Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland u20 6 Nations & World Cup 2012

• 17-10-2011 5:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭

I saw on twitter that the irish u20 team are having trial sessions this week to help decide a squad for the 2012 6 nations and junior world cup.
    http://twitter.com/#!/Galwegians_RFC
    Best of luck to Wegians U20s Paul Griffen, Tadhg Leader and Calum O'Connell who are attending Ireland U20s trials this week

Will munster have many players near the irish squad this season? Will their representation be higher than last season when it was quite poor?

Connacht should have the most in the squad after winning all 3 of their games this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

ormond lad wrote: »
    Will munster have many players near the irish squad this season? Will their representation be higher than last season when it was quite poor?

It might come down to the performances of the players during the interpros. It could be even between all the provinces although you'd expect Leinster to have the most again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

http://www.irishrugby.ie/ireland/24559.php

Now that the U19 and U18 youth and club squads have been announced, any word on the U20s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Any word on when 20s squad will be announced?

Any update on a squad being picked???

Any word on a squad being announced???
    U18 squads been announced for several weeks now and nothing on the 20s...

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭ff9999

Any update on a squad being picked???

Eager Beaver :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

There were 10 Connacht trialists afaik

This may or may not have included the lads who were at the world cup last year who are under again this year, Aaron Conneely, Danny Qualter, Kieran Marmion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Who's on the u-18 squad.

Hagz wrote: »
    Who's on the u-18 squad.
    Theres been 2 squads with some players added for the 2nd one as the exiles didnt come to ireland for the 2nd one and played a game v the welsh exiles in england

Ireland U-18 Clubs Training Squad
    Caolin Blade (Monivea)
    Russell Blair (Ballymoney)
    Adam Byrne (Naas)
    Ben Carty (Buccaneers)
    Fergal Cleary (Navan)
    Brian Cunningham (Navan)
    Graeme Currie (Portadown)
    Peter Dooley (Birr)
    Adrian Enright (Abbeyfeale)
    Scott Flannagan (Buccaneers)
    Jonathan Hayes (Nenagh Ormond)
    Seamus Keating (Dungarvan)
    Stephen Keelan (Navan)
    John Madigan (Charleville)
    Leon Martin (Tullamore)
    Sean Moran (Kilkenny)
    Paul O'Donnell (Galwegians)
    Jack O'Donohue (Waterpark)
    Killian O'Keeffee (Crosshaven)
    Josh O'Rourke (DLSP)
    Reuben Pepperhobbs (Wesport)
    Conor Simpson (Coleraine)
    Killian Sweeney (Malahide)
    Jacob Walsh (Ballinasloe)
    Jim White (Enniscorthy)

Ireland Under-18 Clubs Squad
    Cillian Ansbro - Youghal
    Joe Bercis - Exiles
    Caolin Blade - Monivea
    Russell Blair - Ballymoney
    Adam Byrne - Naas
    Cian Byrne - Tullamore
    Fergal Cleary - Navan
    Darren Coady - Waterpark
    Luke Connolly - Exiles
    Brian Cunningham - Navan
    Stephen Dalton - Exiles
    James Deehan - Exiles
    Adam Doherty - Banbridge
    Peter Dooley - Birr
    Eddie Earls - Gorey
    Adrian Enright - Abbeyfeale
    Mark Healy - Kanturk
    Nathan Higgins - Exiles
    Seamus Keating - Dungarvan
    Stephen Keelan - Navan
    Adam King - Exiles
    John Madigan - Charleville
    Kalani Moore - Waterpark
    Paul O'Donnell - Galwegians
    Jack O'Donoghue - Waterpark
    Killian O'Keeffe - Crosshaven
    Niall O'Neill - Waterpark
    Josh O'Rourke - De La Salle Palmerston
    James O'Sullivan - Exiles
    Conor Simpson - Coleraine
    Killian Sweeney - Malahide
    Francis Taggart - Exiles
    Tom Hilton-Stevens - Exiles
    Jacob Walsh - Ballinasloe
    Alex Webb - Exiles
    Jim White - Enniscorthy

London Wasps to host England U20s

London Wasps will host the final England U20s Six Nations fixture in 2012 at Adams Park, where the home side will play Ireland on Friday, March 16th.

