Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• 15-06-2005 5:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=267250

Its posts like Bohboys which make me curse my mother for having me in 1986 rather than 1976 :(

Just wondering, but was this place really truly the heaven on earth that Bohboy tells us younguns of? If New York had Studio 51 and Manchester had the Hacienda, was The Asylum Dublins legendary spot? I may have only been a kid at the time, but I still remember my cousin (now in his late 20s) having flyers from the place on his bedroom wall, even vaguely recall him going on about how great it was
    So anyway
    What year did it open?
    What year did it close?
    Why was it closed/ever allowed to open? (I assume it was because the government didnt realise what was going on there re drugs until it was too late, I assume they enacted some kind of legislation since?)
    Was it an actual nightclub, or just a big shed full of people on yokes
    How come there is nowhere like it to be found today unless you go to an abandoned warehouse rave?

And how come they dont hold weekly raves in The Point? Drugs pressure from the cops? Dont particularly understand that thinking- Godskitchen et al there is nobody who isnt on pills, but it still gets a licence. Isnt this as if the government is saying "alright, you can have some event where the whole crowd is off their tits once every 5 months, but no more"

God to have been born in 1976. My youth would have consisted of this madhouse, and I would have been old enough to appreciate the advent of G-Funk rap at this time :( I feel I missed so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Tha Gopher wrote:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=267250

Its posts like Bohboys which make me curse my mother for having me in 1986 rather than 1976 :(

Just wondering, but was this place really truly the heaven on earth that Bohboy tells us younguns of? If New York had Studio 51 and Manchester had the Hacienda, was The Asylum Dublins legendary spot? I may have only been a kid at the time, but I still remember my cousin (now in his late 20s) having flyers from the place on his bedroom wall, even vaguely recall him going on about how great it was
    So anyway
    What year did it open?
    What year did it close?
    Why was it closed/ever allowed to open? (I assume it was because the government didnt realise what was going on there re drugs until it was too late, I assume they enacted some kind of legislation since?)
    Was it an actual nightclub, or just a big shed full of people on yokes
    How come there is nowhere like it to be found today unless you go to an abandoned warehouse rave?

And how come they dont hold weekly raves in The Point? Drugs pressure from the cops? Dont particularly understand that thinking- Godskitchen et al there is nobody who isnt on pills, but it still gets a licence. Isnt this as if the government is saying "alright, you can have some event where the whole crowd is off their tits once every 5 months, but no more"

God to have been born in 1976. My youth would have consisted of this madhouse, and I would have been old enough to appreciate the advent of G-Funk rap at this time :( I feel I missed so much

I went to Sides more than the Asylum but used to occasionaly go there,If the truth be known Sides DC was Ireland's first and greatest ever dance club.

Anyway about the Asylum..it opened AFAIK around late 1991,i first went in 1992,it closed around 1996 (i stand corrected on that)it was closed basically over Drugs and rival gangs from Finglas and Ballyfermot fighting over who's "patch" The Asylum was..yeah basically back in the old days the Goverment and Garda were a bit slow and didnt realise for a number of years just what really happened in these clubs,even though in most Rave clubs there was hardlyt ever any fighting compared to your normal crappy disco's where you'd always be guaranteed a fight they had to take a stance..w ankers.

It wasnt a nightclub as such it was just a number or large rooms with a dj box,lighting and throngs of people packed together mad out of it on yokes,ahh im getting goosebumps even thinking about it :rolleyes: :D

How come there is nowhere like it to be found today unless you go to an abandoned warehouse rave you asked?

