Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

For the very few people interested, here is the Cork Minor Hurling panel this year...

Shane Hegarty (Dungourney)
    James McCarthy (Dungourney)
    Dylan Cahill (Cloyne)
    Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
    Kevin O'Neill (Watergrasshill)
    Darragh O'Callaghan (Watergrasshill)
    Patrick O'Callaghan (Ballyhea)
    James O'Brien (Charleville)
    Conor Twomey (Newtown)
    Killian O'Connor (Mallow)
    Peter Kelleher (Kilmicheal)
    Micheal Cahalane (Bandon)
    Rickard Cahalane (Sliabh Rua)
    Cathal Cormack (Blackrock)
    Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    Ryan Dineen (Blackrock)
    Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
    Barra O'Connell (Blarney)
    Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
    Killian McIntyre (Carrigaline)
    Paul Fitzgerald (Douglas)
    James McSweeney (Bandon)
    Aaron Sheehan (Mallow)
    John Cashman (Lisgoold)
    Trevor Horgan (Bandon)
    David Geary (Fermoy)
    Ciaran O'Brien (Killeagh)
    David Cahill (Killeagh)
    Daniel Mangan (St. Catherines)

Michael Cahalane, Pa O'Callaghan and Twomey are supposed to be the star players.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭antod

irish examiner

Newtown’s magic man

By Diarmuid O’Flynn

Saturday, March 31, 2012

March 29th 2012.

In 1999, barely 19 years of age, Ben O’Connor exploded onto the senior hurling inter-county scene, a star as Cork won a most unexpected All-Ireland title. A couple of years later he was joined on the big stage by twin brother Jerry and together they lit up the game for several years, inspiring Cork to four All-Ireland final appearances in-a-row (2003, 04, 05, 06), winning two, becoming the first set of twins to win All-Star awards in the same year (2005) in the process. For good measure, in 2004, Ben captained Cork to victory, Jerry was named hurler-of-the-year.

Late last autumn, without fanfare, Jerry retired from the inter-county scene; early last week, again without fanfare, Ben also walked away. That’s just their way — no fuss, no trumpet blast, just quietly disappear back into the crowd.

He didn’t want to do this interview, Ben, then asked that it be kept short. Well, after as much squeezing as could be done, here it is, the much abbreviated narrative of the career of Ben O’Connor, in more or less his own words.

Let’s open at the end, the decision that took his teammates and everyone else by surprise, to walk away after taking part in three rounds of the league.

"At the start of the year I wanted to see if I could still do it. I was talking to Deccie (O’Sullivan), the physio, he’d be fairly sharp on things, and between the two of us we said we’d give it a go, see how things went. Everything was going fine in training, I could be up in front in the runs, but matches are different!

"After the Dublin match I realised there were a few things I could have done that I thought I should have done, that a few years ago I might have done, but I didn’t. I’m 33, playing against youngfellas of 21 and 22; I’m not getting any faster and that was probably the main thing, trying to keep up with the pace. I’m not one for hanging around just for the sake of being involved, and if I felt I could contribute something I would have stayed on, but I didn’t think I could. Just decided to go, but it was a hard decision.

"I’ve been up and down to Cork since I was 14, with the underage teams and all, I’ve had 13 great years at senior and made a lot of great friends with Cork. I’ve become used to meeting those fellas so often, more often than I’d been meeting the fellas here at home. With the matches and the training you wouldn’t be able to go socialising and the nights you’d be off with Cork and around home the boys might be training above (in the field) so you wouldn’t get to talk to them — it was the boys in Cork I was becoming friendlier with all the time."

Already he’s missing it but it’s not just the adrenaline rush of competition, it’s those friendships formed, now fractured — akin, he reckons, to leaving a familiar long-term employment.

"Sure you’re bound to miss it, if you don’t it never meant enough to you in the first place. We went through so much together, a great bunch of fellas. Even before training the craic that would be going on — some fella would be getting it every night! You’d be lucky if it wasn’t you but some fella was always getting it. I’m not going to be bumping into those boys now again, not very often anyway. I’ll miss it, but it comes to every fella."

He’ll miss it particularly now that Jimmy Barry-Murphy, the man who first gave him his break back in 1999, is back in charge, and the black clouds that blighted Cork hurling for so many years have all cleared.

