Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

Three Representatives

8 hrs
Response Time
98%
Response Rate

We're online:

Monday-Friday: 10am-4pm

Three broadband- high ping

01.08.2012 00:28 #1
I have the '3Broadband Pro' broadband plan.
Recently I started playing a lot of First Person Shooters in the multiplayer mode. Everything is good until early afternoon hours when the 'bad' 100ms ping I becomes an 'unplayable' 300ms ping. Then after 3am it becomes 100ms again. *I am playing on London servers, signal strength is 4/5 bars*
The average DL speed I get is around 0.7Mbit and it is not changing as much as the ping.

Can anyone tell me why this happens? Why the ping becomes so high, and is there a way to 'fix' this? I really don't want to stay up to 3am to play a video game. :(
Last edited by Mario852: 01.08.2012 at 00:34.
1 thank
01.08.2012 11:17 #2
More users on your cell, basically. The only way to improve this is to increase the capacity of the core network that supports the cellular infractructure.
01.08.2012 11:32 #3
Hi Mario852, can you send a PM to Fiona by clicking the link in my signature with your account details and exact location or co-ordinates and we'll get this checked out? Also include examples (date/time/speedtests) of connections that were poor and we'll take a look and get back to you in 24-48 hours.

1. Go to http://maps.google.com/
2. Find your exact location on the map
3. Right click on your location and choose 'What's here' from the menu
4. Co-ordinates will appear in the search box above in the format xx.xxxxxx,-x.xxxxxx
01.08.2012 12:41 #4
Originally posted by Mario852
Can anyone tell me why this happens? Why the ping becomes so high, and is there a way to 'fix' this? I really don't want to stay up to 3am to play a video game. :(