Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haunted in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 DSMaine

Sktchr wrote: »
    Anyone know of any haunted locations or stories from Mallow, Co. Cork??? :D

Late answer, I know... I've dug out a couple of tales about Mallow, although they're more myth than ghost story...

Majestic Ballroom
    According to one legend, a particularly good looking stranger asked a local girl at the ballroom to dance with him. She did so, but halfway through the tune the girl collapsed to the floor and the man quickly left. Upon recovering from her swoon, she told her friends she had looked down at his feet during the dance and spotted cloven hooves! No date is given for the incident.

Unnamed Fields near Longfield’s Bridge
    A farmer named Lynch was crossing a field en route to Cork. The field was full of people, some kicking a football, others just walking around. Lynch realised that for each step he took, he moved back two. After several hours of getting nowhere fast, two men who Lynch knew to have died took him by the arm, removed him from the field, and escorted Lynch to Longfield's bridge. A week later a farm machine cut off Lynch's arm where the ghosts had touched it, and he died soon after. Once again, no date is given for the incident...

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Spion Kopite

Hi..The main building was not the one that was involved in the fire...It was the old building up behind the big red bricked one(I think they were used by fas for a while) and to the left as you look at it ..but to be honest its only a matter of time before the little p***ks that use the place for drink and drugs torch that too.. Have they anything better to do? .. F**kwits !!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭Milly33

We should arrange a day to go up to St. Kevins at least in a group we would be safe from the scumbags that may be lerking up there. Wondered up for a look a while back but it was getting a little dark and we didnt want to chance going in without flashlights plus in flip flops not good with all the broken stuff around the place...

On another one, I was down with my manfriends aunt and unlce in Coachford last night and they told me a few tales about some places around there that are suppose to be haunted. One Shandy house where Dr. Cross was hung (not in the house but he lived there) for poisioning his wife. Another one about a black dog that is suppose to haunt the spot where Coachford town used to originally be a few miles towards Dripsey direction. Very intersting stuff i am trying to see if I can find out more details. There is another about a house around the area that has the spirit of a child there for years.. if anyone knows anymore i would be very interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭NicoleL88

Milly33 wrote: »
    We should arrange a day to go up to St. Kevins at least in a group we would be safe from the scumbags that may be lerking up there. Wondered up for a look a while back but it was getting a little dark and we didnt want to chance going in without flashlights plus in flip flops not good with all the broken stuff around the place...

I'd be really interested in that, and I know another two or three people who'd be up for it too! If you ever get around to it, give me a PM. I won't be back in Cork til the end of Sept though. :D

Sure perhaps when you know what dates u are down the end of sept we could arrange it, It is just a matter of being prepared for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Kenzi

I'm in :D

sorted we shall hava a few people so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭marti8

heh, heh, Id be bricking it if this yoke a_69722_1195330519.jpg appeared at the end of my bed n the hotel some night

Jeezes, that made me jump when I saw it, seriously....lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 roche91

Milly33 wrote: »
    On another one, I was down with my manfriends aunt and unlce in Coachford last night and they told me a few tales about some places around there that are suppose to be haunted. One Shandy house where Dr. Cross was hung (not in the house but he lived there) for poisioning his wife. Another one about a black dog that is suppose to haunt the spot where Coachford town used to originally be a few miles towards Dripsey direction. Very intersting stuff i am trying to see if I can find out more details. There is another about a house around the area that has the spirit of a child there for years.. if anyone knows anymore i would be very interested

Im from Coachford. I live right next to the Shandy Hall house your talking about and yes its suposidly haunted however for any unxplanible actions there are none i can mention but the story of Dr. Cross is true. The dog and spirt of a child however are new to me, driving and walking that road at night i have never seen a black dog but i will look into this more now i have heard about it and will reply back when i no more about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

LCDeelite wrote: »
    Where did I hear that nonsense, I hear you think? Why, the White Witch of Cobh, of course! Enough said. :rolleyes:

The White Witch of Cobh has powers and clairvoyance, admittedly she is also an artist and showperson.

But many years ago, live on 96FM's Neil Prenderville Show, she said "New York has a black shadow over it in September and three iron birds are circulating it" She admitted she did not understand the 'vision' but, be that as it may .... 911 was that very month.

I've mentioned it to her a few times and 96FM say they no longer have that tape, it was about three months before the event that she made her predictions.

FACT.

The Maldron hotel n Cork is supposed 2 be haunted too. it was called The Quality Hotel ?

And the Shandon Court before that and the North Infirmary before that. And it has three graveyards, one for the operations and experiments, abortions and lobotomies that went wrong and buried under the back yard.

A major news story recently as the new building extension unearthed this grisly remains ....

Also the regular graveyard or the former corporation graveyard was also a gallows green and a graveyard for other gallows around the city. These two grave yards, one official and one no, were mixed on the breaking of the ground.

A third old grave yard sits atop and these are the monuments one sees today.

cork boi wrote: »
    I am working in the city fire service. Our station on anglesea street is supposed to be "haunted"

sleep paralasysis The building is just dilapidated and underused.

! shiiiiit,a room that looks just like da outdoors? :eek: they were mad keen 2 keep them indoors,werent they?

Don't forget the medication: In psychiatric hospitals women were given sedatives to so they would not resist the male patients' advances, the staff allowed this as male testosterone was very difficult to medicate.

Don't forget that whilst under many different medications it would be 'suggested' to you that we were going outdoors now, the pretty walls and pictures and sky painted ceiling would not fool a four year old .... but ad the meds and bobs yer uncle.

Most patient abuse in all sphere was for the benefit of the staff there, to make their own lives easier and even make some money by prostituting the female patients, all controlled by meds.

You're taking the piss arent ya?

Nope. It's like lots of things, if you talk to the right people you get the answers.

Lived in Cobh for a while myself and passing this gate at midnight was to be avoided.

A ghost in the car is not new at all, it's the most reported phenomenon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

gbee wrote: »
    The White Witch of Cobh has powers and clairvoyance, admittedly she is also an artist and showperson.

But many years ago, live on 96FM's Neil Prenderville Show, she said "New York has a black shadow over it in September and three iron birds are circulating it" She admitted she did not understand the 'vision' but, be that as it may .... 911 was that very month.

I've mentioned it to her a few times and 96FM say they no longer have that tape, it was about three months before the event that she made her predictions.

FACT.

Yeah, I know - that snippet of info about her prediction of the iron birds in New York in September, etc, was featured at the end of the chapter 'Island Of Lost Souls' in the book 'Paranormal Ireland' by Dara DeFaoite. Although, if I remember correctly, her exact words in reference to the airplanes were (as written in the book), "two steel fountain pens"... I dunno, weird. She gets predictions correct every now and then.

It's a pity that 96FM no longer have the tape/recording of the W.W. making that prediction though. I never heard the original live broadcast of that.

I presume she'll be speaking at this year's Ghost Convention thing in Cork City Gaol again. I wonder what she'll have to say about 2011? Someone told me last year that she said Ireland would see a significant boost in fortunes in March of this year. Financially, like. I didn't see anything in the news suggesting that was the case, now that I think of it. :rolleyes: I can't remember what else he said she had predicted for 2010.

Yeah, she's a handy little entertainer - she deliberately jazzes up her creepy persona a bit at times. It's a good laugh.

And the Shandon Court before that and the North Infirmary before that.

Yeah, my mam told me that. Her family goes back several generations in the Cork region.
    And it has three graveyards, one for the operations and experiments, abortions and lobotomies that went wrong and buried under the back yard.

A major news story recently as the new building extension unearthed this grisly remains ....

That is sick stuff. Did people not have consciences all those years ago to have treated people so badly like that? If someone performed a botched lobotomy on me and then jacked me into a shoddy grave on the very site where I had been mistreated, it's doubtless that I would come back and haunt the bloody place, and all the nefarious miscreants occupying it, as revenge.
    Also the regular graveyard or the former corporation graveyard was also a gallows green and a graveyard for other gallows around the city. These two grave yards, one official and one no, were mixed on the breaking of the ground.

A third old grave yard sits atop and these are the monuments one sees today.

You're talking at least several acres of graves then. Jesus.

Nope. It's like lots of things, if you talk to the right people you get the answers.

Lived in Cobh for a while myself and passing this gate at midnight was to be avoided.

A ghost in the car is not new at all, it's the most reported phenomenon.

When I was home during February, myself and a couple of friends literally road-tested that claim. At 12:30am, we drove past Fota House in the direction of Cork City and we saw nothing sitting in the back seat. Did we do something wrong? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 youghalghost

Hello im collecting stories of ghosts and paranormal activity in or around Youghal so if you have had experience or have heard one please send me an email at hauntedyoughal@hotmail.com

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭sleepyescapade

anyone know if the victoria hotel in cork is haunted?

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭trixie_belle12

Hi There,
    New member living near St. Kevin's and Our Lady's all my life and have taken a few trips up there over the years but not in recent times and never brave enough to enter any of the buildings. :eek:

The photos here are fantastic but I'm also really keen to see the photos that Brazilicious posted, I think they were on Bebo but I can't seem to access them. Just wondered as Brazilicious hasn't posted in quite some time if anyone else has any ideas or kept copies?

Thanks in advance!

Megglz wrote: »
    anyone know if the victoria hotel in cork is haunted?

Well, it is very old (which always a good qualification when it comes to cases of hauntings, ha), having been built in 1810. I think it's Cork's oldest hotel. Many leading Irish politicians frequented the hotel back in the day, including Charles Stuart Parnell.

Dunno whether or not it's haunted though. But it's haunted by bad decor, that's for sure. tongue.gif

You could always simply ask a long-term staff member (there has to be at least one) about any suspected paranormal happenings, or just stay there yourself for a night to find out if anything is up with the place.

Hi There,
    New member living near St. Kevin's and Our Lady's all my life and have taken a few trips up there over the years but not in recent times and never brave enough to enter any of the buildings. :eek:

The photos here are fantastic but I'm also really keen to see the photos that Brazilicious posted, I think they were on Bebo but I can't seem to access them. Just wondered as Brazilicious hasn't posted in quite some time if anyone else has any ideas or kept copies?

Thanks in advance!

If I can remember correctly, the photos Brazilicious had linked to on Bebo before were of some underground passageways in St. Finbarr's Hospital on the Douglas Road.

Oh yeah, the only reason you should feel too scared to enter the Our Lady's or St. Kevin's buildings are because of errant, booze-guzzling, weed-toking, hard drug-taking local 'beacons of the community' inhabiting those places intermittently.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭trixie_belle12

My mistake, nevertheless I would be interested in seeing those photos also if anyone has them.:cool:

I guess what one "should" and "shouldn't" feel are open to debate. I know that there were times when I walked in the grounds that it felt quite eerie. Each to their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 millennium band

hi guys local paranormal group in cork is starting new investigations in the next few weeks, requirements are 1) digital camera 2) digital voice recorder 3) digital camcorder with infa red, pm me for details or add us on fb http://www.facebook.com/?tid=1275982559003&sk=messages#!/group.php?gid=214911725725&ref=ts

ps, no screamers or runners may apply, if you see or hear something we want you running towards it not away from it!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Spion Kopite

Hi there Millenium Band,
    Is this a properly organised event/club or is it a case of get as many people together and head off to a spooky looking venue where nothing will be heard or seen properly because of overcrowding at the event?..
    Hope to hear any feedback or info you have please.
    Regards,
    Mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 millennium band

yes its a properly organised event, i will only be taking teams of 8-10 people per investigation, hopefully having one every 2/3 weeks!

My mistake, nevertheless I would be interested in seeing those photos also if anyone has them.cool.gif

I guess what one "should" and "shouldn't" feel are open to debate. I know that there were times when I walked in the grounds that it felt quite eerie. Each to their own.

I'm not discounting what you feel/felt on the grounds - I'm just saying that the first port of call when it comes to fear is the more earthly matter of local scumbags being around there.

Now, I have never set foot inside either Our Lady's Hospital or St. Kevin's, but I have walked on the grounds surrounding each building and I have also definitely felt a very dark, suffocating, hopeless sort of atmosphere attached to both places. Funnily enough, this was noticeably more so the case around St. Kevin's, whatever it is about that place compared to the grey buildings (Our Lady's).

I have been regaled with numerous stories by people who were inside both buildings both by day and by night, and who experienced creepy and unsettling sensations; and by people who knew other people who were inside the buildings and who experienced same, etc. People have either thought they saw apparitions moving through the walls, 'felt' unseen people, heard voices when they had already ensured the building was devoid of other (living) visitors, and heard unexplainable human-sounding footsteps, etc. I also heard about one guy suddenly feeling unbearably ill while situated on one of the upper floors of St. Kevin's during the daytime, necessitating an immediate fleet. The guy who was accompanying him said that his friend had been upbeat and in fighting form prior to entering the building.

There was another story about some building developers who visited the St. Kevin's site a few years ago to assess its suitability for a conversion project they had in mind (conversion into a hotel, I think - Christ, can you imagine?). But, after the team walked around the site, the leader of the project was so spooked by the place he declared that there was no way he ever wanted to convert the building. That's what I heard anyway.

There is definitely something askew up there. It wouldn't be a bad idea to dig up the grounds surrounding the St. Kevin's building - particularly around the back of it, near where that brown, derelict priests building is standing. They may be surprised what they find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ozziefitz

cullen5998 wrote: »
    Im fairly sure we stayed in 318. Didnt notice anything but could see the Gravyard out the window. I thought the hotel had a strange layout alright. The hospital explains that.
    i know people who stayed there this weekend they stayed in room number 516 when they came back to their room they couldent get in. some furniture was pushed up against the door from the inside

(as written in the book), "two steel fountain pens"... I dunno, weird. She gets predictions correct every now and then.

I did not read the book, but I did hear the live broadcast, and whilst it is from memory I'm sure she said Iron Birds.

However, she did not remember herself, but on other occasions I do hear her giving differnt descriptions for prophecies as she repeats them on different shows.

I have not heard much this year, the upturn did not occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Samhain76

hi guys local paranormal group in cork is starting new investigations in the next few weeks, requirements are 1) digital camera 2) digital voice recorder 3) digital camcorder with infa red, pm me for details or add us on fb http://www.facebook.com/?tid=1275982559003&sk=messages#!/group.php?gid=214911725725&ref=ts

ps, no screamers or runners may apply, if you see or hear something we want you running towards it not away from it!!!!

Be totally interested in that, a digital camera is the only thing I have on the list though. When will you be going on the next investigation?