"Ah definitely, Jimmy gets involved in the slagging as fast as any of the players, a great buzz around the place. It’s a pity I wasn’t able to stick it out for the year, things are going well so far, but as I said to Jimmy when I called him to let him know — I hope to be above in Croke Park in September roaring them on and there’ll be no happier fella to be there. Obviously every fella would love to be involved but when your time goes, it’s gone and that’s it, but we didn’t get a bad sceilp out of it!"

And of course there are the replacements, young James Coughlan from his own club, Newtownshandrum, just for starters, then a certain Conor Lehane already doing justice to Ben’s old number 10 shirt.

"You can’t beat youth — those fellas are mad for road, you can’t beat that. Go through the age profile of the panel at the moment and apart from Sean Óg, Donal Óg, Gardiner and Tom (Kenny), they’re all young fellas, all flyers. Even at club level that’s the way the game has gone, it’s all down to pace. It’s been that way for a while but it seems to be getting faster and faster. Fellas are training different now, a huge emphasis on speed."

Ironic, in a way, given that his searing pace was one of his great assets. "Yeah but it just shows, the years don’t be long ticking by — it only feels like the other day that I started off. I suppose that’s a sign that I was having a good time, I didn’t feel it passing."

There is one element of the inter-county scene that Ben definitely won’t miss, however — "The travelling up and down to Cork two or three times a week, that was a killer altogether. Two weeks before I packed it in I was above at Newtown pitch, a lovely crisp night under the lights, watching the lads training, and I said to myself — it would be so much easier if this was all I had to do, rather than having to get into the car a few times a week and face into the journey to Cork.

"I’d be gone at five for training at seven and I wouldn’t be home again til quarter to eleven – it was really like a day’s work after a day’s work. Now I can leave the house here at half-six, plenty of time to have a chat with the boys and still be training at seven, and home again before nine."

There’s something a lot of people don’t know about Ben and Jerry O’Connor, however, don’t even know about Newtownshandrum. Though it is now a hurling-only club the twins were also once part of a very talented football team, came very close to making the breakthrough in Cork.

"We won a North Cork minor A title, beat Glanworth in the final, then went on to lose to Ilen Rovers in the county final. They went on to contest a senior football final years later and about seven of that team played. We were two points ahead with time up and they went the length of the field and banged in a goal, beat us by a point — it was that close."

So if that goal hadn’t been scored the history books might have been re-written, Newtown beating Crossmaglen rather than Dunloy in the All-Ireland club final of 2004? Not likely!

"Ah we never took it too seriously, we kind of saw ourselves as the Crazy Gang, the Wimbledon of gaelic football — just turn up and have a bit of craic, but we did upset a few people from time to time, football clubs especially. You’d still get an urge now and then for an oul’ game of ball but we couldn’t have kept the two of them going. The exact same fellas were playing the exact same positions; when we quit the football the workload was nearly halved straight away."

He’s not finished entirely of course; immediately he’s coaching the club U6 team ! but for the first time in their adult careers (which started back in 1996 with an intermediate county title) himself and Jerry will now be able to focus their energy entirely on Newtown. He’s looking forward to it, looking forward also to just being a supporter with Cork, though with reservations — be careful how you behave, should you find yourself next to Ben at a game.

"I hate the criticism from the sidelines, that really gets me. If I go to a match I’ll roar for Newtown, I want to see Newtown winning at all costs, or I’ll roar for Cork, but I won’t roar abuse at another player; whether he’s with Newtown or with the opposing team I won’t say anything bad about them. I don’t know anything about them, I don’t see what good will be achieved by roaring abuse at them — that’s the one thing I hate about the game, the abuse."

Well, he’ll get no abuse from here, nor from anywhere hurling is played. In Kilkenny, in Offaly, in Galway, wherever hurling is played there is only admiration for the honourable and sporting way Ben and Jerry O’Connor played. And yet when you put that to Ben, he deflects all praise.

"We were lucky enough to have great players around us, at club and county level — think of all the fellas who would have been stars if they’d been with some other club or some other county. We played with the likes of Seán Óg, Sherlock, Fergal Ryan, Donal Óg, Brian Corcoran, all those fellas — you couldn’t ask for better.

"Take Tom Kenny; an unbelievable player for Cork, he often carried the team on his back, and to think he never won an All-Star — that’s a joke. With Newtown we had Pat Mulcahy, Brendan Mulcahy, Phillip Noonan, John Mac(Carthy), Alan T O’Brien — still as fast as any man playing hurling. All those fellas would do anything at all for you, for the club. Every day you went out you knew what you were going to get from them — we were just lucky in the fellas we played with."

