Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor wanted

• 04-09-2009 11:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭

Lookin a tractor on a budget lads cheap and cheerfull around 2500 its just t knock in a few round bales over the winter i dont have t move them far so dont need a big tractor, Im in Donegal so as close t that as possible, Anything like a DB 995/996/1290/1390 Ford 4000/4600 MF anything Zetor anything like a 6011/7011/5211 Same old ones like leopard minatauro old Lamborghini 754/854 International 574/674/475/684/784 or even an old Leyland or Marshell ......basically anything all i ask for i something that starts easy and has a cab, no real basket cases something reasonable, if any of ye are havin bother movin on an oul yoke we could come to an agreement. The old DBs and Case DBs seem v cheap and have a good oul cab !!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭DanFindy

Thanks Sam that second link for the International i missed on Donedeal i dunno how but il give a call about er tomoro;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

martin regan has a 996 to sell, hes a terrible driver tho and he crashed it a few times but he'll sell it for 1k!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

DanFindy wrote: »
    Thanks Sam that second link for the International i missed on Donedeal i dunno how but il give a call about er tomoro;)
    Yes it looks fresh and the paint seems original. The 4000 is a good deal too.

Anythin else knockin about??
    I have a kinda longing for a 1290 or 1390 DB they come with a great cab

Ive found a Marshall 802 Turbo 2wd for handy enough money, anyone know anything about these cos i sure as hell dont there not v common up my way, whats parts availability like? looking at one whats there weak spots? are they generally good or bad ?

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

Ive found a Marshall 802 Turbo 2wd for handy enough money, anyone know anything about these cos i sure as hell dont there not v common up my way, whats parts availability like? looking at one whats there weak spots? are they generally good or bad ?

Theyre a fairly powerful tractor for their size.They are an updated Leyland 802.
    Parts availability is quite good in the UK , there are quite a few companies specialising in Marshall/Leyland bits there,( J Charnley and Sons especially)not sure of dealers in Ireland though, there used to be a guy in limerick dealing in them too but he's closed now. Still a few of them around there tho.
    Known weak points on them are , the electrical system in and around the cab can cause problems and has been known to cause fires, the front axle on 2wd ones is a bit light so make sure its not too worn, plastic engine oil pipes to the top of the engine and turbo were known for cracking but most are probably changed by now.
    Marshall tractors are becoming something of a collectors machine in the Uk now due to the limited number of some models produced.

Theyre a fairly powerful tractor for their size.They are an updated Leyland 802.
    Parts availability is quite good in the UK , there are quite a few companies specialising in Marshall/Leyland bits there,( J Charnley and Sons especially)not sure of dealers in Ireland though, there used to be a guy in limerick dealing in them too but he's closed now. Still a few of them around there tho.
    Known weak points on them are , the electrical system in and around the cab can cause problems and has been known to cause fires, the front axle on 2wd ones is a bit light so make sure its not too worn, plastic engine oil pipes to the top of the engine and turbo were known for cracking but most are probably changed by now.
    Marshall tractors are becoming something of a collectors machine in the Uk now due to the limited number of some models produced.

They are fairly rare alright, i was thinkin it may do me for me bales for the winter and with a bit a care it might become valuable...sometime:D
    Thanks for the info lad, i was googlin and came across charnleys alright!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

If she's genuine, the 802 is a great machine. It should be one of the quickest tractors to start from cold. A common problem on these is head gasket failure. If the temperature guage isn't working, or if she doesn't come up to operating temperature having been run for a while, walk away, the thermostat may be removed to cover up an overheating problem. They have great power for their size and are a great tractor to pull a trailer. The lift is seriously powerful, as it has an assistor ram.
    They have a synchro gearbox, which is light years ahead of a Ford/Massey with non-synchro gears on the floor between your legs. That said, the range of gears can be a bit limited. When driving it, put her into the high box and take off when the engine is idling. If you get lots of vibration, the clutch is on the way out and is a cab-off job.
    Negatives: Tinwork is expensive, but readily available from Charnley's in the UK. I can't recommend Charnley's enough: If you need anything for these tractors, they will either have it or find it for you. They bought up the complete stock of parts when Marshall went belly-up.
    These tractors can be a hoor to work on, as they are very compact and everything is packed into tight spaces.
    All in all, I would say go for it if she's a genuine machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Goin t look at a Zetor 7211 this week some evenin anyone any advice???And vanderbadger i saw that International and rang a couple a times but no answer???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

dont know now, just thought it was cheap so threw it up, the auld fealla owned 2 if not 3 7211s in years gone by, good tractors except for things like clutch and brake fluid pipes or cylinders goin, check the pickup hitch as well and make sure its ok, they were inclined to break

