Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 64,548 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Owen wrote: »
    Other half of me says get something interesting to drive and tax it for a year and just enjoy it.

I like that other half of yours :)

C'mon buy a car for 1k and tax it for up to that again and then don't worry, just enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Actually now that I think of it, 4 requirements! Doh. Double Din for the stereo, aircon, sunroof and heated seats. Gotten way too used to heated seats in the last 3 cars. I'm amazed I don't have piles.

............ I'm closing up the painting business ...........

Sorry to hear that, your work looked incredibly tasty in the pics you and others posted.

About the cars, air con and a sunroof can be a rarity, was never a huge sunroof dude tbh.

I used to like sunroofs, but with modern aircon, they're a bit obsolete, no? :confused:

And as for heated seats - really? In our very mild climate?

God yes. Heated seats are fantastic. I've lived with them permenantly on for the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,365 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I love having a sunroof, makes the interior way airier

God yes. Heated seats are fantastic. I've lived with them permenantly on for the last few years.

LOL, are you using the heated seats as birth control? No sperm could survive that kinda heat :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I love having a sunroof, makes the interior way airier

That's until they fecking leak spilling water on your head going round a corner. Or maybe im just unlucky

My fiat, Toyota, fto and jag all had sunroofs, only the fiat one did what you described.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Happened me in the e30, hit the brakes hard and the water came off the roof and down the gap in my shirt.

On the fiat, if you used the windscreen washer with the roof open you'd get soaked

• Registered Users Posts: 21,969 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Ya feckin' mad yoke ya!

Shur any daycent taxi driver will tell ya dat dem tings use more peterdil dan having your dipped headlights on when one sidelight will do.... Handy for dryin' de seat doh :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Any pics of the Smart, Eoin? I'd heard of it but I've never seen it around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mohandas

Happened me in the e30, hit the brakes hard and the water came off the roof and down the gap in my shirt.

I hope your medallion did not go rusty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3046807

again, no tax or test and aftermarket DRL's but i think the price is just about right if you want a good go-er of a car.

Any pics of the Smart, Eoin? I'd heard of it but I've never seen it around.

No bother, I'll take a few photos of her at the start of the week when it's going out for valeting/NCTing.

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭dan hibiki

The brave? The foolish more like. That price is ridiculous. No NCT means the car is not worth more than a couple of hundred. €1,500 hahaha :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

unkel wrote: »
    The brave? The foolish more like. That price is ridiculous. No NCT means the car is not worth more than a couple of hundred. €1,500 hahaha :rolleyes:
    Yeah, a 12 years old French executive car with a "large" (by the local standards) petrol engine, no NCT, 150k miles on the clock and plenty of electric gizmos for over a grand is not a bargain in any way IMO.

I never knew the safrane was made in 00. Rare car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

unkel wrote: »

Got to agree, 500 quid is loads for it. But it shouldnt be dismissed altogether though. Those yokes were a mighty cruiser and they didnt break at all. The bonus was that they were fitted with this engine ...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volvo_Modular_engine

.... which was more than capabale of silly mileage. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3126517
    is that cheap,
    Seems alot for a lil

Hideous, problematic and saleproof - all those ML's were.

770 euros. Not bad for one of these, often sell for a little bit more. NCT too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

argosy2006 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3126517
    is that cheap,
    Seems alot for a lil

78k me hole, and Owens not wrong, terrible muck them merc ml's

daycent 406 diesel, it'll do another 200k!
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/peugeot/406/1999-peugeot-406-for-sale/1436292

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3136505

02 reg for 550
    5 door#4 new tyres
    cheap as chips
    with a nct
    Looks quite smart to from front,
    Not a car to duck and hide in LOL

but its a daihatsu..........