Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure Mule

• 06-09-2005 9:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Just wondering did anyone else watch the first episode of this drama? I think it has potential. It was good to see irish drama, with accents that aren't all from Dublin. I haven't been to Banagher in quite a few years and I can't exactly remember the accent but it sounds about right for the area. Is it though?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I don't know where those accents are supposed to be from but i've never heard anybody talk like that in offaly. Then again banagher is a strange old place.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The guy who wrote it also wrote the play Eden which was set in Offaly. Accents aside I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of it. The trailers for it were not encouraging. Would certainly watch another one .

• 'Pure mule' is good but IMO not as good as 'Love is the drug' which i can only assume it is replacing.

apparently rte are refusing to buy the second series of LITD.

but as murphaph pointed out, it is good that rte are basing/adapting drama from other parts of the country besides dublin which a wider variety of audience may relate to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Donie75

"Well that bates Banagher" as the saying goes.
    I thought it was a good show. You can't beat a decent bit of homegrown drama. The accents were a bit pavie.
    Keep it coming RTE. Hope they buy Love is the Drug 2. Great show.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Velcrow

More "Paddy whackery"... this is tripe.... its like Irish drama written by Americans

I got an idea for a new RTE drama

... 2 Cul'chee brothers that live and drink in dublin.... the story will be that they will drink and fight over ger'ils, lovely ger'ils

I will call it "PURE TRIPE"

The only good thing was that it was so bad, i headed to boards for a good read :)

( am I being a little hard ... no I didn't think so !!! )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Donie75 wrote:
    "Well that bates Banagher" as the saying goes.
    I thought it was a good show. You can't beat a decent bit of homegrown drama. The accents were a bit pavie.
    Keep it coming RTE. Hope they buy Love is the Drug 2. Great show.

What's a pavie accent?

Also, to a previous poster, although the series is set in Banagher, it's supposed to represent any small town in Ireland so the accent isn't "meant" to be representing any particular town or county.

So get off the accent boll*x the lot of ye and let the drama speak for itself. I give it a two thumbs up rating anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Donie75 wrote:
    Hope they buy Love is the Drug 2.

Alas this is not likely to happen as they never commissioned a second series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

pavie = knacker?

i thought it was very good, spent the past hour talking like them, i think its gas! (family getting a bit pissed off with me though, so i better stop!)

def a 2 thumbs up from me too!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

it was decent. Nothing more nothing less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Bring on Killinaskully I say!

Femmy wrote:
    pavie = knacker?

i thought it was very good, spent the past hour talking like them, i think its gas! (family getting a bit pissed off with me though, so i better stop!)

def a 2 thumbs up from me too!!!

So come on then and lets hear your best country accent then, stick on an owl mp3 there of you doing one and we can judge how good you are :D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Velcrow wrote:
    More "Paddy whackery"... this is tripe.... its like Irish drama written by Americans
    ....from Offaly. It's not Paddy Whackery just because it paints small town Ireland in a bad light. This kind of stuff actually goes on, so why not write about it. I'm a dub by the way, and I hate the way nearly all the accents in Fair City (set in a working class suburb) are D4 and I don't mean Irishtown accents! It's good to hear some county accents even if they're acted. Yer one with the short hair has goh a rale straaange wan doh :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

As far as accents go (since we all seem to end up with this topic in each thread relating to an irish drama) they where good but in realation to other accent in other shows, they are also good since most of the country is speaking with a peudo-american accent :rolleyes: LOMG.

As for the show. HHHHMMMM. I was grand nothing more nothing less. You cann't say that its the worst or that it comes close to the worst (big bow wow) and it doesn't even come close to the best (the family). Its in the middle. (Yeah I know the family is a totally different kind of drama, but it got the accents right :D )

Side-track: I think Fair City is based in D3, some Fairview accents and some Clontarf accents. just a though. :rolleyes:

Back to Pure Mule. I don't think I would have started the show of with Shames Character that episode would have been better off towards the middel of the series. Also I wasn't expecting the next episode to deal with wedding to do with the Stag Party. Kind takes us off the beaten track.

It was enjoyable to watch with nothing that I can see would stop me from watch the next episode. Other then that its not really my kind of Show.

