford DRAW
    Longford -v- Cork DRAW
    @ 30/1 - 1pt
    Returns 31pts

Few winners, poxy Sligo-v-Shams screwing my 30/1 bet.:mad:

Bank 94.8pts

Shams -v- Pats DRAW
    Fingal -v- Sligo DRAW
    @ 10/1 - 2pts
    Returns 20pts

UCD -v- Bohs
    Paddy Madden First Goal Scorer @ 9/2 - 2pts
    Returns 11pts

Draw or St Pats/Draw or Drogheda @ 2/1 - 1.8pts
    Returns 5.82pts

Bank 89pts
    In Play 5.8pts

Wasn't really planning on doing any bets but sure how and ever.

Paddy Madden has scored 4 goals in 5 matches and is on fire for Bohs, player who will end up in England come next year imo. 9/2 is pretty good odds imo, and worth a punt.

In the two matches between Shams and Pats this season the away team has won, Pats are on good form whereas Rovers have been shaky, Pats will be well able for a draw. Drogs although haven't been Dundalk in a Louth derby in 2 years iirc, BUT Dundalk played away in Europe on Thursday which from all reports sounded intense along with several players injured/suspended I think Drogs can snatch a draw in Oriel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭dunno?

Shams -v- Pats DRAW
    Fingal -v- Sligo DRAW
    @ 10/1 - 2pts
    Returns 20pts

UCD -v- Bohs
    Returns 11pts

Returns 5.82pts

Bank 89pts
    In Play 5.8pts

Wasn't really planning on doing any bets but sure how and ever.

Paddy Madden has scored 4 goals in 5 matches and is on fire for Bohs, player who will end up in England come next year imo. 9/2 is pretty good odds imo, and worth a punt.

In the two matches between Shams and Pats this season the away team has won, Pats are on good form whereas Rovers have been shaky, Pats will be well able for a draw. Drogs although haven't been Dundalk in a Louth derby in 2 years iirc, BUT Dundalk played away in Europe on Thursday which from all reports sounded intense along with several players injured/suspended I think Drogs can snatch a draw in Oriel.
    Thanks mate I followed your Paddy Madden bet got 5/1 on ladbrokes

dunno? wrote: »
    Thanks mate I followed your Paddy Madden bet got 5/1 on ladbrokes

Good stuff, glad someone won some money from my log;). Hopefully the scores stay as and my other two bets will be winners.:D

Hopefully the scores stay as and my other two bets will be winners.:D

And just as I say that Drogs go 2-1 down, after being winning 1-0.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭dunno?

Its good to see someone doing this for the LOI fair play ;)

Shams -v- Pats DRAW
    Fingal -v- Sligo DRAW
    @ 10/1 - 2pts
    Returns 20pts

UCD -v- Bohs
    Returns 11pts

Returns 5.82pts

Bank 89pts
    In Play 5.8pts

Back to square one with 100pt Bank. Very unlucky by all accounts, Ryan Guy missing a peno with virually the last kick of the game to screw over my 10/1 bet. Then by all accounts Drogs should have gotten the draw too.

Knew making a profit would be hard but god is my luck bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

This is what i had...

Dundalk Vs. Drogs
    Bohs Vs. UCD
    Sligo Rovers Vs. Fingal DRAW
    and the one that ****ed one of my doubles over.........

Pats Vs. Rovers DRAW

Guy missed a bloody peno. RAGING:mad:

Still won a few bob so i'm pleased.

Gonna get these done early as won't be able to do them as usual on a Thursday and well I'll be on a bus down to Cork on Friday for the Shels match so these are somewhat blind-bets.

Drogs -v- Bohs Over 2.5 goals / Sligo -v- Galway Over 2.5 goals @ 4/1 - 2pts
    Returns 10pts

Bohs, Sligo, Fingal, and Pats all to win @ 7/1 - 1pt
    Returns 8pts

Sligo -v- Galway DRAW
    Pats -v- UCD DRAW
    @ 10/1 - 1pt
    Returns 11pts

Bank 96pts
    In Play 4pts

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

madden 1st goalscorer again

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭ForzaKid

Gonna get these done early as won't be able to do them as usual on a Thursday and well I'll be on a bus down to Cork on Friday for the Shels match so these are somewhat blind-bets.

Returns 10pts

Bohs, Sligo, Fingal, and Pats all to win @ 7/1 -
    1pt
    Returns 8pts

Sligo -v- Galway DRAW
    Pats -v- UCD DRAW
    @ 10/1 - 1pt
    Returns 11pts

Bank 96pts
    In Play 4pts
    NICE obviously bout 5/1 seen as the bohs game was voided ya??

Returns 10pts

Bohs, Sligo, Fingal, and Pats all to win @ 7/1 - 1pt
    Returns 8pts

Bank 96pts
    In Play 4pts

Anyone know what odds I'd get on both of these since Bohs match was void, afaik they were 1/2 to win, not sure on the overs? Forgot to do the best myself.:mad: