Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish dad's reaction to the news his son has "failed" his driving test.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭metroburgers

goat2 wrote: »
    i think it is priceless, we let our true feelings known to kin and even though he was a bit mad, he was not happy about paying for another driving test, as he said to get the same answer,

i got the test on the second go,
    and when my older child was doing her test, she said she would not fail, and that i would be the only person in the house with a fail first time round,
    i then asked them to bet on it, and we agreed 100e,
    i went with her as far as test centre and went off down town to kill time while she was out doing her test, i did carry the 100e in my pocket hoping to be handing it over,
    but lo and behold when test was over and i asked the result, she had failed, i just put out the open palm, and took it, but i took her for lunch on it, a bet was a bet after all,
    she picked on me for a time before the test just because i failed first time round,
    i did not say anything to her after hers, i knew how she felt, i had felt the same when i failed, i hated the thought of having to go through the same thing all over again than the price of the thing,
    so i applied for it for her and in we went six months later, she did not ask to bet on it that time, at least i lost nothing on the first bet and it paid for her second test, she passed it and was happy

Is this one of the lesser known Aesop's Fables? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Vertical video. My god, youtube should ban it. The state should ban it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Did he just say he could take it again in 2 weeks!

Fcuk - it was a year waiting after you failed back in my day...

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

i loved it,
    was that a mayo accent,

No, mix of cavan and leitrim.

Duff wrote: »
    Sounds nothing like a Louth accent. The son is from Limerick according to his Facebook.

Wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I laughed too hard at "Jaysus I'm a fucking good while waiting" :D

MadsL wrote: »
    Fake

Definitely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

They're from Leitrim

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

"The next time you go for that fcukin teessssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhtttttttttt"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Jesus, maybe I'm too long out of Ireland but what's the craic with the swearing?? Is it a rural-Ireland-parents thing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Son is a gobsh1te.

Nah, he's a bit of a ride

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

thestar wrote: »
    I'm on facebook a long time and its one of the funniest things I'v ever watched on it
    Your honour, the defence rests.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

beks101 wrote: »
    Jesus, maybe I'm too long out of Ireland but what's the craic with the swearing?? Is it a rural-Ireland-parents thing??

Yes. My Dad can only go 3 words without swearing. His record is 7 non swearing words in a row, but only cos we made him do it. There were a lot of breaks in that sentence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

my Dad will break words up to schtick a schwear word in. He's un-f**kin-believable!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

sopretty wrote: »
    my Dad will break words up to schtick a schwear word in. He's un-f**kin-believable!

Ha ha ha same. Ah aul lads :D :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

36588628.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

It's clearly not fake. Good luck getting an auld fella like that to feign that reaction on camera.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

i loved it,
    was that a mayo accent,

I reckon it is my dads from mayo and sounds like him

lukesmom wrote: »
    I reckon it is my dads from mayo and sounds like him

It's a leitrim/ cavan accent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

The worst acting ever. ****ing terrible. Fake as it gets.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭cml387

So fake it's unbelievable how anyone could think it's genuine.
    See how there are so many different opinions on the accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Schwiiing wrote: »
    The worst acting ever. ****ing terrible. Fake as it gets.

I think it's genuine but it seems quite a few believe it to be fake

I know if I asked my dad to make a fake video like that for me he'd tell me to go away :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

lukesmom wrote: »
    I think it's genuine but it seems quite a few believe it to be fake

I know if I asked my dad to make a fake video like that for me he'd tell me to go away :)

:eek:. Daft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

"ZOMG ITS FAKE!!"

I genuinely believe it's real, doesn't matter because it's still funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

Fake and stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,201 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'm pretty sure I knew that father chap about 10 years ago on building sites. Gas man if it's him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Me? wrote: »
    Fake and stupid.

REAL AND FUNNY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Fake, towards the end the oul lad nearly breaks into a smile.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Reminds me of my ole man!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

beks101 wrote: »

Rural Ireland thing? Ever lived in Dublin?

The swearing is an Irish thing. I was once told by my former colleagues in London, that when I swore (Fúck word occasionally) or Irish friends swore, they said there was almost a natural poetic, musical quality to it. They were a diverse, multinational group and I thought it was pretty interesting to hear that. But they also said that when the English swore, they felt it was aggressive and intimidating. And some of my English colleagues readily admitted that themselves.