Before we finished he had one request, a few people he’d like to thank.

"Deccie O’Sullivan, the physio inside, he kept me going for a few years when I was almost seized up, himself and Dr Con (Murphy). Then there’s those at home – many an evening I’d be rushing to get to training, a lot of work still to be done, and the Oul’ Fella [his father Bernie, O’Connor Hurleys in Newtownshandrum] would say to me — ‘Go on, leave!’. Without him I wouldn’t have been able to do it.

"To the mother (Kathleen), burning out about 25 washing machines on my gear over the years, to my grandmother for feeding me, and to Niamh (his wife) for putting up with me, thanks."

Yes, Ben O’Connor, but to you also, and to your brother Jerry — ye didn’t just play the game, ye graced the game. Thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Very good piece, I especially liked the ending,
    antod wrote: »
    "To the mother (Kathleen), burning out about 25 washing machines on my gear over the years, to my grandmother for feeding me, and to Niamh (his wife) for putting up with me, thanks."

Yes, Ben O’Connor, but to you also, and to your brother Jerry — ye didn’t just play the game, ye graced the game. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Well done to Cork hurlers today on a great game against Tipperary which ended in a 1-23 each draw. The team is after making great progress under JBM and while it's early days yet the future looks promising for Cork hurling. Cork will play Tipp again in the league semi final on Sunday April 22nd.

Tipp 1-23 v 1-23 Corcaigh

Another very impressive performance and result from the Rebels in their home away from home today. Cadogan was very solid at CB, Cronin gained some very good primary posession, Lehane scored very well yet again and Naughton scored his customary few points from out on the touchline- uncanny how he rarely misses them!
    Given the league structure, survival would have been a great achievement. What has transpired this year is above most peoples expectations.
    They are playing a nice brand of hurling. They have introduced a few new players. The defence are playing with a determined approach and no lack of skill and there is a very nice variance in the score takers.
    The game itself was a bit pedestrian at times, especially in the first half. Alot of poor passes into the forward lines but it was close all the way through, which was nice to see after watching the KK v Galway match.
    While I know 'it's only the league' I for one, am really looking forward to the summer to see how the lads fare upto championship hurling.

According to the radio it's in 3 weeks time the semi is on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Great performance today by Cork, making great progress this year under JBM. For Cork to win league this year they would have to beat Kilkenny and Tipperary twice.. A really big ask in fairness, but they are playing nice hurling at the moment and long may it continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,034 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I am just glad to see us being competitive again.

Miracles will not happen overnight and I still think this year will be learning curve for these players, but I do expect things to come over next few years.

Great result for us yesterday, but the true tests are to come in summer, but signs are good.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Orizio wrote: »

I must say I didn't really agree with your Kilkenny report but that's pretty much exactly how I saw the game. Good report.

gpf101 wrote: »
    I must say I didn't really agree with your Kilkenny report but that's pretty much exactly how I saw the game. Good report.

Thanks. What were your criticisms of my KK report.

Good to see the footballers qualify for the semi finals of the League after today's 1-12 to 0-12 win over Dublin however I was not impressed with the manner of the victory.

Our defence seemed unable to kick the ball out the field with them handpassing the ball out of defence constantly which was frustrating to watch IMO. I have a feeling our defence is going to be badly exposed come summer time when the ground is firmer and faster IMO. Our half back line is looking dodgy and Ray Carey at corner back is not inter county material IMO.

While it's good to see Cork qualify for the last 4 this league campaign has been an inconsistent one for the team and I'm disappointed with Conor Counihan and the management team that they haven't tried new players in the half back line,this is one area of the field I feel Cork could be badly exposed yet I hope I'm proved wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmet Ryan

Probably of interest to some Cork fans, a tactical look at the Rebels' win over Dublin http://action81.com/blog/?p=5687