Because the dance music scene today is commercialised rubbish unlike the old days where everything was carefree,peace love and unity was the order of the day back then,you could go up to a complete stranger and shake hands with them or hug them and it woukld be all smiles all around and you would make so many friends (even though you might never see them again that wasnt the point :D ) nowadays if you tried anything like that in a normal dance club you';d probably be likely to get a box off some coked up prick or someone push you away or stare at you like you'd 10 heads,illegal raves in wwarehouses,etc,etc are the closest you will get to the old times but still it will never be the same,im not on the scene any more but if i choose to go to a Rave thesedays it wouldnt be some poncy one in town,more than likely it would be an underground rave where there is no attitude and good vibes only

I wouldnt be seen dead at the likes of godskitchen,it might be ok for pilled up 17 years olds but its not my scene,weekly raves at the point wouldnt be a success its too big and there is too much competition,years ago maybe but not now,perhaps bi-monthly raves there would be an option,think is though this 1am closing is a load of bollock s,years ago the likes of Sides and the Asyum went on all nite,proper order..hope ive answered your questions,any more feel free to ask me.......... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Well said Jonny and you covered every aspect I think. It was just a series of rooms almost pitch dark but had this unbelievable friendly vibe even though half the blokes were tooled up. I never saw any trouble.

Gardai and legal authorities were very slow to catch on to the rave scene back then with little or no idea of what constituted dance music, typical old style Gardai. The beauty of The Asylum was that the only power courts had then were to keep rejecting their licence but due to a legal loophole The Asylum reopened under a brand new name every couple of months with a fresh slate..eg. Thunderdome, etc.

1994 was its high point with Pressure, Warren K and Ed Case playing weekly but thats when the raids began. In fairness the police had footage of bouncers dealing on the front door and basically taking the piss.

On Paddys Day 1996 the place was raided at 6.30pm and huge hauls and numerous arrests were made from a full house. The shock of the timing of the raid and the amounts of drug found shocked the public and I dont think it ever opened up again.

Those days will never return because they were so original. I really think this era are missing out (and I dont want to sound as if I know it all) through promotional greed and "top" European DJ ****.

I still walk down by Sackville the odd time and look at where the old shutters used to be, it had such a mark on my youth. But on the flipside I know from talking to a few people from back then that most of the crowd then are either strung out, HIV positive or dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭fish fingers

the castle in salthill in galway had a great buzz from early to mid 90's.
    diff nights including sex kitchen, kaos, wiped, jooce. real frindly crowd.
    used to get some great dj's. justin robertson, carl cox, joey beltram, andy wetherall all played there. henry's in cork used to run buses up every few months. again like the early clubs in dublin the cops hadn a clue what was goin on. vicks, poppers, tops off, 30 pounds for 1 yoke. the cops eventually got there act together and closed it down. superintendent "Sugrue" was his name. bit ironic that. anyway happy memories :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

I wouldnt be seen dead at the likes of godskitchen,it might be ok for pilled up 17 years olds
    Would'nt be seen dead?17 year olds!I'll have you know sonny that I went to GOdskitchen this year and had a ****ing blinder. I will admit it is a big knackerfest with people there just to get fùcked and not even think about the music but it was a damn good experience this year

But keeping On-Topic , Ive heard so much about this Asylum place and unfortunately I was born a few years too late,any pics floating about anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

My younger brother had a mate who used to work as a cleaner in the Asylum.
    (Back in 94 ish)
    Needless to say one of the fringe benefits of cleaning up after saturday night was the amount of "stuff" (Money,drugs,booze)left behind...
    btw the advent of G-Funk rap wasnt that special :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭v-deniso

One question, where exactly was The Asylum and also Sides?

I thought The Asylum was just around the conrer from the quays on the northside near the Four Courts

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

v-deniso wrote:
    One question, where exactly was The Asylum and also Sides?

I thought The Asylum was just around the conrer from the quays on the northside near the Four Courts
    The Asylum is on Sackville Place (I think that's the name of the street?) But it was just off O'Connell St. down the side of Clerys.

And the entrance for Sides was in Dame Lane just across from 4 Dame Lane. The actual club itself is now the Mercantile (sp?), the Mercantile might not be the name but it's the pub that's next door to Iskanders on Dame Street.

jonny68 wrote:
    It wasn’t a nightclub as such it was just a number or large rooms with a dj box,lighting and throngs of people packed together mad out of it on yokes,ahh im getting goosebumps even thinking about it
    It actually was a nightclub before. I think the name of it during the 80's was Mirage?

bohsboy wrote:
    It was just a series of rooms almost pitch dark but had this unbelievable friendly vibe even though half the blokes were tooled up. I never saw any trouble
    You’re right about the rooms. Extremely dark, with a menacing vibe. The main dancefloor downstairs was just a dark rectangular box of a room that had a metal cage at one end that was the DJ box, which was great because you could get up real close to the DJs. I remember seeing Carl Cox play there and I was literally just 2 feet away from him. That guy knows how to work a crowd!
    The bar downstairs had camouflage netting draped in front of them which was well confusing when trying to get a drink while under the influence of class A’s.

I certainly wouldn't use words like "friendly" to describe the atmosphere in the Asylum. It had a good vibe in the beginning but it quickly turned into a real dodgy place. Mainly to do with the reasons jonny68 gave, but the fact that some high profile cases of people dying due to overindulging in E (or at least that’s what the English press claimed) was starting to make the headlines made people more aware of these types of clubs.
    Plus Nora Owen was on a mission to eradicate drugs from society.

I remember a mate of mine nearly getting a good beating due to the fact that somebody thought he was selling E in there. It was sorted out in the end, but he was only giving another mate half a pill and the resident “dealer” I won’t say his name, but he was from Ballyfermot and was a ginger tosser, saw him and got all thick about it.
    GaRtH_V wrote:
    But keeping On-Topic , Ive heard so much about this Asylum place and unfortunately I was born a few years too late,any pics floating about anywhere?

You’d be doing well to get pictures mate. It well before the days of Digital Cameras and picture phones!

Now Sides DC on the other hand was as jonny68 said…
    was Ireland's first and greatest ever dance club.

Truly a legendary club with great music and a great vibe. It did however close down and then reopen a few years later but tbh it was never the same.
    I used to love when they’d cut all the lights and have the just the strobe light going for what one seem like an eternity.

It befell to what usually happens to clubs after they’ve been running for a while, an influx of scum.

B.

GaRtH_V wrote:
    Would'nt be seen dead?17 year olds!I'll have you know sonny that I went to GOdskitchen this year and had a ****ing blinder. I will admit it is a big knackerfest with people there just to get fùcked and not even think about the music but it was a damn good experience this year

dont mean to offend anyone mate but im from a different era that's all,im sure the youth of today think oits all great and fair play to them.. :)

BaZmO* wrote:
    It actually was a nightclub before. I think the name of it during the 80's was Mirage?

Yeah your right actually id forgotten it was actually called Abraxis AFAIK i was there once :o in the 80's it was one of the very few places at that time that the very small black community could go(things were different then)

Now Sides DC on the other hand was as jonny68 said…

Truly a legendary club with great music and a great vibe. It did however close down and then reopen a few years later but tbh it was never the same.
    I used to love when they’d cut all the lights and have the just the strobe light going for what one seem like an eternity.

It befell to what usually happens to clubs after they’ve been running for a while, an influx of scum.
    A man after my own heartIndeed we'll never see the likes of it again,that strobe light wasmental..AFAIK strobe lights are supposedly banned from clubs and raves thesedays? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I tell you what some of the stories are giving me a buzz remembering some of the mad nights I had in the 90's before I left Ireland. Even tho' I never went to The Asylum I did go to Sides and a few of the other 'legendary clubs/raves' mentioned.

I remember the buzz at the back of Sides in the alley with people milling around off their faces. One particular night I popped a 'blue couch' and decided I would take the edge off it with a pill. I picked up what I thought was an e of this bloke and decided I would check out this club that was next door to Ri Ra's called Fi Fi's which sounded like it played some good tunes.

I remember waking up in the toilets at about 3am in a very groggy state with the sound of someone banging on the door. Instead of a night of bangin tunes I got lost down a K hole with a bouncer bangin on a door to get me out! It was at that time it started getting nasty with all sorts of crap being passed off as e's.

Even still looking back over that whole period in the 90's is enough to make me misty eyed. As BohsBoy said in another thread they were,

Crazy, crazy times...

It really was a unique period in the history of Irish clubs and I don't think we will ever see a return to it. As I listen to Grace "Not Over Yet" and sink a Melbourne Bitter I can't help getting all nostalgic and missing Dublin in the good ol' days...

Declan

Nice one DStar, lump in my throat stuff that! ;)

I think RTE did a brief documentary around 95 or 96 on the club/drug scene and shot footage one night in the Asylum. Suppose it would be impossible to track down now.

Just remembered a classic memory from that place, about five in the morning one nite, through the haze a bride and groom are giving it loads on the floor in full wedding gear and no-one batting an eyelid. I pray they were on the way home from a fancy dress party!

There is a nice video on www.mrspring.net in the downloads, old section, called backto1993 and has some great clips from back in the day.

The only other venue I think could hold anything near to the atmosphere from back then would be the SFX. I saw Underworld there back in 96 and it was probably just as crazy. Nice and dark and had that "ravey" feel.

Have a couple of tapes from then if anyone would like to trade plus Abbey Discs still sell a good few from the Asylum and early Pressure stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

The Asylum was a filthy hole but **** me the music in it was superb.

Just close your eyes and boogie :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

he he he
    id totally forgotten about abraxas!! but yeah i do remember hearing that the place would be thronged with members of the asian & black community cos wanker bouncers everywhere else would not let them in.
    it was a bit before my time but only slightly, I can remember Only ever going to sides once back in the day but I had a great time!!!! :D

bohsboy wrote:

I think RTE did a brief documentary around 95 or 96 on the club/drug scene and shot footage one night in the Asylum. Suppose it would be impossible to track down now.

Just remembered a classic memory from that place, about five in the morning one nite, through the haze a bride and groom are giving it loads on the floor in full wedding gear and no-one batting an eyelid. I pray they were on the way home from a fancy dress party!

There is a nice video on www.mrspring.net in the downloads, old section, called backto1993 and has some great clips from back in the day.

The only other venue I think could hold anything near to the atmosphere from back then would be the SFX. I saw Underworld there back in 96 and it was probably just as crazy. Nice and dark and had that "ravey" feel.

Have a couple of tapes from then if anyone would like to trade plus Abbey Discs still sell a good few from the Asylum and early Pressure stuff.

Bride and groom in the asylum fcukin hell thats deadly :D yeah i sent that back to 93 video alright its the business as is the fun city one my first ever large event in 1990 in the Point,you couldnt get an E that nite for love nor money but somehow some people managed to get some and were mad out of it..ahh all this nostalgia is getting me all light headed :D:D

PS-you going the match tomorrow nite Bohs Boy?Off to Belgium next week as well deadly :D

Also i must mention if i havent already the Ormond Multi Media centre,after Sides,the Olympic and The Asylum closed (The Temple Of Sound went a bit s hite)The Ormond was the place to go,i had some legendary nites there from seeing Carl Cox rock the place they let way way too many people in that nite greedy c unts made a fortune,but it was amazing,also Jon The Dentist fcuk me he raised the roof,Jeff Mills on a Thursday nite,amazing,and not forgetitng the last ever nite..WOW what a nite that was,if anybody has that on tape is there any chance of uploading it on here id dearly love to hear it again :)

bohsboy wrote:

Jeezuz BohsBoy what are ya doing to me? I seriously need to shout you a beer whenever I go back to Dublin for getting me on to that video. Watching has given me that tingly feeling so familiar when you are 'coming up in a club'.

I have had some memorable nights in the Olympic Ballroom with DJ Pressure on the decks. By the way what is DJ Pressure doing now?

Also had a few rockin nights in the SFX the most memorable was seeing Eat Static when they played there and then going back to my pad in Exchequer Street with a group of friends to listen to my brother spin some more records.

Sheer bliss...

Nice one DStar! ;)

Pressure ain't around much these days, just the very very odd reunion gig which are few and far between these days. He was a legend in his day, personally not for his mixing but his tune selection. Always thought he built a great set and dropped the right tune at the right time. Interestingly, I searched around for him a bit on the net and there is a DJ Pressure in Holland who got DJ of the year last year over there. I read up his profile and it says he is from Dublin and was a veteran on the dance scene in Ireland! Hardly our old Pressure is it? Check www.breakz.be

Sadly things are'nt what they used to be :( , probably just as good as I'm getting married in a few weeks and need to cop on! :D

I have a copy of that Last Night at The Ormond, only one part of it tho, DJ Orbit, Ken O Flanagan and a bit of Pressure on it. If anyone can upload tapes I'll mail it on and you can do the business.

bohsboy wrote:
    Sadly things are'nt what they used to be :( , probably just as good as I'm getting married in a few weeks and need to cop on!

Welcome to the club mate. I have been married 5 yrs with two kids. After having kids everything changes. You can never step in the same river twice but you can still reminisce about the good 'ol days when watching / listening to music from links like the one you just posted.

Here's a few of my brother that you may be interested in:

http://deephousenetwork.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=5953&sid=92eecc8961487fa8d65f97b503c891bd

http://www.powerfm.org/wwwboard/viewtopic.php?t=1267&view=previous

http://www.nitevibe.com/buzz/nitevibe_buzz87.htm

and my favorite club (not because I worked there) because I had so many good nights off my head with brother Keith on the decks who is still knocking out tunes...

http://www.dnalounge.com/ (watch it live!!)

Declan

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Can I join this club....:D I am married with two young kids and I miss the old days.I would not go near a club in this city now,they price they charge in and for crap commercial dance music....bring back the old days.

Anybody hear at the Dance nation in the point....I think it was 95/96 it was the first big rave it was a top night with an unbelievable line up.But I think the big raves were the death of the whole scene as we new and loved.Are you ever at home on a Saturday night (like I am now) with nappies all over the place and an old tune on the radio reminds you of the old days.We did not know how good we had it.

Some old acts/Djs I loved back in the day.

Liquid Wheel
    4th Dimension
    Mick Walsh
    Mark Kavanagh etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Dub13 wrote:
    4th Dimension

LOL my claim to fame in the video for theie song ehee De de de diddley THUMP THUMP THUMP.....

In the point when they had the stage in the middle.

kdjac

Dub13 wrote:
    Can I join this club....:D I am married with two young kids and I miss the old days.I would not go near a club in this city now,they price they charge in and for crap commercial dance music....bring back the old days...

Some old acts/Djs I loved back in the day.

Liquid Wheel
    4th Dimension
    Mick Walsh
    Mark Kavanagh etc etc.

Good one Dub13! You know what I am talking about.

Good choice. Do you know if there is anything floating around online from any of those?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Dub13 wrote:
    Anybody hear at the Dance nation in the point....I think it was 95/96 it was the first big rave it was a top night with an unbelievable line up.

Was the "Heaven On Earth" Rave in the Point in 92/93 not the first big rave here? The Prodigy were the headline act.

B.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

dSTAR wrote:
    Good choice. Do you know if there is anything floating around online from any of those?

Not sure but thak good for old tapes....its getting harder to find a car these days with a tape deck,god I sound like my da :(

as for the first big rave I dont no much about the Heaven On Earth gig...any more detail's

• Registered Users Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭JDxtra

I've got .mp3 copies of most of the old Asylum / DJ Pressure tapes (thanks Anto!). Listening back on them now the mixing and track selection doesn't seem that good on some of them.

Nethertheless, most of the tunes are still classics... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Hey jdempsey, any chance I could get some of those mp3's?? I've been dying to get my hands on some of the old Pressure stuff, especially House Pressure 6 and the Asylum Special, my two favourite tapes from back then. I'd kill to get the track listings so that I could search for the tunes online, but I haven't even seen a tape in ages!!

I was at Dance Nation - what a night!! Travelling up in a bus full of strangers, not really knowing what to expect (was my first big rave), and coming back on a bus full of best mates!! Brings a smile to my face everytime I think of it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭JDxtra

I don't have Pressue House 6 or the special one, but do have these tapes and partial track listings...