If she's genuine, the 802 is a great machine. It should be one of the quickest tractors to start from cold. A common problem on these is head gasket failure. If the temperature guage isn't working, or if she doesn't come up to operating temperature having been run for a while, walk away, the thermostat may be removed to cover up an overheating problem. They have great power for their size and are a great tractor to pull a trailer. The lift is seriously powerful, as it has an assistor ram.
    They have a synchro gearbox, which is light years ahead of a Ford/Massey with non-synchro gears on the floor between your legs. That said, the range of gears can be a bit limited. When driving it, put her into the high box and take off when the engine is idling. If you get lots of vibration, the clutch is on the way out and is a cab-off job.
    Negatives: Tinwork is expensive, but readily available from Charnley's in the UK. I can't recommend Charnley's enough: If you need anything for these tractors, they will either have it or find it for you. They bought up the complete stock of parts when Marshall went belly-up.
    These tractors can be a hoor to work on, as they are very compact and everything is packed into tight spaces.
    All in all, I would say go for it if she's a genuine machine.

Thanks for that lad although id say shes a tractor that has been around the block and could throw up nasty surprises, things like the stabiliser arms are missing and i think she may of had a hard enough life but anyway im goin to give her a second look all the same!!!

Feckin missed 2 zetors a 6211 sold for 2300 and a 7211 sold for 2800............ragged:mad:
    Kinda have me mind set on a 6211 or 7211 Zetor or a 1290 or 1390 DB the good cabs are an attraction :)

Il give this a wee bump up still lookin for somethin :D have been offered a 8011 crystal but she too rough may suit export i can buy it if i know i have a customer that exports;)

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭waster81

i have a john deere 3140 2wd looking around €3000

waster81 wrote: »
    i have a john deere 3140 2wd looking around €3000

Tell me more... any pics? where in country r u ?

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭waster81

Tractor is in County Louth if you pm me your email address ill try and get few pictures to you over the weekend

Bought this on saturday morning so my hunt is over thanks for all help and suggestions, great oul tractor in v good nick rust wise (for a Fiat) only needing a small repair to one door and one mudguard, good tyres and didnt pay the asking price and its goin to be delivered to Donegal town for me;)
    http://www.autotrader.ie/search/Fiat/880/200938195236027/advert?channel=PLANT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Bought this on saturday morning so my hunt is over thanks for all help and suggestions, great oul tractor in v good nick rust wise (for a Fiat) only needing a small repair to one door and one mudguard, good tyres and didnt pay the asking price and its goin to be delivered to Donegal town for me;)
    http://www.autotrader.ie/search/Fiat/880/200938195236027/advert?channel=PLANT

Glad you got sorted, best of luck with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Puttin this back t the top lads, sold the fiat, need somethin again as i said a good sealed cab good tyres, easy started the fiat would a done me but a wee bit awkward for the oul fella and a wee bit on the tatty side an i wont get time t sort er, so lookin as DB 1390,1490,zetor 6211 7211 or very clean late model 7011 anything else also considered might push budget to between 3and4k
    Also i would sell or trade my Ford 4000 (totally restored mint) try me

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Ford4000 wrote: »
    Puttin this back t the top lads, sold the fiat, need somethin again as i said a good sealed cab good tyres, easy started the fiat would a done me but a wee bit awkward for the oul fella and a wee bit on the tatty side an i wont get time t sort er, so lookin as DB 1390,1490,zetor 6211 7211 or very clean late model 7011 anything else also considered might push budget to between 3and4k
    Also i would sell or trade my Ford 4000 (totally restored mint) try me

If you could stretch anywhere near 4K what about a MF178 or DB996 , both pretty easy for older guy to drive

corkcomp wrote: »
    If you could stretch anywhere near 4K what about a MF178 or DB996 , both pretty easy for older guy to drive

A case db 996 with the gears to your right hand and the black sekura or a wide door q cab would be fine,the narrow door ones are a prat of a thig even for a young fella do ya have one? what cab? any pics?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Ford4000 wrote: »
    A case db 996 with the gears to your right hand and the black sekura or a wide door q cab would be fine,the narrow door ones are a prat of a thig even for a young fella do ya have one? what cab? any pics?

nope! have a 1290 which might be for sale soon, but I dont think id be allowed to sell .. last week it was for sale now it isnt! :( the 168 and 178 are a great tractor for ease of access though.

There a 1490 for sale in auto trader for 2750+vat stg very keen money if shes good might get a look at er this week

Anyone got a 7011 or 7211 they would part with ??????