Yet again, I came away from a Cork football match hoarse (at screaming at them). I'm sick shít of the slow\monotone nature of their play out of defence. It beggars belief how mundane it is to watch.
    It must be so frustrating for the forwards- who have stopped making runs -as they know they have to wait for 20 handpasses to be completed before we cross the halfway line.
    Fast ball into our forwards and they could be lethal. Instead, they have to wait until a blanket defence is formed and they still prove that they are capable enough to win a match.
    Think I'll give the semi (and final if they win) a skip. I can only take so much of shouting at rather than with Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Yet again, I came away from a Cork football match hoarse (at screaming at them). I'm sick shít of the slow\monotone nature of their play out of defence. It beggars belief how mundane it is to watch.
    It must be so frustrating for the forwards- who have stopped making runs -as they know they have to wait for 20 handpasses to be completed before we cross the halfway line.
    Fast ball into our forwards and they could be lethal. Instead, they have to wait until a blanket defence is formed and they still prove that they are capable enough to win a match.
    Think I'll give the semi (and final if they win) a skip. I can only take so much of shouting at rather than with Cork.

From a Dublin point of view, we could have won with a depleted squad and experimental lineup.Even a draw would have been good but Michael Savage made sure we left with nothing.

Cluxton and Supple for me, Savage can GTFO.

blackbelt wrote: »
    From a Dublin point of view, we could have won with a depleted squad and experimental lineup.Even a draw would have been good but Michael Savage made sure we left with nothing.

Cluxton and Supple for me, Savage can GTFO.

Ye certainly could have.

Doesn't really say much for Cork, who had a fine team selection out on the field. I can see us getting to the final, falling behind to Kerry by 8 or 9 pts at ht but make a valiant attempt of coming back, only to lose be 2 or 3 in the end. We would of course have the best of the goal attempts but not score them. Déja vu will be very much apparent I feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,034 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Treble20 wrote: »
    Good to see the footballers qualify for the semi finals of the League after today's 1-12 to 0-12 win over Dublin however I was not impressed with the manner of the victory.

Our defence seemed unable to kick the ball out the field with them handpassing the ball out of defence constantly which was frustrating to watch IMO. I have a feeling our defence is going to be badly exposed come summer time when the ground is firmer and faster IMO. Our half back line is looking dodgy and Ray Carey at corner back is not inter county material IMO.

While it's good to see Cork qualify for the last 4 this league campaign has been an inconsistent one for the team and I'm disappointed with Conor Counihan and the management team that they haven't tried new players in the half back line,this is one area of the field I feel Cork could be badly exposed yet I hope I'm proved wrong.
    ShamoBuc wrote: »

These 2 posts sum up what I felt too yesterday watching Cork.

We are going backwards and we will need to improve 50% to have any chance of getting to semi final at least and that's not even thinking about winning Sam this year.

Our under 21 footballers are in action Wednesday night in the Munster final against Kerry in Tralee at 7 30pm. I hope that they play a more attractive and entertaining brand of football than the seniors produced yesterday! Best of luck to the under 21's.

Our seniors are in action next Sunday April 15th at 4 00pm in Croke Park against Down in the league semi final. The game will be live on TG4 if you can stomach our defence playing basketball for 70 minutes!

Treble20 wrote: »
    Our under 21 footballers are in action Wednesday night in the Munster final against Kerry in Tralee at 7 30pm. I hope that they play a more attractive and entertaining brand of football than the seniors produced yesterday! Best of luck to the under 21's.

Our seniors are in action next Sunday April 15th at 4 00pm in Croke Park against Down in the league semi final. The game will be live on TG4 if you can stomach our defence playing basketball for 70 minutes!

Like all the previous posters on here I was too at the match yesterday and all I can say is Cork are going backwards big time. Ray Carey was destroyed, how ,,the hell is he on the team is beyond me. Two points from play in the second half is a disgrace and if thats all we can manage from play, then we are in big trouble come championship. Still can't understand how Ger Suillivan is a selector for this Cork team, he didn't even have success for Dromtarriff at club level when he was in charge and we expect him to help Counihan to pick a good Cork team?

