Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luckiest person you know? NO CELEBS

• 28-09-2007 5:45am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭

Guy I went to school with in London was a right scumbag. Right junky fcuking bagsnatcher........However, all that time spent under railway bridges and motorway under passes sticking needles in his arm and sniffing glue he learned how to do one thing.....graffiti.

His graffiti art was so good he was taken on by a large advertising company as a graphic artist..found out the other day he is now on board of directors earning a tonne of cash after only 5 years at the company!

You're just jealous you might say......feckin' right I am:D

So who's the luckiest jammy git you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Thats a good one alright.

I've a mate who just seems to always win over the bookie. dont feckin ask me how he does it but he does. Pulls off some rediculous bets. A quick example was he had teves to score first against chelsea and united to win 2-0. 40/1 and he had 10 euro on it but thats just the tip of the iceberg. I could go on and on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I've had a fair lucky streak over the last few years. Found a phone, good at the time, won an mp3 player, also fairly good at the time, won a digital camera, average at the time, found various amounts of money, won an 80gb video ipod there before the summer. Now, the state is giving me loadsa money. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

TPD wrote:
    I've had a fair lucky streak over the last few years. Found a phone, good at the time, won an mp3 player, also fairly good at the time, won a digital camera, average at the time, found various amounts of money, won an 80gb video ipod there before the summer. Now, the state is giving me loadsa money. :)

Your name is Anthony by any chance ? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭gucci

TPD wrote:
    course the OWNER of that phone was the real lucky person when you returned it to them as it was rightfully theirs? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Dont think many of my mates are particulary lucky.
    There was 1 lad I knew who always seemed to be winning loads on the horses.
    Later I found out that he was regularly loosing more than he won!

As for me ... if it wasnt for bad luck, Id have no luck at all :o

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Saint_Mel wrote:
    Dont think many of my mates are particulary lucky.
    There was 1 lad I knew who always seemed to be winning loads on the horses.
    Later I found out that he was regularly loosing more than he won!

As for me ... if it wasnt for bad luck, Id have no luck at all :o
    The thing with people who gamble regularly is that they never tell you about the losses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I knew a really lucky guy once......

but he died shortly afterwards.

Terry wrote:
    The thing with people who gamble regularly is that they never tell you about the losses.
    yeah and theyre usually the same people who buy a car for nearly 2 grand less than anyone else, rest of us are suckers arent we....? sometimes i wonder how true those prices are :)

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I wouldn't say anyone I know is especially lucky. One guy probably does much better than his attitude would lead to you believe, but that's mainly because he tends to jump without looking and has managed to land on his feet more often than on his arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

gucci wrote:
    course the OWNER of that phone was the real lucky person when you returned it to them as it was rightfully theirs? :confused:

Sim wouldnt read, so I couldnt find their home number. That thing was filled to the brim of porn, I mean literally hundreds of photos and a few videos. Also had the crazyfrog tune, god I hate that tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'd consider myself pretty lucky, in that I have a nice job, family, house and boyfriend. When you hear how some people have grown up I feel lucky to have had such a nice childhood. I don't hate my job, it doesn't make me miserable and my other half is very good to me and cares a great deal about me. What more would I want from life?! On the other hand, I never win anything or have amazing things happen to me. I suppose it depends on your view on what luck is!

TPD wrote:
    Also had the crazyfrog tune, god I hate that tune.
    oh dear god....i hope you destroyed that phone, contaminated for ever!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life. I remember talking to him and he had worked out that with the money he was going to receive from all his rich relatives when they passed on he would be set for life. A year later his parents gave him their huge house for free because they wanted something smaller. So he now pays the mortgage on their 2 bed bungalow while he lives for free in their 4 bed mansion. Actually he doesn't pay anything, he was left a house in Wexford by his Aunt so he uses the rent off that to pay for his parents mortgage.

He's not very social so I always thought "well he never goes out enough to meet any girls so maybe he'll always be single". Well there was a friend of a friend who had someone over from America in Sept '01, the 9/11 thing happened and her flight was grounded so his parents offered to put her up until she could go home. She ended up living with him for a month, they are now married with 2 kids.

