Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Panel

• 01-12-2011 2:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭

This is for people on the Panel to discuss any info they get of possible dates recruitment might begin.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Lenn Brennan

Good stuff Yogi, lets hope we all hear something soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Thank god for this!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Hello, now that the big date for retirements has passed, has anybody heard any total figure for all 2011 and first two months of 2012??? Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭2wsxcde3

Am i allowed post in here if i get info that ye might want passed on?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Anything of a trolling nature will receive an instant ban and more than likely a full prema ban.

Anyone who thinks a post is trolling please report it and we'll deal with ye.

Ye who will be posting in here know it must be kept in order and have nothing to fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

2wsxcde3 wrote: »
    Am i allowed post in here if i get info that ye might want passed on?

Yep, please do.

I said in one of the other rooms, i heard from a lad whose friend is a Sgt in Templemore. Supposedly they are training on the new course at the moment and are expecting two intakes next year, one in May and one in Nov 12.:D

Yogi Bear wrote: »
    Yep, please do.

I said in one of the other rooms, i heard from a lad whose friend is a Sgt in Templemore. Supposedly they are training on the new course at the moment and are expecting two intakes next year, one in May and one in Nov 12.:D
    Actually in your last post you said they were "hoping for" two intakes next year. Now you're saying they're "expecting" two next year. There's a difference. This is what happens when information gets passed on 3rd or 4th hand. The original meaning gets lost and is interpreted a different way. Now no one knows what was said originally.

The thing is though that they must get the force down to 13,000 by dec 2014. This is written into the IMF/EU deal and they're already behind on achieving reduced numbers through retirements so mathematically it doesn't make sense to take in recruits at the moment becuase they could be struggling to achieve the target they said they would meet.

I guess it's possible they could let the panel go through next year just for good publicity. Maybe let two intakes of 100 each or something just for show. 200 wouldn't really mess up the numbers that much. It's just are they going to go to the expense of opening templemore back up and bringing back the training sergeants just for 200 or so recruits only to shut down again for another 2 or 3 years. Maybe they have to get in some young blood in there.

Yep, please do.

Well if they are training sgts. for the new course that has to be good news for everyone. Even a few small intakes just to get the ball rolling. Don't they realise that this ban is going to cost them more in the long run?

How much training can be actually involved though. It's not like policing has changed or anything. A guard is a guard.

It's odd the way shatter said on the 17th that the longer the panel is there the less likely it will be kept. Why did he go to the trouble of changing his language on the matter if the panel were going to go through to templemore next year anyway.

Swings and roundabouts come to mind.

hang on!
    It's only hear say, so "expecting" and "hoping" are not definite.

There is 14,099 members at the moment and 450 going by the end of this month and 190 going by the end of feb, so we are still 459 off the magical 13,000. I can't see that 459 going for a few years, because of the reduction in pension after feb. The govt have changed their tune on everything so nothing supprises me anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

2wsxcde3 wrote: »
    Actually in your last post you said they were "hoping for" two intakes next year. Now you're saying they're "expecting" two next year.

On second thoughts.....the panel have spoken through reports.......so no you can't post in here.

I do not believe you are going to contribute anything positive and so please refrain from posting. Posters here (and I) fell you are always trying to be negative and there is quiet enough of that following the panel folks around.

So in short....GO AWAY Unless you have something positive or supportive

One thing that would make ya sick is the amount of waste in the public sector.
    Example 1, I know a guy who doesn't go to work when it rains, works as an E.O. in an office with 8 people that could (as he admits) be easily run by 3.

Example 2, I know of another guy who went for a chef job in a h.s.e. nursing home, got the job and was asked to start on a monday, he got a call on the thursday before and told the job was no longer available because of the embargo.

They then told him to register with an agency, he did that and a week later was working as a chef for the h.s.e. in the same nursing home but for more money, plus they have to pay the agency.

Where is the sense??

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭kojack

hang on!
    It's only hear say, so "expecting" and "hoping" are not definite.

There is 14,099 members at the moment and 450 going by the end of this month and 190 going by the end of feb, so we are still 459 off the magical 13,000. I can't see that 459 going for a few years, because of the reduction in pension after feb. The govt have changed their tune on everything so nothing supprises me anymore.

From the 459, you could expect at least a third to be lost due to natural wastage over the two years to 2014.

I think it would make sense to have two small intakes of maybe 75-100 each starting in May and another in August. That would allow one batch to be out in December and another in February to cover the loss due to retirements.

kojack wrote: »
    From the 459, you could expect at least a third to be lost due to natural wastage over the two years to 2014.