But then nether was Love Is The Drug and I enjoyed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Telefís

Donie75 wrote:
    Hope they buy Love is the Drug 2.

This virtually is Love is the Drug 2! Okay not exacly, but it has an exceptionally similar feel to it, not least with the same flippin lead actor!

I enjoyed it, well acted, well shot and well-edited. It captured Irish society very well, especially the ridiculous excesses of young female fashion in Ireland :)

I thought one of the lead characters (the small fella of the two brothers) was excellently constructed - a very well-crafted character and very subtlely acted; there's much more to him than meets the eye.
    For this character alone I'd watch the next episode.

The accent of the older brother was definitely overdone, or more to the point the manner in which he spoke was overblown. I mean O'Brien, the writer, just riddled every one of his sentences with at times incomprehensible culchie-talk - nobody speaks like that! -especially young people! They may have strong accents, but not so much ridiculous phraseology! Very contrived and deliberately cranked up to convince the audience that it is set outside Dublin (RTÉ literally wets itself trying to emphasise this in its regional output) and reflects 'real life'.

Overall though the acting was great, generally where RTÉ tripped up in the past.

Definitely be watching the next episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

I cringed at the accents at first - but then I thought of a few people I know from Ferbane, Birr and I have to say they were spot on !

Yer wan doin' a line wih the bomber was a bih over the top mind. Buh oder dan dah it was qware good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

'What's wit tha jaysus wardrobe?'

I caught it by accident and was well impressed. The accents are a little overdone, but there isn't much in it, roll on the next one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Wasn't that bad, in fact, it was "Stagtastic" :D

I'll keep an eye out for next weeks ep.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

scargill wrote:
    Yer wan doin' a line wih the bomber was a bih over the top mind. Buh oder dan dah it was qware good.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭cocopops

Took a while to get into it but i actually enjoyed it! Thought the mother with Alzeimhers was very good and Jennifer shows lots of promise.......but what's with all the fur? Who comes back from Australia dressed like a koala bear?!

Loved Scobie's voice and the less obvious bits like the barber smoking, despite the smoking ban and the 'it is illegal to smoke on these premises' poster behind the Shamie fella. 8 out of ten for first impressions.

So all in all it's three cheers for Pure Mule then (and goddam that Ruth Scott on 2fm this morning, she kept repeating Pure Mule over and over again - she does the accent to a tee as she's from Roscommon, but she doesnt know when to stop. I want to slap her so hard it's unreal)

Anyway, back to the three cheers,

Hip hip....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Citizen Jake

Being originally from a small town in the Midlands they got the social aspect bang on - nothing to do but booze. Young people (late teens to mid 30s) in the country work all week and have nothing else to look forward to but a bit of socialising at the weekend, perhaps resuming relations with the guy/girl they shifted/stared/yapped to at the weekend before. The constant nonstop drinking culture - pub, barn of a nightclub and on to wreck the chipper afterwards - was caught very well. There really isn't much else to do at the weekend in these places.

I was initially alarmed at how strong the accents were - but in hindsight they were damn right. I've just been in Dublin too long. That town could have been anywhere in the Midlands. About time there was something like this.

Citizen

The main characters change with each episode. The next episode will be about the guy who had the stag party in the first episode, on his wedding day. So Shamies Brother (ur man from love is the drug) won't feature as much, at least I don't think he will.

I assume that he will get his own episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I want that hour of my life back!!! It was Pure Sh!te. do people in Offally really talk like shams?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Is each episode over the same weekend? Or over subsequent weekends?

Subsequent Weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Just thought i'd throw my 2 cent in the pot.

Ah its funny, and thats all that matters. Plus its better than listening to Dublin accents all the time.

Its got potiental.... and some of the dialogue is just.... PURE MULE!!!!! LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Last night's episode was good, not as strong as the opener but still worth an hour of my time anyway. The next episode is centred on scobie, which should make for interesting viewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

Missed the first episode, saw it last night, it was ok but the story wasn't very original considering Love is The Drug had a similar panic before the wedding story line too.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Velcrow

Number 2 ...

Pure Tripe

Velcrow wrote:
    Number 2 ...

Pure Tripe

You already said this about the 1st ep, so why are you bothering to watch it at all then? MOVE ON, find something else on a Tuesday evening to watch instead.