He is also one of the few people who managed to get a job a week after he finished college, and he was far from top of his class. The job he works in allows him to show up anytime up till 10am and is only a 5 minute bike ride down the road from his mansion.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭miles teg

I'm always finding tenners etc. on the street. Comes in handy at times.
    Also, found a diamond ring just yesterday... quite a good one at that.
    Unlucky in a sense as I just bought an engagement ring for herself last week:rolleyes: ... I would have (and still did) hand it into lost and found though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,002 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

I'm lucky I guess. Great wife, great kids, good friends and family I can rely on if needed, healthy, reasonably well off.
    I was seriously ill a few years ago but survived it and am now healthier than I ever was.
    Life is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Always putting on jackets / jeans and finding money I forgot about in the pockets, usually notes ... and always at the most convenient times.

Lucky or extremely forgetful? You decide ;)

The only really lucky thing (so far) was winning myself and the gf a holiday from a Cadburys' wrapper. Was about to toss it in the bin before someone pointed out to check it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I just want to be lucky once
    just ONCE

tonight Euro lotto 130 million pleassssse just once

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

miles teg wrote:
    I'm always finding tenners etc. on the street. Comes in handy at times.
    Also, found a diamond ring just yesterday... quite a good one at that.
    Unlucky in a sense as I just bought an engagement ring for herself last week:rolleyes: ... I would have (and still did) hand it into lost and found though.

I saw a poster up looking for a lost diamond ring last week on South Frederick Street!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

L31mr0d wrote:
    There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life. I remember talking to him and he had worked out that with the money he was going to receive from all his rich relatives when they passed on he would be set for life. A year later his parents gave him their huge house for free because they wanted something smaller. So he now pays the mortgage on their 2 bed bungalow while he lives for free in their 4 bed mansion. Actually he doesn't pay anything, he was left a house in Wexford by his Aunt so he uses the rent off that to pay for his parents mortgage.

He's not very social so I always thought "well he never goes out enough to meet any girls so maybe he'll always be single". Well there was a friend of a friend who had someone over from America in Sept '01, the 9/11 thing happened and her flight was grounded so his parents offered to put her up until she could go home. She ended up living with him for a month, they are now married with 2 kids.

He is also one of the few people who managed to get a job a week after he finished college, and he was far from top of his class. The job he works in allows him to show up anytime up till 10am and is only a 5 minute bike ride down the road from his mansion.

I don't know this guy, but I now hate him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

L31mr0d wrote:

I know a girl who would be in a similar sort of position and I have to say she quibbles over stupid things, acts spoiled and in life generally isn't as happy as you think she would be and I wouldn't want to be her (well the male equivalent).

It doesn't matter how lucky you are you are going to have your own problems so I just go and enjoy my lot and don't worry about how lucky I think other people are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

My friend is constantly getting something for nothing. His brother in law gave him a minolta camera, really nice one too, and the following week later someone randomly offered him darkroom equipment for free. I asked him, but sure how are you going to use that? Apparently his uncle used to do photography and he's going to sort out a darkroom for him, set it up et al. Just one example out of a thousand. Lucky bastid.

EDIT funnily enough I was given darkroom equipment the other week after giving out about my friend's good luck. :rolleyes: Random.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

L31mr0d wrote:
    There is a guy i've known from birth who has had the easiest life ever and is now set up for life...

I hope he's kind to children and small animals, gives buckets of cash to worthy causes & thanks his lucky stars every day.

Cos if he's an obnoxious fecker karma is gonna give him an excruciating case of festering gonads for yin and yang's sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

fúck all you lucky shower of bástards.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I'm alive and happy... has to be me! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Jon wrote:
    I'm alive and happy... has to be me! :)
    Yeah well my mate is alive and happy.
    And he's got darkroom equipment and a camera. :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,212 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Have a cousin who plays the horses and wins more often than he loses.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭stcatherine

Me !

Just had the worst 2 years of my life but still here to tell the tale with a wonderful Husband, beautiful little boy and a new start in life here in Kilkenny. :D