I think it would make sense to have two small intakes of maybe 75-100 each starting in May and another in August. That would allow one batch to be out in December and another in February to cover the loss due to retirements.

Absolutely agree with you. This would be the most sensible way to do it.
    They can still be cutting numbers and still be seen to take on more Gardaí.
    If you lost say 200 a year over the next two years and only took in 100 a year you would still be down to 13,250 at the end of 2013. Also the cost of new recruits are paid less than half a garda with 30 years in is paid so there would be also a saving.

Was worried when i saw the Sunday Business Post yesterday when they said they are now looking to get the Gardaí down to 12,000.
    http://www.businesspost.ie/#!search/garda numbers
    I don’t have a subscription so i can’t see the full article.

Also speaking to one Garda at weekend, he believes the numbers are a lot lower than are being published.

Freeflow cancelled due to moratorium. Bad news for commuters and christmas shoppers in the capital but good news for publicising our cause and highlighting the severe lack of manpower! I was surprised to see this on the news actually, as I was in Dublin at the weekend and while stuck in traffic like everybody else I spotted a blue sign saying garda freeflow in operation. I wonder was this a last minute decision?

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭P.C.Plod

Heard it on The Last Word last week that everything was in place but a decision on the matter would only be made today.
    There was apparently a stand off between Shatter and Howlin over who will foot the bill for Queen and Obama visit.
    Looks like Howlin won.

"I am pleased to announce that there will be some limited recruitment in to the Public Service in early 2012." just announced in Budget.

What are the chances it will be for us?????

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

From what the Minster was saying- I doubt it. Sounded like recruitment of specialists to certain, limited areas. But I'd be delighted to be proved wrong!

Was listening to it there. Not a harsh budget overall but act two tomorrow might have the punchline! To be fair, a lot of us on the panel have heard the same story about templemore staff studying the new curriculum which can only be a positive rumbling of news. I think all of us have too much at stake here to be posting unreliable half truths!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Sounds like it might be some good news, I've stayed clear of all the rumours and gossip this year so I don't really know what has been happening. Hopefully some of us will get some good news soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 toptrumps

Been following the waiting room since 08. Never bothered registering due to the negativity being tossed around by certain people. Used to constantly check boards everyday for updates but after so long the forum was just dragged down and the decision to lock the waiting room was in my opinion the right one.
    This sub forum has definitely changed things!
    Im a member of this infamous 'panel' Have everything done and have been patiently waiting like the rest of you!
    Hope this place stays more positive ;-)

Welcome toptrump, great to see more panel members emerging. This place is the only source of news and support for us

• Registered Users Posts: 9 toptrumps

Hey cj cheers for the welcome.
    Youve put up with alot of BS in the waiting room. Fair play for sticking around.
    Im sure therell be plenty of chances to laugh about it when we finally get down there!

Ah its probably my own fault for letting myself be annoyed! I'll chalk it down to experience! I'm just glad its all calmed down because theres a common goal here that was getting blurred

• Registered Users Posts: 22 daedalus177

Hi everyone, im a long time follower of this forum. its my first time posting here. like many of you here the wait is almost unbearable for a bit of news. While im not on the panel i do feel as if i should share a small piece of information with you. Im living next door a garda who was, in my time in templemore a member of the training staff. i dont want to mention what section openly here, however, she has not yet been redeployed from the college and is undergoing the preparation and training for the new garda training program. also, just to clarify, my time in templemore ended abruptly due to familly circumtances so i am also waiting to try again if recruitment starts again. I made it to phase 4. If anyone knows any one who was a member trying to reapply please PM me?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

€80 million in cuts for AGS and 35 stations closing..doesnt look good for us guys :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭rugby

Devil08 wrote: »
    €80 million in cuts for AGS and 35 stations closing..doesnt look good for us guys :mad:

Flip no it doesnt :mad::mad::mad: the news lately is quiet depressing but ya know what 2012 may bring some good news fingers crossed who knows :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

rugby wrote: »

Flip no it doesnt :mad::mad::mad: the news lately is quiet depressing but ya know what 2012 may bring some good news fingers crossed who knows :p

Exactly,stay positive rugby:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭P.C.Plod

rugby wrote: »

I've been following these threads for a long time and I must I've never seen you be so positive rugby. I'm taking it as a good sign

So gardai may soon be doing their patrols on segways? Cant link but its on rte website. Tried these in Barcelona and they're great, I can just picture them with the blues and twos on! Somehow I don't think they'll be embraced by Irish society as well as they have been by our continental counterparts!