London Wasps CEO Chris Thomas said: “We are delighted to bring international rugby to Adams Park. A number of the best young players at London Wasps have come through the England side in recent seasons and are now starring in our first team. We have four players currently involved in the England U20s for next season and we hope we’ll see them in action for their country on their home ground next March.”
    England, the reigning Six Nations champions, play two home games in next year’s tournament.
    London Wasps centre Elliot Daly is one of four players at the club who will be hoping to represent England at Adams Park with Alec Hepburn, Billy Vunipola and Nathan Morris also currently in the national U20s squad.
    Daly was involved in last year’s Grand Slam winning squad and helped the side reach the final of the Junior World Championship.
    He said: “It is great for me to have a chance to play a game for the England U20s at Adams Park. I have had a bit of first team game time this year, but playing out on that pitch is something I have always aspired to when coming through the ranks at Wasps. To bring my club and international games together with a U20s game at Adams Park, if I am picked, will be a great experience for me. If we do as well as we did last year, it could be the setting for a memorable night.”
    Tickets are now on sale for the game through the Adams Park ticket office. Tickets are offered at a discounted price for all London Wasps Platinum Members.
    There are also some fantastic discounted hospitality options available for this game.
    To book a place call the London Wasps ticket hotline on 0844 225 2990 or by booking online here.

SeatingPlatinum Member SeatingStandingPlatinum Member StandingAdults£15£10£10£7OAPs£10£7£7£5Juniors£7£5£5£

http://www.wasps.co.uk/news/wasps32744.ink

Pools Announced For 2012 Junior World Championship

12 December 2011, 2:03 pm
    By Editor

The Ireland Under-20s have been drawn in a pool with hosts South Africa and Six Nations rivals England and Italy for the 2012 IRB Junior World Championship.

The International Rugby Board has announced the dates, pools and venues for the 2012 IRB Junior World Championship in South Africa.

Cape Town and Stellenbosch will host the world's premier age-grade tournament between June 4 and 22, which will feature the world's top 12 ranked Under-20 teams.
    In a move from recent Championships, the 2012 event will feature just two venues with triple-headers being played across five matchdays to maximise crowds and create a festival format within what is a large rugby heartland.
    Two venues with strong rugby heritage have been selected with the University of Western Cape Stadium in Cape Town sharing the matches with the Danie Craven Stadium, which will host the final on June 22.
    Coached by Mike Ruddock, this is the third year running that the Ireland Under-20s will share a pool with England, while they played South Africa twice in the pool stages and play-offs of the 2011 Championship.
    2012 IRB JUNIOR WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP POOLS:
    POOL A - New Zealand (2011 champions), Fiji, Wales, Samoa
    POOL B - England, South Africa, IRELAND, Italy
    POOL C - Australia, France, Argentina, Scotland
    IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "The IRB Junior World Championship has grown to become one of the most eagerly anticipated events on the global rugby calendar, delivering a competitive development pathway for our Unions as well as a fantastic competitive product which has proven a hit with fans and broadcasters.
    "So far, 111 players have made the step up from the tournament to win full Test caps, including 49 players who made their mark at the recent Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.
    "We look forward to another memorable tournament in 2012 and the opportunity to embrace the rich rugby heritage of the region with the dynamic and free-flowing rugby provided by the next generation of international Test stars."
    The South Africa Rugby Union (SARU) is committed to delivering a tournament to further the growth of rugby within the country, while building on the record-breaking 2011 edition staged in the Veneto region of Italy which was screened live by 19 broadcasters to 142 territories.
    IRB Tournament Director Philippe Bourdarias, speaking in South Africa for the announcement, commented; "The IRB Junior World Championship is strategically important both for the IRB and participating Unions as it provides a competitive international arena to test and develop some of the best up-and-coming players and referees in the world.
    "South Africa has a proven record in hosting wonderful rugby events and I am sure the teams and players will enjoy a unique experience here next year."
    SARU President Oregan Hoskins added: "We are delighted to host the 2012 IRB Junior World Championship in our rugby-mad country and we look forward to welcoming the teams here in June."
    The South African pair of Patrick Lambie and Francois Hougaard join an illustrious list of graduates which includes New Zealand's 2011 World Cup winners Aaron Cruden, Zac Guildford and Sam Whitelock, Ireland's Rhys Ruddock, Australian duo David Pocock and Will Genia, England's Courtney Lawes and Ben Youngs and Wales' youngest ever World Cup captain Sam Warburton.
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/25014.php