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

1. Sean Mellett
    Carrigaline

2. Danny O'Donovan 3. Damian Cahalane 4. Alan Cronin
    Ilen Rovers Castlehaven Nemo Rangers

5. John Cronin 6. Tom Clancy 7. Jamie Wall
    Lisgoold Clonakilty Kilbrittain

8. Ruairi Deane 9. Eoin Healy
    Bantry Blues Aghada

10. Kevin Hallissey 11. Donal Óg Hodnett 12. John O'Rourke
    Eire Og O'Donovan Rossa (Capt) Carbery Rangers

13. Luke Connolly 14. Mark Sugrue 15. Brian Hurley
    Nemo Rangers Bandon Castlehaven

Subs:
    16. Andrew O'Donoghue Aghada
    17. Conor O'Sullivan Clyda Rovers
    18. Matthew O'Shea Glengarriff
    19. Brian O'Driscoll Tadgh MacCárthaigh's
    20. David Nation Nemo Rangers
    21. Seán Kiely Ballincollig
    22. Alan Cadogan Douglas
    23. Dan McEoin Ilen Rovers
    24. David Drake Carrigaline

U21 Panel for Wednesdays final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Indie. wrote: »
    1. Sean Mellett
    Carrigaline

2. Danny O'Donovan 3. Damian Cahalane 4. Alan Cronin
    Ilen Rovers Castlehaven Nemo Rangers

5. John Cronin 6. Tom Clancy 7. Jamie Wall
    Lisgoold Clonakilty Kilbrittain

8. Ruairi Deane 9. Eoin Healy
    Bantry Blues Aghada

10. Kevin Hallissey 11. Donal Óg Hodnett 12. John O'Rourke
    Eire Og O'Donovan Rossa (Capt) Carbery Rangers

13. Luke Connolly 14. Mark Sugrue 15. Brian Hurley
    Nemo Rangers Bandon Castlehaven

Subs:
    16. Andrew O'Donoghue Aghada
    17. Conor O'Sullivan Clyda Rovers
    18. Matthew O'Shea Glengarriff
    19. Brian O'Driscoll Tadgh MacCárthaigh's
    20. David Nation Nemo Rangers
    21. Seán Kiely Ballincollig
    22. Alan Cadogan Douglas
    23. Dan McEoin Ilen Rovers
    24. David Drake Carrigaline

U21 Panel for Wednesdays final.
    Does Lehane play fot the u21 panel at all?

yomtea98 wrote: »
    Does Lehane play fot the u21 panel at all?

In football? No, although he is supposed to be fairly handy at it.

Super win for Cork tonight in Tralee v Kerry AET!!!

Kerry 0-11 v 1-08 Cork FT

Kerry 1-14 v 2-12 Cork AET

Apparently an absolute cracker in front of 5300.
    Ref had a nightmare also.

Fantastic to beat them in their own backyard.
    From a Kerry perspective......it wasn't as bad a loss as last years:D

The Cork Minor Football team to play Limerick on Saturday at 7pm in the Gaelic Grounds will line out as follows:

1. Michael Martin
    Nemo Rangers
    2. Seán O'Leary 3. Thomas O‘Rourke 4. Stephen Cronin
    Iveleary Carbery Rangers Nemo Rangers
    5. Kevin Crowley 6. Colm Hyde 7. Jamie Davis
    Millstreet Naomh Aban Douglas

8. Paul Fitzgerald 9. Alan O'Donovan
    Douglas Nemo Rangers
    10. Sean T. O'Sullivan 11. Cathal Vaughan 12. Brian O'Driscoll
    Garnish Iveleary Tadhg MacCarthaigh
    13. Killian McIntyre 14. Killian O'Connor 15. Conor Horgan
    Carrigaline Mallow Nemo Rangers

16. Paul Shanahan Carbery Rangers
    17. Aidan Moynihan Canovee
    18. Andrew Murphy St. Michael's
    19. Enda Dennehy St. Finbarr's
    20. Ian Maguire St. Finbarr's
    21. Darren Kelly Macroom
    22. Peter Kelly Kilmichael
    23. Dan O'Connor Eire Óg
    24. Conor O'Driscoll Goleen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 bensam

would footballers be better served to lose to down on sunday,
    or would they be better served to win and set up
    probable final v kerry,? would victory over kerry in league final in croke park
    be recognised as finally beating them in croke park when it matters,
    could give psychological edge in summer

bensam wrote: »

You go out to win every game, especially a lge semi. A possible crack at Kerry in Croker is always appealing. If we beat them it means a lge title, not to be sniffed at. Beating them in croker really will only count in late August/Sep in my opinion - would still be nice if it happens though.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 34 cooranig23

sean murray was disappointing for dublin

cork were lucky to win it

i don't like their handpassing game

bensam wrote: »

We will take a win over Kerry each time in anything, and hopefully we can beat them in the league provided Cork don't loose to Down in the first place, still very possible.