Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

SFxT launch tournament- it's on again!

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭kingbob387

Yeah I just saw the post on the SRK forums and thought "Well I'm a B+ rank on Xbox live with 1500pp, how good can the Irish players be???"

If I had not done that I would still be a wall jumping Vega scrub (YES I STILL PLAY VEGA BUT I DON'T KEEP WALL JUMPING)

Good man. Hopefully see ya there. I'll be the typical looking nerd (long hair, dorky glasses and weird nerdy T-Shirt)

Oh lol, I probably will be the Chinese guy standing out from the crowd, you won't have a hard time trying to find me.

See you there!

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭BanjoB

Might be up in Dublin Saturday morning. I'll def pop in if I am. So hype for this game!.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

NO STUPID ONLINE DLC CHARACTER GEMS!!!
    kingbob387 wrote: »
    Oh lol, I probably will be the Chinese guy standing out from the crowd, you won't have a hard time trying to find me.

See you there!

Well, I can recall at least 4 other Chinese people at various times, so it's not that unusual.

I'd guess 2 others will be there on the day, too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

I'd guess 2 others will be there on the day, too :)

Is kiki going?

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭the 1st hardter

bush wrote: »
    Is kiki going?

Oh you mean Joe??? People call him Kiki every now and again for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,694 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

motivator410efb977c4d534c185f1ed1baa575fd6a4f7832.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Dang, i havent been to a tournament in months... Where is the place its been held?! Google maps, maybe?! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Quick question, has someone been in touch with the exchange about grabbing the monitors there? Just so they aware.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭the 1st hardter

Orim wrote: »
    Quick question, has someone been in touch with the exchange about grabbing the monitors there? Just so they aware.

Even if we told them last week would they remember today???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Will ring them now.

Yep, they'll be open from 10 and Phil said it's grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

Just FYI - we only have the clarence from 12pm. :)

I'm aware of that, just relaying when they'll be open from.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

I'm able to bring in a Xbox with a copy of SFxT.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Thank feck for that. I was running around Temple Bar like a headless chicken looking for the place yesterday. Never found it. At least now I think I know where I'm going... Can't garauntee I won't get lost though.

Thanks to everybody who showed up, brought equipment, and helped out with recording/tournament organisation/anything in general!

Sorry for the messiness of the tournament and that there wasn't much time for casuals, was a mistake to run double elim. Hope everyone had a good time anyway.

1st: Gorysnake
    2nd: Dreddybajs
    3rd: DRz | Chunkis

Once Capcom's goodies arrive with chunkis, we can get some prizes out to the top placers (Gory already got GEMS and 25 quid but there'll be t-shirts and games and so forth). Will make a post with exactly what everyone's getting once I know what we have.

Bracket: http://challonge.com/sfxtdublin

Edit: also I have a 360 wired pad belonging to someone. Presumably Nutrient or Kuro.

Full results:

1st:
    Gorysnake

2nd:
    Dreddybajs

3rd:
    chunkis

4th:
    Ladnopoka

5th:
    Nutrient
    Bush

7th:
    Doyler
    Azza

9th:
    Dark Talant
    Kuro
    speedboat
    Naphiel

13th:
    Doom
    Paul
    PPC
    Andrew

17th:

Kneecap
    Scavenger
    John
    Joe
    Jackie
    Hardter
    Uberprinny
    Fergus

25th:
    Ronan
    Bourke
    Relaximus
    deathrider
    Misty
    Chopper
    stevo
    ayjay

33rd:
    Foamy
    Voa
    orim

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭ladnopoka

GGs to all! Was a great fun!
    I think SFxT will be playable as well as SSF4 and UMvC because it is so much fun! Its a really good game!
    Also i think this game will bring a lot of new players into our FGC!

• Moderators Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭Azza

I'm so salty, I was Dreddyfied.....twice!

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭kingbob387

That was certainly a pleasant experience that I have never had before.

Thanks to everyone that made this tourney possible!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Fergus_

GGs to everyone, it was a fun day!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

GGs to everyone I played, it was a fun day. Too bad I couldn't stay for too long afterwards owing to needing to get the bus home.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Ryuzaki

Thanks for the amazing first tournament guys! It was really fun. Pretty proud of how I did too :D gg to everyone I played

Ok, this is the quality of the stream we should be seeing for the Evo qualifiers (and possibly Exchange tournaments, too)

Rest of the vids will be drip feeding up onto the www.youtube.com/brianvondoom channel for the new guys, feel free to subscribe and you'll see them in your subs inbox when they are done uploading

I did a speed test in the Exchange and got something around 0.58mbps upload. Not gonna happen.

Football special is way more important than things like recording the end of a match.

(With apologies to Naphiel and Chunkis!)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I am commentary gold!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Came in, got murdered, and went home a happy man. There was great craic at this, as there always is :D

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Bananna man

First time to one of these events and it was great, had some really good matches. Will definetely head down again, away all week in Sweden though so hopefully next weekend. I'm trying to figure out my number 2 character at the moment. Can anyone recommend someone with good air defence from the Tecken characters preferably?