Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

scamalert wrote: »
    still the guy is way of the chart asking for 1400 for that banger as 200k miles is a lot of things waiting to brake down.

What things? Do you reckon it's on all factory parts at the moment and it's waiting to die or something?

€1400 is the asking price, it might be got for a couple of hundred less, €1400 is a lot more close to the mark than the €400 mentioned in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭barura

RoverJames wrote: »
    ..... did I say not to buy it?
    Nope, you did not. Didn't mean anything offensive by it. :)

Cheap people carrier with NCT and Tax. 850.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3457306

View2-12146433.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 64,774 ✭✭✭✭unkel

barura wrote: »

Not just a people carrier, a 9 seater. Diesel. With 4.5 months tax and 9 months NCT. Great find!

Though I somehow suspect the tax might be PSV :D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

unkel wrote: »
    Not just a people carrier, a 9 seater.
    Cannot be driven on a B licence, then?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

http://photos2.donedeal.ie/View2-12146433.jpeg

They are the slowest thing on the road though.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bop1977

Yes it can. B licence lets you drive a car with driver plus 8 seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 maca1985

http://www.bewaz.com/Publish/ResultDetail.aspx/10560
    Ok, it's an alfa so it'll probably break down 100yards down the road but nobody can argue that it's a stunning car for pennies. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,991 ✭✭✭Barr

View2-12146433.jpeg

I'd be worried that he describes it as a brick :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

And now for a little more luxobarge bangernomics.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3485607

View2-12276235.jpeg

None of your German riff raff here. :D Oh and its the LWB version for maximum luxonomics value.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭rebelccfc

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3165689

Bertone Astra at a good price!

• Registered Users Posts: 64,774 ✭✭✭✭unkel

maca1985 wrote: »
    http://www.bewaz.com/Publish/ResultDetail.aspx/10560
    Ok, it's an alfa so it'll probably break down 100yards down the road but nobody can argue that it's a stunning car for pennies. :)

An Alfa 147 advertised as an Alfa 159?

And what kinda site is that anyway? Another "me too" site like the ill fated bendunne.com? They only seem to have a few hundred cars for sale...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

Half hour from south Clonmel or 25mins from Dung

Is that a real place or is she referring to the car? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

high horse wrote: »
    Is that a real place or is she referring to the car? :D

No the manure heap in the yard:D

I assume they meant Dungarvan, but hadn't enough room. Its a funny description of it though:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Dung, Co. Cavan
    http://m.google.com/u/m/deaG4u

It's what they should have called the whole county.

People carrier is now 950. >:(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

This thread is for cars that you would actually buy and drive though... :pac:

You couldn't pay me to own that thing. Has to be one of the roughest yokes I'v seen on this thread for quite sometime no offence intended at all though!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭alias no.9

166man wrote: »

You couldn't pay me to own that thing. Has to be one of the roughest yokes I'v seen on this thread for quite sometime no offence intended at all though!

Got to agree. They were slow and agricultural when new and there's no reason to believe age will have done anything to improve it. It lacks anything that could trigger even the slightest feeling of smug self satisfaction that makes bangernomics worthwhile.

It's all good, sure I'm just waiting to be 25 and then all the goodies will be open to myself. Such as vans. For now, stuff like vans seems to be the only option short of starting a business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Agree, there is a place called stop, and we are crashing through it with that yoke.
    Please no, it is just hideous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

What's the general cutoff point for a banger do ye think? I just bought something for 2k and I'm not sure if I'm allowed join the club. :)

Lots of nice extras, 165 horses, interior space of a small holiday home and a decent test to boot. Not everyones cup of tea but for a grand !!!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3501266

Full-12349106.jpeg

How about a face lifted Clio 182 for 1500 quid and what ever you haggle off. Future classic here guys. People will be giving 3 and 4 grand for these in 15-20 years time.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3473311

View2-12219710.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Saab Ed wrote: »
    How about a face lifted Clio 182 for 1500 quid and what ever you haggle off. Future classic here guys. People will be giving 3 and 4 grand for these in 15-20 years time.

View2-12219710.jpeg

is it me or door color really does not match the body?

And while we're at it, the best car in the world ever .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3278029

View2-11276959.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

And while we're at it, the best car in the world ever .....

View2-11276959.jpeg

It truly is and about 60 times better that its successor ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

****! at 1k eu its a fecking bargain! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

View2-12219710.jpeg

Immobilizer prob and not starting though, would have had it by now other wise, Is there an easy way to see if it's the immobilizer or is it a trip to the dealer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

200k on the clock, it's bearly run in!

Cui bono?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Any brave souls out there willing to take one of these on?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3305507

Looks straight and clean to me in the pictures which were perhaps a wee while back judging by the price he has on the windscreen.