Any news on when the squad for the 6 nations will be picked or when/if a training squad will be announced?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Jesus that's probably the worst group we could get is it?
    Generally tend to struggle against the more powerful English and Saffers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 western

its going to be a mad one

Three Munster Players Named In Ireland U20 Squad
    21 December 2011, 4:53 pm
    By The Editor

The Ireland Under 20 team to take on a Leinster development side tomorrow, 22nd December at 2.00pm in Donnybrook has been named.

Two Munster players will feature on the first XV with James Rael, Garryowen F.C., named in the hooker position and fellow club player Shane Buckley starting in the back row. Dolphin’s Niall Scannell has been named in the replacements.

The now traditional training game against Leinster is part of their preparations for the 2012 Under 20 Six Nations Championship, which begins against Wales in Dubarry Park, Athlone of Friday, 3rd February.
    Ireland U20:
    Shane Layden (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    14 - Conor Finn (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    13 - Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
    12 - Tadgh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)
    11 - Callum Boland (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    10 - Cathal Marsh (Dublin University/Leinster)
    9 - Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
    1 - Des Merrey (CLontarf/Leinster)
    2 - James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
    3 - Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    4 - Conor Kindregan (UL Bohemians/Connacht)
    5 - Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    6 - Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)
    7 - Conor Gilsenan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
    8 - Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht)
    Replacements:
    16 - Stephen Macaulley (Exiles)
    17 - Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
    18 - Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    19 - Paddy Lavelle (Dublin University/Leinster)
    20 - Sam Coghlan Murray (UCD/Leinster)
    21 - Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    22 - Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
    23 - Kyle McCall (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    24 - Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
    25 - Diarmuid Higgins (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    26 - Alan O’Connor (UCD/Leinster)
    27 - Jack Conan (old Belvedere/Leinster)
    28 - Jordan Coghlan (UCD/Leinster)
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/domestic/news/9871.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

There really is a lot of Connacht players in that side; great to see!

Also very interested to see how guys like Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath and Conor Gilsenan do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Future bright for Connacht, follow on from the numbers last year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Three Munster Players Named In Ireland U20 Squad
    21 December 2011, 4:53 pm
    By The Editor

The Ireland Under 20 team to take on a Leinster development side tomorrow, 22nd December at 2.00pm in Donnybrook has been named.

Two Munster players will feature on the first XV with James Rael, Garryowen F.C., named in the hooker position and fellow club player Shane Buckley starting in the back row. Dolphin’s Niall Scannell has been named in the replacements.