Asylum - Dj Pressure
    Asylum - Dj Thyme
    Asylum - Live (pressure) 21st May 94
    Asylum - Live 94
    Asylum - Warren K
    Asylum - Warren K mix 1
    Carl Cox - Waterford 94
    Casper - Illusion
    Dj Dag - Final Frontier
    Dj Dilly
    Dj Fergie - 93 to 94
    Dj Pressure - Deeper
    Dj Pressure - House 2
    Dj Pressure - house 3
    Dj Pressure - House 4
    Dj Pressure - House 5
    Dj Pressure - House 7
    Dj Pressure - Journeys in Dance
    Dj Pressure - Wanted
    Dj Pressure - Wonderland
    Dj Pressure -V
    Ed Case - The Magic Roundabout (Live)
    Ed Case 1
    Ed Case 2
    Ed Case 3
    Mick Walsh - Gravity (Sides)
    Psyclone zone 4 (Fri 15th July '94)
    Sasha - In the mix (May '95)
    Sasha - Son of god
    Sci Vs Brolly

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭mick masterson

Dub13 wrote:
    Not sure but thak good for old tapes....its getting harder to find a car these days with a tape deck,god I sound like my da :(

as for the first big rave I dont no much about the Heaven On Earth gig...any more detail's

Yea I was there ,one of the best nights I have ever been too ...I was very young but remember it was to be an all night rave ..but the garda only granted a licence till 2 am.
    There was a huge lazer lighting rig in the middle of the point unbelieveable for its time the lights where amazing the prodigy live where class ..Place packed
    the tickets where 15 punts which at that time was huge still have the stub ticket in my Ma's house stuck to the wall ... unreal ...

Also on the topic there was also magonicals on south Ann street saw felix there amazing one Sunday had some beers where them after ..changed into the system soon after ...

Have to agree though sides was the best club in Dublin the atmosphere was class ..went there quite alot the filims and shapes shining on the walls some nights where had ..

jdempsey wrote:
    I don't have Pressue House 6 or the special one, but do have these tapes and partial track listings...

Asylum - Dj Pressure
    Asylum - Dj Thyme
    Asylum - Live (pressure) 21st May 94
    Asylum - Live 94
    Asylum - Warren K
    Asylum - Warren K mix 1
    Carl Cox - Waterford 94
    Casper - Illusion
    Dj Dag - Final Frontier
    Dj Dilly
    Dj Fergie - 93 to 94
    Dj Pressure - Deeper
    Dj Pressure - House 2
    Dj Pressure - house 3
    Dj Pressure - House 4
    Dj Pressure - House 5
    Dj Pressure - House 7
    Dj Pressure - Journeys in Dance
    Dj Pressure - Wanted
    Dj Pressure - Wonderland
    Dj Pressure -V
    Ed Case - The Magic Roundabout (Live)
    Ed Case 1
    Ed Case 2
    Ed Case 3
    Mick Walsh - Gravity (Sides)
    Psyclone zone 4 (Fri 15th July '94)
    Sasha - In the mix (May '95)
    Sasha - Son of god
    Sci Vs Brolly

Mate any chance of uploading these tapes as MP3's here?would dearly love to hear some of these :)

Fully endorsed. You have some quality stuff there. Would be old skoolers heaven if we could listen to some of that stuff! :D

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I really regret having never gone to the Asylum. Meant to so many times but we always ended up in the Temple of Sound. I loved that place. In the early days when they brought around trays of fruit and Johnny Moy would be starting out the night with tracks like Bug Powder Dust and the remix of Kosmos by Paul Weller (what was that mix again?). Then when it started to kick in on would come Green Velvet - Flash and the place would explode. The weeks standing for nearly an hour in the queue waiting for the likes of Billy Nasty and Fabio Paras to play. Such memories!
    I met my now wife there nearly 10 years ago (we also have an eight month old daughter), we just got married last week in Cyprus and during our honeymoon in the second week we drove to Ayia Napa and spent the night. Decided for old times sake to wander into a club. Went to a place called the Castle and about 30 minutes after we got there we tried the local things again for old times sake. All I can say is they were bloody good and actually really reminded me of some of my first encounters! Club didnt even nearly compare though.