The now traditional training game against Leinster is part of their preparations for the 2012 Under 20 Six Nations Championship, which begins against Wales in Dubarry Park, Athlone of Friday, 3rd February.
    Ireland U20:
    Shane Layden (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    14 - Conor Finn (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    13 - Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
    12 - Tadgh Leader (Galwegians/Connacht)
    11 - Callum Boland (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    10 - Cathal Marsh (Dublin University/Leinster)
    9 - Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
    1 - Des Merrey (CLontarf/Leinster)
    2 - James Rael (Garryowen/Munster)
    3 - Peter Reilly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    4 - Conor Kindregan (UL Bohemians/Connacht)
    5 - Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    6 - Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)
    7 - Conor Gilsenan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
    8 - Aaron Conneely (Corinthians/Connacht)
    Replacements:
    16 - Stephen Macaulley (Exiles)
    17 - Barry Daly (UCD/Leinster)
    18 - Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    19 - Paddy Lavelle (Dublin University/Leinster)
    20 - Sam Coghlan Murray (UCD/Leinster)
    21 - Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    22 - Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
    23 - Kyle McCall (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    24 - Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
    25 - Diarmuid Higgins (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    26 - Alan O’Connor (UCD/Leinster)
    27 - Jack Conan (old Belvedere/Leinster)
    28 - Jordan Coghlan (UCD/Leinster)
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/domestic/news/9871.php
    Leinster side, I believe a few of them are still eligible for the U20s and would be there if they weren't on provincial duty.

15: Darren Hudson (St. Mary’s College)
    14: Mark Corballis (Old Belvedere)
    13: Alex Kelly (UCD)
    12: Collie O’Shea (Clontarf)
    11: Andrew Boyle (UCD)
    10: Noel Reid (Clontarf)
    9: Patrick O’Driscoll (Lansdowne)

1: Jack O’Connell (Lansdowne)
    2: Tom Sexton (Lansdowne)
    3: Martin Moore (Lansdowne)
    4: Neilus Keogh (Lansdowne)
    5: Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College)
    6: Ciaran Ruddock (St. Mary’s College) CAPTAIN
    7: Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne)
    8: Eoghan Masterson (Clontarf)

REPLACEMENTS:

16: David Doyle (UCD)
    17: Adam Clarkin (UCD)
    18: James Tracy (UCD)
    19: Conor Owende (Old Belvedere)
    20: Michael Oyuga (Old Belvedere)
    21: Brian du Toit (Dublin University)
    22: Aaron Sheehan (Old Belvedere)
    23: Craig Ronaldson (Lansdowne)
    24: Stephen Murphy (UCD)
    25: Daniel Ruddock (Seapoint)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Delighted to see Gilsenan get the nod and handed the captaincy especially with 4 or 5 lads in the side that are on their second year with the U20 team. Can't rate him highly enough for someone that only recently turned 19. Awesome engine on him and should make his debut for the full Leinster side at some point in the next year I would hope if he can stay fit. McGrath is the other obvious one from a Leinster perspective. I'm equally surprised and pleased to see such a crop of Connacht players involved.

With that said, there are players like Tadhg Furlong, Michael Sherlock, Paddy Jackson and JJ Hanrahan who aren't there that will almost certainly be involved in the starting side so I expect significant change come the 6N.

GerM wrote: »
    With that said, there are players like Tadhg Furlong, Michael Sherlock, Paddy Jackson and JJ Hanrahan who aren't there that will almost certainly be involved in the starting side so I expect significant change come the 6N.

I wonder will Jackson be involved much. He's getting a lot of game-time for the senior side so it would kind of be a step backwards wouldn't it?

Hagz wrote: »
    I wonder will Jackson be involved much. He's getting a lot of game-time for the senior side so it would kind of be a step backwards wouldn't it?

Is he though?

On the bench a good bit but very little gametime. I'd say Ulster will want him covering the bench though so he mightn't be involved

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It's very much a trial U20s team. Don't think the starting team in Feb will look much like that.

Is he though?

Well....a lot for a 19yr old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

It's very much a trial U20s team. Don't think the starting team in Feb will look much like that.

Are you involved with Buccaneers as your username would suggest?

Do you know much about all their young players in the side?

They have the entire back three, and another smattering of players throughout the remainder of the squad.

Been really impressed with the little bits I've seen of Shane Layden.

Are you involved with Buccaneers as your username would suggest?

Do you know much about all their young players in the side?

They have the entire back three, and another smattering of players throughout the remainder of the squad.

Been really impressed with the little bits I've seen of Shane Layden.

He's supposed to be a great prospect, came on for the seniors in the RDS a couple of months ago.

Boland, Layden, Qualter, Kindregan, Conneely, Marmion and Carty are all regulars at AIL level

Finn is only back after 8 weeks out so not sure about him

Not involved with Buccaeers I'm afraid. Living in England at the moment, so possibly the worst qualified person to comment on these chaps. But I know some of the Connacht fans on here have definitely spoken about Layden, Leader and the lads playing lovely rugby with them this season.

Is Coneely regularly an 8?

Mainly a 7, but played 6 for Connacht during the interpros

He's a big lad, 6'2 over 100kg so I'd say his future lies at 6 or 8

Mainly a 7, but played 6 for Connacht during the interpros

He's a big lad, 6'2 over 100kg so I'd say his future lies at 6 or 8

I was very impressed with him as a 7 which is why I asked. I know there is another brother so I thought I might be getting confused. I suppose having Gilsenan means Conneely and himself will be fighting for that 7 jersey tooth and nail.

Darn us Irish and our absolute boatload of natural opensides! :/

I think a backrow of Connely, Gilsenan, Butler could potentially control possession in the 6 Nations. Qualter is a class act (Is Kearney overage? What about McKeon?) and will bring great energy to the row. Not sure about the front rowers at all this year, I was quite clued in there last year. Losing guys like Annett and Tracy will be tough. Don't know if we have many good young props at this age level... we'll have to avoid the scrum I guess! Tadgh Furlong will hold up the tighthead side at least, top prospect that he is.

McGrath has a lot of hype to live up to. If he does and Jackson comes in alongside him then we'll have two top half backs. Outside them we could see Hanrahan and someone like Coughlan-Murray or Alex Kelly. Not as good as in the recent past but still quite good IMO.

I don't know if this team will be as good as it has been in recent years. Heres to hoping there are a few surprise packages waiting in the wings of the Irish provincial system.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Hype710

I was very impressed with him as a 7 which is why I asked. I know there is another brother so I thought I might be getting confused. I suppose having Gilsenan means Conneely and himself will be fighting for that 7 jersey tooth and nail.

Darn us Irish and our absolute boatload of natural opensides! :/

I think a backrow of Connely, Gilsenan, Butler could potentially control possession in the 6 Nations. Qualter is a class act (Is Kearney overage? What about McKeon?) and will bring great energy to the row. Not sure about the front rowers at all this year, I was quite clued in there last year. Losing guys like Annett and Tracy will be tough. Don't know if we have many good young props at this age level... we'll have to avoid the scrum I guess! Tadgh Furlong will hold up the tighthead side at least, top prospect that he is.

McGrath has a lot of hype to live up to. If he does and Jackson comes in alongside him then we'll have two top half backs. Outside them we could see Hanrahan and someone like Coughlan-Murray or Alex Kelly. Not as good as in the recent past but still quite good IMO.

I don't know if this team will be as good as it has been in recent years. Heres to hoping there are a few surprise packages waiting in the wings of the Irish provincial system.

Butler, Kelly, Kearney and McKeown all overage. I would imagine we will see Ulster's Henderson, Nelson and Farrell come into the mix come Six Nations. So maybe a side of:

15 Nelson
    14 Layden
    13 Farrell
    12 Hanrahan
    11 Coughlan Murray
    10 Jackson/Marsh
    9 McGrath
    8 Conneely
    7 Gilsenan
    6 Buckley
    5 Henderson
    4 Qualter
    3 Furlong
    2 Rael
    1 Merrey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭boynesider

I thought Jordan Coughlan was supposed to be a top prospect as well but none of you seem to have him in your teams? Have heard a lot about him but maybe he's still a bit young yet

Overall I think we should have a pretty good side this year. Might even challenge for the title